We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in Friday Harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
595 Park St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in Friday Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic stay in Friday Harbor. Great accommodations, well decorated, very clean, perfect location within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Our room had a nice flat screen TV, which we appreciated and there was Internet access. Some B&B's we have stayed in have not included these amenities because we are there to "relax." I appreciated having access to these. A real plus, that I have not had at a B&B elsewhere, was having the basket with coffee delivered to our door at 7am so that we could enjoy a cup while waking up and getting ready for breakfast (served at 9).

I highly recommend Kirk House and we will definitely return if we have the chance to visit San Juan Island again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
254
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Kirk house- it's very convenietly located and very comfortable. The host and hostess are great, we really liked the afternoon treats. Breakfast was great. It's a little pricey but average for the area! we stayed in the Trellis room which I would recommend if you are a bath person- she has the bath set up like a spa! But if your a shower person the other rooms have a little more space to move around. All rooms are well appointed and all have private entrances to the wonderful wrap around porch or back yard. Lots of romatic places to cuddle up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If we ever get back to Friday Harbor, we will definitely stay here again. The Kirk House is a wonderful bed & breakfast. It is located on a quiet street, just a short walk to all the shops and restaurants. The house itself is beautiful, clean and well maintained. Built in 1907, it has lots of history and beautiful woodwork throughout. I recommend the Veranda room. It was very large and has it's own private entrance.

The owners Doug and Roxy work tirelessly to provide every amenity and comfort you can think of; from their gourmet breakfast with award-winning fruit and yogurt parfait, to non-stop homemade snacks, fruits, pasties and specially blended coffee and teas. When you return to your room after your island activities, you will find more snacks and an always-full pitcher of ice water. This is in addition to what is offered in the dining room. We were always so full from the breakfast, we didn't need to eat lunch. I was especially grateful for all the gluten-free foods they prepared for me. That was additional time and expense for them, but goes to show how much they care about their guest.

The Kirk House is a wonderful place to stay, but the real prize is being the guest of Doug and Roxy as they make you feel so welcome. They are just the nicest people and they know how to run a B&B. My husband and I have stayed in B&B's in the South and in Europe, but the Kirk House, run by Doug and Roxy, is by far the richest experience we have ever had at one. It is a destination in itself.

Room Tip: The Veranda room has a huge shower and a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at The Kirk House at the end of September/ beginning of October. The room (we stayed in The Trellis Room), the location and the big parlor were everything you would expect in a top quality B&B. But the incredible breakfasts, the afternoon treats, and particularly the friendly and helpful hosts, Doug and Roxy, made our stay something we will remember forever and hope to return to again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited the San Juan Islands about two weeks ago where we stayed with Doug and Roxy and it was a truly memorable experience. We were a little skeptical at first because we've never stayed at a bed and breakfast before but they helped us feel right at home. Very welcoming and generous. They went out of their way to ensure that we were settled in, gave us information about restaurants, sites to visit, the list goes on. With special dietary needs, they went out of their way to meet them. After a long day of trekking and sight seeing, we were always welcomed back with smiles, gluten free treats in our room and so much more. Roxy is quite the gluten free baker! It was a blessing to be able to sit down at breakfast with complete strangers and leave out friends. Doug makes an awesome parfait for breakfast (I'm not a fan of parfaits but he has changed my mind!). This is definitely a place that I would recommend to anyone and would gladly go back anytime. It's worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Veranda Room and it was lovely! Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Kirk House Bed and Breakfast is a WONDERFUL place to stay. Awesome relaxing porch to lounge and relax. There was 5 of us all together, all the rooms were great. Roxy and Doug are the heart of the B&B. Their attention to detail is fantastic. My sister was getting married on the island, they went out of there way to make their time there extra special. And the breakfast each morning was fabulous and they even made us 'breakfast to go' on the morning we had to leave and catch the ferry.

The Kirk House B&B is walking distance to the town and easy to get to all the cool shops, bars and restaurants.

It's a wonderful place! A little slice of heaven on earth!

We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 days but wish we could have stayed longer! Loved the morning coffee basket by your door at 7am, the homemade afternoon snacks, the wonderful breakfasts. Beautiful house and beautiful hosts! Doug and Roxy went above and beyond to make sure we had a perfect time. The house is located within walking distance to the town which is a big plus!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 595 Park St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.