We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cute inn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earthbox Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Earthbox Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Earthbox Inn & Spa
410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Citrus Scrub
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Friday Harbor
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Such a cute inn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We loved staying at the Earthbox. San Juan Island is absolutely beautiful and this inn is the perfect place to stay while exploring it. First off, it is walking distance to the main streets and the ferry building. The staff is so friendly, I mean, beyond accommodating. We took a late ferry to the island and let the inn know we'd be arriving after 8pm. The night manager stayed over an hour after their normal hours to check us in and was still super friendly. The room was small, but quite cute. The bathroom had an amazing jacuzzi tub and cute shampoo & conditioner dispensers. The onsite spa was also incredible. We had some of the best massages ever there! I wish we could've brought the spa home with us. They also have complimentary bikes for guests and an indoor pool! The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because the bed was much too firm for my liking and the walls were a bit thin. But overall, such a great stay. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Chelsea,
We loved you visiting us. Thank you for making our day with your lovely review.
Come back soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    138
    62
    31
    8
See reviews for
120
162
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Quiet, laid back and helpful. I liked being able to have a door to the outside, rather than into a hallway. Stayed in the central Sky Room, well worth the upgrade.
The hotel offers free cruiser bikes to take out for a scenic loop around the bays. The on-site spa gave me one of the best massages I've had yet.
A great island, with some lovely views and properties.
Definitely worth a boat ride and a weekend!

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the central Sky Rooms, nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Travis,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your comment about our spa made us very happy. So glad you loved it. Thank you. See you soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We loved this place…..it's not the Fairmont, but the inn is very comfortable, clean and the front desk people couldn't have been nicer. (and we had a coffee pot) We loved all the Pelindaba products in the room, too. We stayed in one of the Sky Rooms
It's in a great location.
(great flowers)
Thank you for a wonderful stay - we WILL be back and will definitely stay at the Earthbox Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi JIvan,
We can't wait to have you back. You made our day with your lovely review. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hubby and I purchased a groupon for the Earthbox Inn & Spa for two nights. We stayed in the "Earth Place" room in the building at the very far back in unit #201. The Inn is within walking distance to all kinds of restaurants, shops and the ferry. Other then exploring all the way around the island, we could have gotten by without bringing our vehicle quite easily.

The room was clean, cozy and comfortable. There was a ton of towels, soap, coffee etc in the room. There was more shampoo, conditioner & soap then you could possibly use over a two week period. The beds were comfortable and the sheets/duvet were nice and soft with 6 pillows on each bed to choose from.

Our only complaint would be that the bathroom lighting is very dim but that didn't really bother us. We were still able to shower etc. comfortably.

The staff at the front desk was always friendly and very helpful. We had no issues whatsoever during our stay. As a matter of fact, we were able to check in super early on our 1st day which was a huge bonus.

For all the nay sayer's...this place is not the Hilton. It was exactly what it said it was and portrayed to be, an Inn. It is quaint and comfortable with all the amenities you could possibly need. Island living is a breed of its own. If your looking for a quick trip away from all the hustle and bustle, this is it!

We will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Unit #201 at the farthest building was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Ashley,
You just made our day! Thank you!
We can't wait for you to come visit again.

Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We bought a groupon for this place, although it looked very nice on the outside (and the main office/lobby/Spa), the room (we stayed at the Water Place) is definitely less desirable and not what we pictured from their website. Very small and old, we could hear everything from people/cars in the parking lot, as well as the people staying above us walking, talking, and in the bathroom-so gross! The private deck is small and overlooks the overgrown back yard of an auto shop and the post office. The towels and sheets are old. The microwave and refrigerator are small and stack together and stuck between the door and a small armoire for the TV. The only good things we would say about this place is that it's walking distance to town, front desk people were friendly, and we had great massages by Kate at the Spa. Would not stay here again with or without groupon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Linzak,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Wow. We did not meet your expectations.
I wish you would have said something, so we could have upgraded you into a larger, more recently renovated room.
We try hard to let our lovely guests know what we are and aren't. We are a 60ties style renovated motor inn with an on-site full service spa. We have the only heated indoor pool on the island, we have beach cruisers for our guests to check out for free. We are funky and fun, family owned and a work in progress. We understand that we aren't for everyone. I'm sorry you felt mislead.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We bought a groupon for this "Inn" and I am glad I didn't pay full price. This is a old motel redone to be a "inn" . We got one of there bigger rooms and it was small it had a uncovered tube florescent light on the wall. The people at the service desk were friendly and the beds comfortable but the jacuzzi tub was not clean enough to soak in. Needless to say we won't be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Earthbox Inn & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Naome,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. Yes, we are a renovated 60ties style motor inn. We try hard to convey that on our website and confirmation letter. I'm so sorry you felt mislead and we didn't live up to your expectations.
The room style you were in is our smallest room. We absolutely agree with you on the lighting and are actually in the process to change that this week.
We would love for you to come back some time, check out one of our larger rooms and give us a chance to spoil you how we intended.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Signed up with a Road Scholar tour, placed us at this lovely motel, on the main downtown street no more than a 1-5 minute walk to anything you'd want or need. Our rooms are attractive, comfortable and very well appointed with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Nice size bathroom with strong, hot shower. The hotel has several buildings with a sparkling clean pool and hot tub in its own building in between all of the rooms. We gathered for lectures and meals in the nice conference center. I would definitely recommend this motel for a worry free stay in Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Earthbox Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbox Inn & Spa

Address: 410 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250 (Formerly Elements Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a convenient location and luxury lodging, stay at Earthbox Inn & Spa, located in Friday Harbor, WA. This San Juan Island Hotel features a variety of lavish amenities including indoor heated pool and hot tub, dry sauna, exercise room, on-site day spa, tour concierge services, complimentary bicycles, group event facilities, spacious cottages, and mini-kitchen appliances. Also enjoy the many outdoor area attractions including kayaking, biking, hiking, and wildlife/whale tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Earthbox Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthbox Motel And Spa
Earthbox Hotel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Motel Friday Harbor
Earthbox Inn & Spa Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earthbox Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.