We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friday Harbor Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Friday Harbor Suites to your Saves list
Friday Harbor Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   680 Spring Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8090 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Friday Harbor Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Suisun City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We did not make reservations in advance, as we were visiting out of season. We booked in for two nights, and then changed it to four.

This place used to be a senior living facility. Each unit is a suite, with a private patio.
The hallways look like an optical illusion, as they zigzag along.

Breakfast is provided. And, Mi Casitas restaurant is located off the lobby if you want excellent Mexican food.

Going to relax in the Jacuzzi this afternoon, after a trip to Lime Kiln Beac.

Feeling relaxed and renewed!


There is a Jacuzzi in the garden,

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Because of my irregular sleeping habits we always stay in a suite with a separate bedroom. We shopped high and low for suites in Friday Harbor and booked a getaway for two nights, sight-unseen. This EXCELLENT rating began before we got there, in the outstanding customer service offered on the phone as we made the reservation. The agent accommodated every need we expressed and went the extra 10 yards to remind us that ferry access to the island now offered reservations, telling us that the express route was the best and which Friday-departing ferries were best to avoid U.S. customs checks when returning to the mainland. The layout of the suite is simply the best and most spacious we have ever seen in moderately priced suites, bar none. The furnishings weren't worn, the carpet was like new and the bath was larger than any at our own home. Surprisingly, it to date has been the only hotel where the room was and stayed perfectly heated - no miserable first night figuring out thermostat settings or which linens to set aside, etc. It is now our go-to hotel for getaways in the San Juan Islands.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called the day before we wanted to arrive. Pleasant and helpful staff booked a pet friendly room with a Military discount. The room is large and comfortable enough. Breakfast is fine and more than ample. Grounds are clean. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi but wished the water pressure in the showers was greater. Overall, we would stay here again though we usually prefer to try someplace New.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Spacious in that regard. Slept well, yet I must agree with other reviews about the outdated appearance and appliances. The biggest complaint? The loud refrigerator that rattled, buzzed,and made for constant unpleasant noise. I would have asked for a new room, but we had already settled.

Room Tip: Use back parking lot to avoid the awkward hallway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our spacious Two Bedroom Suites. Very sorry to hear that the fridge was making noise and was a little to loud. I am sorry to hear that the design of hallway was a bit to strange, Guests tend to love the hallway because its so different and gives you the mirror affect. Not everyone is the same and I understand that its not the norm. If you return to our property let us know so we can accommodate your needs on a different wing of the hotel.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Check in was easy the room was small but had everything we needed and then some (a little Kitchenette was nice). The furniture 100% needs to be updated. It's all old and reminds me of a grandparents house. The breakfast was complimentary and had eggs and potatos! I was pretty excited about that after a week of granola and pastries from other hotels.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Thank you so much for the review.
We have been updating our decor this last year and hope to get to the furniture as soon as we are able. I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast for this has been an ongoing adventure changing things out different times of the year. Sometimes we have biscuits and gravy, sometimes we have bacon and sausage. Many exciting ideas have been brought to our attention and we appreciate your review. Thank you so much for choosing out property as a home away from home during your journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

This hotel is a short walk from downtown and the ferry terminal. The hot tub was nice, and the breakfast in the morning was ok. The cost was a bit steep, but I guess that what the market will bear in the islands. Parking in the parking lot is inadequate and we had to park on the street.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the review.
I am very pleased that you had a good stay at our hotel. Parking can be difficult because we have a very popular restaurant that gets busy from 4-9pm and parking can be limited. We also have a back parking lot that is strictly for guests use only.
Happy Holidays from all the staff at Friday Harbor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Located about one half mile from the ferry terminal, the Friday Harbor Suites is a nice hotel with spacious rooms, continental breakfast and friendly staff. The room included a small kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and dishes. The bedroom and living room were comfortable and the living room had a small gas fireplace. Overall. the room was very good, but the bed was hard as a rock; this is a lovely place to stay but if you are not comfortable with a hard bed, then is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thank you so much for the review!
We are pleased that you had a overall nice stay at our hotel. I was very surprised when I read your comment about the bed being hard. I decided to do a bit of looking into your stay and noticed that you were placed in a room with one of our brand new beds that we decided to try out. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be remembered when we choose to purchase new beds.
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friday Harbor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor Suites

Address: 680 Spring Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8090 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Friday Harbor Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable and friendly hotel in a quiet location just half a mile from the harbor - enjoy the unique architecture of a true island favorite. At Friday Harbor Suites you will have plenty of space to enjoy your scrupulously clean room with private patio and separate bedroom, plus a living room with a pull-out sofabed, and an eating area with refrigerator and microwave. A delicious hot breakfast buffet is complimentary, as is wifi, parking and on-demand shuttle service to the ferry, the airport, the harbor, shopping and local in-town restaurants. Ask the friendly front desk staff for suggestions for beautiful walking and sightseeing trails, and scenic drives that will take you around the island before returning to your beautiful private suite. Friday Harbor Suites isn't snooty - it simply offers the most comfortable and spacious rooms on San Juan Island. We now have a four bedroom 3 bath house available for rent on the property and it is a great way to save money if you are looking for multiple rooms at a great price ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Friday Harbor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Best Western
Friday Harbor Suites San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friday Harbor Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.