We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place a reasonable rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Discovery Inn
1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Specials from $75 and up
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Hawick
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice place a reasonable rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We got there a bit late due to ferry being busy and needing to wait on next one and there was a bit of a mix up. We were told the room would be open & key inside but it was locked and the phone at the desk did not work as it should. However after mix up & apologies all went well, The desk person gave us great advice on restaurants & a boat trip and were very helpful. Room was
fine, about a mile from town centre. Nice quiet part of town, plenty free parking. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs and that was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Sorry for the initial mix up upon your arrival but glad the rest of your trip went well. We are very appreciative of the review and hope your travels bring you back our way soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
54
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Booked this largely because it was the cheapest option on what is a fairly expensive island and it turned out to be a great stay. It’s an older building, but it was a nice clean room, with a couple of armchairs and a table, and a good sized desk, along with a very comfortable bed. Granted there’s no breakfast but plenty of places to eat in town and there’s also a fridge and microwave if you want to fend for yourself. It’s away from the main part of town but it’s probably still walking distance, although I never did.
Main thing here, though, is the staff. Checking inn, Heather pointed out all the places to go in town and around the island, recommended some restaurants, made a reservation for me at one of them and was generally very friendly, helpful and informative. Other staff throughout my stay and beforehand when I was booking were just the same. They also get discounts on certain whale-watch trips and kayak tours.
Can’t see any benefit in trying the more expensive, notionally better, places and if I’m ever back on the island, I’ll stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on the Discovery Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was helpful during your visit. We strive to have the best customer service. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our recent visit to Friday Harbor for a wedding was wrapped up nicely with our stay at Discovery Inn. Even before we arrived, I called to see how early we could check in, and when we arrived at 10am our rooms were just being cleaned. Being able to check in early was such a huge help to us as we were able to regroup and relax before the next event. DI is quiet, comfy, and conveniently placed to town.

We really appreciated the great customer service from everyone we came in contact with. I apologize again for accidentally putting the key in my pocket when we left. We'll be back on our next visit to Friday Harbor.

Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn we appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad our staff was helpful - one of our main goals is great customer service. We look forward to your next stay. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. Nicely furnished room with a desk and chair, fridge and counter. The bathroom was recently remodeled. We had one rainy day during our stay so our suggestion would be for a more comfortable seating area to read or watch TV. The room was spotless and the hotel has a wonderful staff. They were friendly and accommodating and even loaned us two chairs one evening to take to a local park event. The Inn is well taken care of inside and out. Beautiful lawn with chairs for relaxing, a deck and hot tub, lovely flower beds and hanging baskets. It really is a park-like setting. Their sign says island casual, which is a good description of the feel and amenities at the Inn. A fairly quiet area of town right next to the library. We made a great choice in choosing Discovery Inn and will come back when we can.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side, second floor and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Discovery Inn and are grateful for the kind review. We are glad you decided to stay with us and are very happy you enjoyed your room during your visit to the island. It is one of our pleasures to help our guests have wonderful visits to the island and are glad we could provide you with some chairs for your visit to the park. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean, newly renovated rooms close to all things in Friday Harbor. Rooms are fully equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee pot and all the coffee/creamers you could want. Knowledgeable staff eager to help with any reservations for touring or dining. Beautiful grounds and lawn furniture for relaxation after a busy day. We stayed four nights and staff did everything possible to make our stay delightful.

Room Tip: Couples request the deluxe queen with just one bed. Has more room to move around and easier access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for the great review of the Inn. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and that our staff was so helpful to you - both of these our are main goals. We hope you make it our way again and can stay with us. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hills, ca
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice accommodations and a great staff make this a good choice when visiting San Juan Island. Rooms are nicely furnished but there is some noise if you are on the first floor. Internet was somewhat spotty, location is very good, close to town.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are glad you could stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind review of the Discovery Inn. We hope to see you again if your travels find you back in the San Juan Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We needed one night in Friday Harbor on our way to Orcas Island and most places aren't cheap in this town. It was a very nice room, clean, fridge, good bed with nice linens and well-appointed bathroom. This sounds kind of nutty, but I loved that the bathroom sink was higher than most and was really comfortable...

Hit the Cask and Schooner for a great meal with local brews.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so glad you decided to stay with us on your way to Orcas Island. Thank you for the review and the nice comments on your room, we are glad you enjoyed the renovations. We hope you will come and visit us again if your travels bring you back to San Juan Island. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing on beautiful San Juan Island, the Discovery Inn provides affordable comfort in a park-like setting with a large seasonal outdoor jacuzzi, sitting areas, decks and barbeques.The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. Each recently renovated room features a private bath, one or two queen beds, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi.The Discovery Inn offers multi-night discounts, free trip planning and concierge services for Island activities. Discounted rates are available for whale watching and kayak tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.