We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive and comfy...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Discovery Inn
1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Attentive and comfy...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our recent visit to Friday Harbor for a wedding was wrapped up nicely with our stay at Discovery Inn. Even before we arrived, I called to see how early we could check in, and when we arrived at 10am our rooms were just being cleaned. Being able to check in early was such a huge help to us as we were able to regroup and relax before the next event. DI is quiet, comfy, and conveniently placed to town.

We really appreciated the great customer service from everyone we came in contact with. I apologize again for accidentally putting the key in my pocket when we left. We'll be back on our next visit to Friday Harbor.

Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn we appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad our staff was helpful - one of our main goals is great customer service. We look forward to your next stay. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    61
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
79
83
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. Nicely furnished room with a desk and chair, fridge and counter. The bathroom was recently remodeled. We had one rainy day during our stay so our suggestion would be for a more comfortable seating area to read or watch TV. The room was spotless and the hotel has a wonderful staff. They were friendly and accommodating and even loaned us two chairs one evening to take to a local park event. The Inn is well taken care of inside and out. Beautiful lawn with chairs for relaxing, a deck and hot tub, lovely flower beds and hanging baskets. It really is a park-like setting. Their sign says island casual, which is a good description of the feel and amenities at the Inn. A fairly quiet area of town right next to the library. We made a great choice in choosing Discovery Inn and will come back when we can.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side, second floor and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Discovery Inn and are grateful for the kind review. We are glad you decided to stay with us and are very happy you enjoyed your room during your visit to the island. It is one of our pleasures to help our guests have wonderful visits to the island and are glad we could provide you with some chairs for your visit to the park. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean, newly renovated rooms close to all things in Friday Harbor. Rooms are fully equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee pot and all the coffee/creamers you could want. Knowledgeable staff eager to help with any reservations for touring or dining. Beautiful grounds and lawn furniture for relaxation after a busy day. We stayed four nights and staff did everything possible to make our stay delightful.

Room Tip: Couples request the deluxe queen with just one bed. Has more room to move around and easier access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Discovery Inn and for the great review of the Inn. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and that our staff was so helpful to you - both of these our are main goals. We hope you make it our way again and can stay with us. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hills, ca
Level Contributor
379 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice accommodations and a great staff make this a good choice when visiting San Juan Island. Rooms are nicely furnished but there is some noise if you are on the first floor. Internet was somewhat spotty, location is very good, close to town.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are glad you could stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind review of the Discovery Inn. We hope to see you again if your travels find you back in the San Juan Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We needed one night in Friday Harbor on our way to Orcas Island and most places aren't cheap in this town. It was a very nice room, clean, fridge, good bed with nice linens and well-appointed bathroom. This sounds kind of nutty, but I loved that the bathroom sink was higher than most and was really comfortable...

Hit the Cask and Schooner for a great meal with local brews.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so glad you decided to stay with us on your way to Orcas Island. Thank you for the review and the nice comments on your room, we are glad you enjoyed the renovations. We hope you will come and visit us again if your travels bring you back to San Juan Island. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very close to all the things in Friday Harbor, staff was helpful in where to go to see the sights, beautiful sunset at the state park, enjoyed our stay plus our room came with fridge and microwave helping with leftovers. No restaurant on site but very close to some great ones like the bluff and others in friday harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Discovery Inn and for taking time to write a review of the Inn. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay not only at the Inn but on the island. Please come and stay with us again. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed two nights at Discovery Inn. It is well located, quiet, and very clean. Obviously old place with renovated rooms with all the requirements( frig., coffee maker, microwave, wi-fi). Signing in was easy. Would stay here again if you do not want super luxurious rooms.

Room Tip: Lower rooms can hear floors above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Discovery Inn. We hope your travels will find you here again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we truly appreciate it. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#7 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing on beautiful San Juan Island, the Discovery Inn provides affordable comfort in a park-like setting with a large seasonal outdoor jacuzzi, sitting areas, decks and barbeques.The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. Each recently renovated room features a private bath, one or two queen beds, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi.The Discovery Inn offers multi-night discounts, free trip planning and concierge services for Island activities. Discounted rates are available for whale watching and kayak tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.