We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friday Harbor Suites

Save Saved
You added Friday Harbor Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Friday Harbor Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   680 Spring Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8090 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Friday Harbor Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Buckley
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family for several nights in February. The staff are all very friendly and helpful (very knowledgable about activities and places to go and see), the hotel itself is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants, and I loved the rooms! Their layouts are great; you pretty much have your own apartment. And we had a nice little stove too!
Their complimentary breakfast was great. They had a nice variety. They also have a Mexican restaurant IN the hotel, and their food is amazing! We went there for dinner and drinks one night. I'm planning my next trip in a couple of weeks! I highly, highly recommend this hotel. They really went above and beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
it is people like you that make my job so fun!!!!!

thanks for all of your thoughts and comments and we hope you come back in the off season when we have some really great rates :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel was the location for our small group for 4 nights. It is a converted health facility so the layout of the halls is unique, but every room has been remodeled and upgraded and it is a wonderful relaxing place to spend a few San Juan days. Very good Mexican restaurant off the lobby with beautiful outdoor seating is a plus. You are an easy walk from downtown, set back enough to have total quiet in the evening. Friendly helpful staff will take care of your needs. I asked for help booking a whale watching tour for the group and got great assistance including a shuttle ride to the wharf for the group.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Mike,

Thank you very much for your comments!

i am so glad you got to go out and see the whales; they have put on the best show ever this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have found Friday Harbor Suites to be a very nice place to stay for my recent combination business and pleasure trips to Friday Harbor. I really liked my room layout and furnishings and the patio facing the gardens to the North. I was impressed with the free breakfast (the nice fluffy eggs) and how immaculately clean the wait staff keep the serving and eating area. I liked the location, a little up the hill. While I walked to and from the ferry terminal a number of times (it is less than a mile), just because I wanted to (it's a very nice town to walk around), there is a free shuttle bus and the drivers were nice and available on short notice. There is plenty to do and eat in Friday Harbor, like sea kayaking and fresh Dungeness crab!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms with patios are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Karl,

Thank you for choosing the Friday Harbor Suites! I am so glad you enjoyed your breakfast.
i appreciate the fact that you made the stroll into town on foot but don't hesitate to call us to come pick you up next time!!!! :)
Thane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Homelike atmosphere is well located and very comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast has enough variety to please all and tastes good! Outdoor space on the first floor is delightful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for the great comments!
The reason we have the unusual hallways is that the architect wanted to create privacy for each of the outdoor balconies and so he bumped out each room which resulted in the unique configuration of the hallways.

We are grateful you chose us and would love to have you come back in the off season when we are able to lower our rates :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable and larger than we expected. The patio was lovely and peaceful. Every member of the staff that we encountered went out of their way to make our stay great. We wish we had had a chance to use the fireplace in the room, but the weather was warm the entire time we were in Friday Harbor. The hotel is close enough to the ferry and restaurants to be walkable, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for staying here with us in Friday Harbor! It was a pleasure to have you here and i look forward to having you visit us again! The staff appreciates your kind words!
Thane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Thank you so much to the staff at Friday Harbor Suites. We booked in a large group of people both family and friends with diverse needs and the staff went well out of their way to make sure that everyone had what they needed. Unending patience and support. The suites were very comfortable and clean and had their own private balconies. Breakfast is included and the Mi Casita Mexican restaurant (open for dinner) is conveniently placed within the hotel itself. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the heart of town but far enough away to provide peace and quiet. There is a very detailed review already on this site and I agree with everything that was said.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kindness and thoughtful words about our Staff!
It really means a lot to all of us and we appreciate you staying with us.
The Staff was all smiles and I can tell you that they were glowing when i showed them the comments.
We will keep getting better.

I hope you come back soon!

Have a safe trip home.



Thane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here three nights on a visit to the San Juan islands. Had a two bedroom suite. Clean, comfortable, good breakfast, excellent wifi reception. Few min walk to downtown and ferry. My grandson says even the sofa bed had a comfortable mattress. And very competitively priced. Overall it is an excellent place to stay.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane B, General Manager at Friday Harbor Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We're so glad you stayed with us and had such a good trip to the island.
We just had our wifi speed tripled and everyone really seems to like the new higher speeds for downloading.
i hope the rest of your trip goes well and we look forward to another visit from you :)

Thane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friday Harbor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor Suites

Address: 680 Spring Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8090 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Friday Harbor Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable and friendly hotel in a quiet location just half a mile from the harbor - enjoy the unique architecture of a true island favorite. At Friday Harbor Suites you will have plenty of space to enjoy your scrupulously clean room with private patio and separate bedroom, plus a living room with a pull-out sofabed, and an eating area with refrigerator and microwave. A delicious hot breakfast buffet is complimentary, as is wifi, parking and on-demand shuttle service to the ferry, the airport, the harbor, shopping and local in-town restaurants. Ask the friendly front desk staff for suggestions for beautiful walking and sightseeing trails, and scenic drives that will take you around the island before returning to your beautiful private suite. Friday Harbor Suites isn't snooty - it simply offers the most comfortable and spacious rooms on San Juan Island. We now have a four bedroom 3 bath house available for rent on the property and it is a great way to save money if you are looking for multiple rooms at a great price ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Friday Harbor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Best Western
Friday Harbor Suites San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friday Harbor Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.