We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Discovery Inn
1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Specials from $75 and up
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We recently traveled to Friday harbor with friends for a weekend and prior to booking our stay we read several of the reviews on TripAdvisor for hotels. We decided on Discovery Inn after reading the reviews of the hotels in the area and we were not disappointed. The rooms are nicely furnished with everything you will need such as coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, etc. The bathrooms are well appointed and clean with plenty of towels, The staff was very helpful with recommendations for meals and when we mentioned the deck in front of the ice machine room was slippery from rain she (sorry we forgot her name) put sand on the deck within minutes.
You may have a 2 to 3 minute drive to the ferry but we all felt the location was just far enough removed from downtown it made the area quiet but within hiking distance of the restaurants if you preferred to walk. The only tip we might make is to request a room facing the courtyard instead of the street to guarantee the quietest stay possible. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard instead of street and second floor rooms may be slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you had a nice stay and that our staff was attentive to your needs. We hope your travels bring you back our way soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
55
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is about a mile from downtown but it is a great value. The staff was friendly. The room was basic but it had a fridge which was nice. The bed was comfortable. There was also a common deck area where one could sit outside. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and hope your travels bring you our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have always stayed at B&B's on prior visits to the San Juans, however this was a spontaneous trip and we took a chance on the Discovery Inn due to the positive Trip Advisor reviews Well we are pleased to report our time spent at the Inn was a delight! Our every need was attended to... The entire staff were very friendly and so helpful, even dropping everything they were doing to print out our boarding passes on the morning of our departure. Rooms are newly updated, they were clean and well appointed: microwave, fridge, big screen TV, high speed internet all for a VERY reasonable price for the Islands! We will most definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Our special request for a downstairs room was promptly granted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn on TripAdvisor, we greatly appreciate it. We take pleasure in knowing that your stay was so enjoyable and we look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warenton oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The location is out of the way just a little. But after a day we were sold on the" Discovery Inn". The staff was amazing, Katie; we have never been treated that nice- really. Thank you fo your concern about the heater.The rooms were well renovated and well decorated, i got idea for one of my rooms at home.Friday harbor has no stoplights or fast food joints.Lots of places to check out. Katie gave me coupons for dining and a massage with the Valentines package(heart candy too).I wish i could find a Katie at every hotel I stayed at. Yes we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Get the Queen bed suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
It is our number one goal to give all of our guest the best customer service possible and it is wonderful to hear that our staff, especially Katie, was so accommodating. Thank you for your time in reviewing the Discovery Inn on Tripadvisor and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed one night during Valentine's/President's day weekend. I was pleasantly surprised at the lovely rooms at such a reasonable rate. Plus I loved the added refrigerator and microwave. For warmer weather there are numerous grills on the grounds. The staff was friendly and helpful with biking trails and restaurants on the island.

We're definitely coming back this summer to try out the hot tub.

The only minus is the walls are quite thin, but the fellow guests were so quiet that it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Discovery Inn and are look forward to seeing you this summer. We appreciate you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had such a great time at Discovery Inn. You can tell the rooms have recently been remodeled and everything was very comfortable - more than we expected for the price. Heather was great to work with and very thoughtful. We missed our ferry and had to check in later than we expected, but Heather just left the key in our room and allowed us to check in at our convenience the next morning. We also appreciated that she already had a pack n' play crib all set up in our room for our 7 month old daughter. We travel to the San Juans fairly often and will definitely want to stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're considering a standard queen, definitely upgrade to the deluxe. The extra space is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
It is delightful to hear that you had such a great time at the Discovery Inn! Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We work hard to provide our guests with great service so their stay can be enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards from all of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

It's a great motel, and definitely the best value on the island (at least during the winter). Close to Friday Harbor but tucked away in a nice quiet area with a gorgeous little park and a romantic swing, which was perfect for moon-gazing. Of course since it's winter the jacuzzi was closed and the park wasn't in full bloom, but it was still lovely and I can only imagine how picturesque it is in the summer. Our room was impeccably clean, the bedding and decorative pillows were lovely, and the free wi-fi and flat-screen TV were great. Service was wonderful and the San Juan picture book in our room was fun to look through. Our only complaint was that since the place got over-booked our reservation was downgraded to a standard queen instead of the deluxe, which meant that we had no fridge or microwave and the bathtub was shower-only - not ideal for our romantic getaway, but that's probably on us for not booking sooner. Highly recommend this place, and we plan on coming back in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn this past weekend and for your nice review on Tripadvisor. We would love to have you return especially in the Summer or Fall when can enjoy our flowers and garden when they are in full bloom. Our jacuzzi would be open too. We look forward to your return visit in the summer. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing on beautiful San Juan Island, the Discovery Inn provides affordable comfort in a park-like setting with a large seasonal outdoor jacuzzi, sitting areas, decks and barbeques.The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. Each recently renovated room features a private bath, one or two queen beds, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi.The Discovery Inn offers multi-night discounts, free trip planning and concierge services for Island activities. Discounted rates are available for whale watching and kayak tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.