We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovery Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Save Saved
You added Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Inn
1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fabulous Fall Special
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
“Discovery Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great Place when staying on San Juan Island. I highly recommend the hotel for anyone staying on the San Juan Islands to hike, sightsee, boat, or just plain relax. The folks that work there are super friendly and will everything possible to mae a traveler comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn during your visit to the island. We are glad our staff was so friendly - we strive to make all our guests feel welcome. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice recommendation of the Inn on TripAdvisor. We wish you safe travels and hope they bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    45
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
48
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location with a friendly and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable and quiet room. Grounds are beautiful. Only a mile or less from downtown. Great value for the price. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed your room and the grounds. We strive to be a great value and affordable choice on the island. Hope your travels bring you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay. It is small and very comfortable. Everything in the room was new and well appointed. The bathroom was clean and updated. Microwave and refrigerator were added bonuses. From sitting outside in the swing or chairs to the great (deep) hot tub, our overall experience was terrific. This was the first time in well over a decade I stayed in a "motel"...with outside door access and all...and it was great. Friendly staff, quiet surroundings. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the office/parking lot. Would gladly stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are pleased that you had such a fantastic experience staying at the Discovery Inn, thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked your room, our staff, the grounds and the out door hot tub. We hope your travels bring you back to San Juan Island, we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location, a bit off the beaten path. Quiet clean, beautiful grounds. Priced right for a girlfriend get together! Comfiest beds and large room.Wwould come again! We choose a room upstairs, no elevator but easy for us with minimal luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Discovery Inn for your girlfriend get together, that sounds fun! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your room and your stay at the Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We hope the rest of your travels are safe and bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I needed some photocopies made on a Sunday morning, and was directed to the library, which is next door to the Discovery Inn. The library was closed (opens at 1:00 on Sundays, fyi) so I asked at the front desk of the Inn. Not only did Heather make the copies for me right away, she cut them to size with her paper cutter and then refused my offer of payment. I didn't stay here on this trip, but I will definitely consider it for the next one!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Cathy - Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are glad our staff was able to help you during your hour of need, we strive to give the best customer service possible. We hope you will stay with us during your future visits to the island. Please travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is small but has nice amenities. It was about a mile from the main street of Friday Harbor which was a nice walk. The room was nice and bathroom updated. We appreciated that the room had a refrigerator and microwave. The kids also loved the hot tub on site and the large green lawn to run around. The only downside was the room got a bit warm (no AC) and to let air flow in from the fan in the window, we had to open the curtains which brought in daylight before we wanted to get up in the morning. Overall it was a nice stay and would recommend the hotel to others visiting the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are glad you stayed with us during your visit to Friday Harbor. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we love to hear from our guests. It is nice to hear that your family was able to enjoy the grounds and the hot tub. Normally our weather is very temperate and the rooms stay at a comfortable temperature, we regret the sun woke you a bit early due to the fan in the window. Wishing you safe travels and hope they bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a lovely, clean, well appointed inn. We were very pleased with our choice of this place in Friday Harbor. Friendly staff, nice room, pretty grounds, and well situated close to the harbor. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Discovery Inn on TripAdvisor. We are glad you stayed with us during your visit to the island. Wishing you safe travels and hoping they bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing on beautiful San Juan Island, the Discovery Inn provides affordable comfort in a park-like setting with a large seasonal outdoor jacuzzi, sitting areas, decks and barbeques.The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. Each recently renovated room features a private bath, one or two queen beds, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi.The Discovery Inn offers multi-night discounts, free trip planning and concierge services for Island activities. Discounted rates are available for whale watching and kayak tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.