We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Discovery Inn
1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Specials from $71 and up
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Holladay, Utah
2 reviews
“Friendly and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I'll be frank and say I picked this place because it was the cheapest I could find for staying over a week on the island. However, with all the rooms being recently remodeled, it is a great place to stay if you don't mind walking into town every day. (On their site they suggest taking a ferry from the wharf; do it! And preferably schedule your cab beforehand.)

The staff is extremely friendly: they led us to the best tasting salsa on the island, and let us use a printer when I found out I needed to print a confirmation. They were always there for suggestions and even shipped an item to me that I left in the room. They also even have a cleaning sheet you fill out if you don't want them touching or changing certain things. It was very welcoming and accommodating.

The rooms themselves are actually pretty spacious, and ours had a little table next to the bed. The room also had a microwave and mini fridge which was important to our stay. Since we bought a ton of groceries while we were there, it was nice not to eat on the floor or bed. Speaking of bed, it was very, very comfortable, and I never had an issue falling or staying asleep.

They don't have air conditioning, but they did hook a large fan up to place in the window. I was there during mid July and had no problems with this set up. Just make sure to turn it on before you leave for the day.

The bathroom is also super nice! But it's definitely contained. We used the bar area outside of the bathroom door to lay out most of our bathroom extras like lotion.

One thing to plan ahead on is they don't have DVD players with the TV. I would have brought my computer hook up cables if I knew that. It's a good thing they have wifi because my friend and I ended up watching Netflix every night.

P.S. I didn't think the hot tub would be that important, but after 4 hours of kayaking, you'll be thankful it's there too.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Ashley - Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the island. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Inn on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating to your needs while you stayed with us - we strive to offer the best customer service. It sounds like you enjoyed many of the amenities at the Inn during your stay: your room, the grounds and our hot tub. We have talked about getting DVD players for our rooms, they may be a nice addition, we will defiantly revisit the idea. We wish you safe travels and hope they bring you back to us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
57
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was a great place to stay while visiting San Juan Island in Washington. It was just up the road from downtown Friday Harbor, so it allowed us to get away from the crowds and sounds of the restaurants, shops, and ferry traffic when we wanted to rest but was close enough to give us easy access to town when we wanted it. The office staff was friendly and available for help in planning sightseeing drives or tours. The rooms were comfortable, and the fridge and microwave allowed us to keep refreshments in the room. Chairs and benches on the grounds provided nice spots for reading in the afternoon. When a ferry cancellation delayed our arrival by a day, we contacted them and they were able to rent out our room for that night, saving us the cost of the night we couldn't be there, even though it was late in the day when we contacted them. We will definitely stay there again if we are back in that area!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Discovery Inn on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed our staff, location, room, and the grounds. We strive to offer the best customer service possible and were happy to assist you when the ferry cancellation occurred. Wishing you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great Place when staying on San Juan Island. I highly recommend the hotel for anyone staying on the San Juan Islands to hike, sightsee, boat, or just plain relax. The folks that work there are super friendly and will everything possible to mae a traveler comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn during your visit to the island. We are glad our staff was so friendly - we strive to make all our guests feel welcome. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice recommendation of the Inn on TripAdvisor. We wish you safe travels and hope they bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location with a friendly and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable and quiet room. Grounds are beautiful. Only a mile or less from downtown. Great value for the price. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed your room and the grounds. We strive to be a great value and affordable choice on the island. Hope your travels bring you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay. It is small and very comfortable. Everything in the room was new and well appointed. The bathroom was clean and updated. Microwave and refrigerator were added bonuses. From sitting outside in the swing or chairs to the great (deep) hot tub, our overall experience was terrific. This was the first time in well over a decade I stayed in a "motel"...with outside door access and all...and it was great. Friendly staff, quiet surroundings. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the office/parking lot. Would gladly stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are pleased that you had such a fantastic experience staying at the Discovery Inn, thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked your room, our staff, the grounds and the out door hot tub. We hope your travels bring you back to San Juan Island, we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location, a bit off the beaten path. Quiet clean, beautiful grounds. Priced right for a girlfriend get together! Comfiest beds and large room.Wwould come again! We choose a room upstairs, no elevator but easy for us with minimal luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Discovery Inn for your girlfriend get together, that sounds fun! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your room and your stay at the Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We hope the rest of your travels are safe and bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I needed some photocopies made on a Sunday morning, and was directed to the library, which is next door to the Discovery Inn. The library was closed (opens at 1:00 on Sundays, fyi) so I asked at the front desk of the Inn. Not only did Heather make the copies for me right away, she cut them to size with her paper cutter and then refused my offer of payment. I didn't stay here on this trip, but I will definitely consider it for the next one!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Cathy - Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are glad our staff was able to help you during your hour of need, we strive to give the best customer service possible. We hope you will stay with us during your future visits to the island. Please travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing on beautiful San Juan Island, the Discovery Inn provides affordable comfort in a park-like setting with a large seasonal outdoor jacuzzi, sitting areas, decks and barbeques.The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. Each recently renovated room features a private bath, one or two queen beds, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi.The Discovery Inn offers multi-night discounts, free trip planning and concierge services for Island activities. Discounted rates are available for whale watching and kayak tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.