We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Save Saved
You added Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Discovery Inn
1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay Discount
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Friday Harbor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We needed one night in Friday Harbor on our way to Orcas Island and most places aren't cheap in this town. It was a very nice room, clean, fridge, good bed with nice linens and well-appointed bathroom. This sounds kind of nutty, but I loved that the bathroom sink was higher than most and was really comfortable...

Hit the Cask and Schooner for a great meal with local brews.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so glad you decided to stay with us on your way to Orcas Island. Thank you for the review and the nice comments on your room, we are glad you enjoyed the renovations. We hope you will come and visit us again if your travels bring you back to San Juan Island. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    38
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
44
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very close to all the things in Friday Harbor, staff was helpful in where to go to see the sights, beautiful sunset at the state park, enjoyed our stay plus our room came with fridge and microwave helping with leftovers. No restaurant on site but very close to some great ones like the bluff and others in friday harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Discovery Inn and for taking time to write a review of the Inn. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay not only at the Inn but on the island. Please come and stay with us again. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed two nights at Discovery Inn. It is well located, quiet, and very clean. Obviously old place with renovated rooms with all the requirements( frig., coffee maker, microwave, wi-fi). Signing in was easy. Would stay here again if you do not want super luxurious rooms.

Room Tip: Lower rooms can hear floors above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Discovery Inn. We hope your travels will find you here again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we truly appreciate it. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

our room was a nice size well appointed and clean. We didnt have air conditioning amd dont think the inn offers it which is fine as there are fans. We were a little disappointed in the size of the jacuzzi its small but clean. Staff are helpful and the location is nice and quiet. We stayed in the single room would recommend an upgrade for a fridge and microwave and we ll stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the double room for a few more ammenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn, we love to hear from our guests! This past year we have been striving to improve the rooms, with our renovation this last winter, and the grounds around the Inn with more flowers and landscaping. Our goal through these improvements was to make our guests experience at the Inn more pleasant and relaxing. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I really enjoyed our double queen room. With a fridge, microwave and coffee maker, it had everything we needed. she walked into town, about 1/2 mile away as her morning exercise.
We were very pleased, there was not a speck of dust anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Discovery Inn. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your room and were pleased with the cleanliness of your room, our staff loves to hear their work is appreciated, thank you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the island and we hope to see you again on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I would definitely stay here again just because the staff was exceptional in every way. Very helpful with advice on the area and Heather's restaurant recommendations were perfect for us. Rooms are modest and you will need a ride to town but it was worth it. Don't go here for cheap. Go because you appreciate excellent customer service from a family owned business woman who is giving it her all . . . and it shows!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Discovery Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. One of our main goals at the Inn is to give our guests great customer service and to offer them one of the most affordable places to stay on San Juan Island. Everything on the Island, including room rates, are more expensive than the Mainland due to the Island's remote location. Because of the higher prices on the island we hope all of our customers, like you, feel they are getting a great value at the Inn through the customer service they receive, the cleanliness of the rooms, and what we believe is a nice relaxing atmosphere at the Inn. Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice nice people. Nice grounds. Clean room. But tight and a bit dated. TV nothing to rave about. No pool. No restaurant, no kitchens. Pop vending machine. Close to town. We would probably stay again. Only thing that could have been better, would be an onsite restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryFH, Owner at Discovery Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Discovery Inn. We appreciate your feedback. We just remodeled our rooms and have been so pleased with the overwhelming positive response from our guests. Our goal is to provide our guests with great customer service, clean and comfortable rooms at a great rate that is amongst the most reasonable on the Island. Room rates on the Island are higher than the Mainland due to the Island's remote location. As you mentioned we don't have an onsite restaurant but there are many wonderful restaurants located nearby. Again, we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 1016 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry landing on beautiful San Juan Island, the Discovery Inn provides affordable comfort in a park-like setting with a large seasonal outdoor jacuzzi, sitting areas, decks and barbeques.The hotel is known for providing its guests with friendly customer service, clean rooms and a relaxing atmosphere. Each recently renovated room features a private bath, one or two queen beds, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi.The Discovery Inn offers multi-night discounts, free trip planning and concierge services for Island activities. Discounted rates are available for whale watching and kayak tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.