We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friday Harbor (San Juan Islands, WA) Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
595 Park St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Friday Harbor (San Juan Islands, WA) Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just finished our three week vacation in the Pacific Northwest with friends. One of the highlights of our vacation was the wonderful stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast for two nights at Friday Harbor, Washington. Roxy and Doug are gracious hosts and made our stay there so very accommodating. As frequent B&B guests, I would highly recommend the Kirk House B&B to any traveler visiting the famous San Juan Islands. I included a few pictures as well to highlight the history and beauty of the area. The breakfast was particularly impressive to include a parfait with superb homemade granola complemented with the freshest fruit to include blueberries. The historical home is appointed well and features antiques to complement the beauty all around. The Garden Room was very spacious and included all the modern conveniences you would expect. Even WiFi was provided and those fresh cookies were out of this world. On the last morning, we had to leave for the early ferry departure. Roxy and Doug accommodated our request with the best takeout breakfast I have ever had to include the famous granola. :) In sum, if we return to the Pacific Northwest again, we will surely stay at the Kirk House B&B. Thanks Roxy and Doug for a great stay. Best wishes.

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Room. It was located at the back of the Inn and faced a beautiful garden away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
235
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were fortunate enough to find this wonderful bed and breakfast! The hosts are so friendly and welcoming. You feel right at home. The craftsman styled home is beautifully decorated, well maintained, and very clean. The beds are comfortable and rooms are private. The breakfasts the hosts serve were wonderful! You don't leave hungry! The accommodations offer little to be desired. We would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet and quaint get away which is centrally located to the main part of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a wonderful 3-night stay at the Kirk House in Friday Harbor. Hosts Roxie and Doug were the most gracious hosts we have ever experienced in all of our stays at B&B's. Breakfasts were delicious and presented very well. Home baked goodies in the afternoon. Very comfortable room, included tv and wifi. A few blocks from town. Enjoyed spending time in the parlor. Interesting architecture and décor. You could tell that Roxie and Doug loved what they were doing.

Room Tip: We were in the Garden Room. Did not see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by Roxy and a few minutes later by Doug. We felt very welcomed to The Kirk House. It was very enjoyable to chat with them about their family and ours. They only have been the B&B inn keepers since November 2011, so I would disregard any comments about the hosts prior to that time. Roxy had prepared delicious butterscotch bars and fruit which were available in the parlor for the guests. Beverages were also available.

There are four bedrooms which all have a door to the common parlor in which breakfast is served. All rooms also have a door which opens to the outside. The bed was very comfortable and we heard no noise during the night. The home, built in 1907, does have thin walls, so it is possible to hear muffled sound from the parlor or another room. However, we did not hear this during the night.

The breakfast was excellent. After eating the granola parfait with fruit, we would have been satisfied. Also served was french toast and bacon, coffee or tea and juice.

Doug and Roxy do not live in the B&B, but in a home next to it. There is a phone in the B&B on which they can be called at any time if you need them.

We would definitely go back to the Kirk House when we visit Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Friendly, helpful and great cooks are the owners. It was a delight to take time to chat with them. Comfy bed, fabulous Craftsman decor and the perfect location to walk into town. It was also nice that the guests ate together...we always like talking to the other guests to find out where they are from and what sites they have seen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently returned from a 3 day stay at the Kirk House . We visited with our daughter and her husband, a widely traveled couple. As stated by many reviews Roxy and Doug are the perfect B&B hosts. They have only been operating the inn for 1 1/2 yrs (so note the old reviews don't apply any longer), they welcome you like old friends. The breakfast is awesome starting with the best granola, yogurt and fruit parfait. Their recommendations for activities are right on. We went out with the Western Prince Whale watch it is was perfect. The house is a 1900's house that has been nicely converted for guests. The location is about a 10 minute walk to town. The beds and amenities are top notch. We left knowing we made new friends and will surely recommend this house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It is the eve before we leave this amazing B&B after a 5 night stay. I couldn't wait to get on here to tell all of you travelers that you can stop searching for the best place--this is it! We take our coveted time away very seriously and were looking for some important things: 1) Relaxation - time and space to relax. Check! We enjoyed the double hammock, the comfy loveseat on the porch, the garden seating right out our back door. 2) Accessibility -We were close enough to town that we didn't need a car on the island. We got around with no problem, but were still enough off the beaten path that we had an amazing amount of privacy and quiet. 3) Ease and Comfort - We had absolutely everything we could need right here. Each day started with a delicous breakfast- vegetarian and still with plenty of protein :), bottles of water were stocked in our fridge everyday, yummy snacks in the afternoon (it was an immediate flash back to childhood to walk in the door and smell the baked goods each afternoon), high end amenities like the lavender toiletries and even a high end blower dryer. The bed was to die for--I slept like a baby at night and still found a way to doze off for an afternoon nap as the island breeze blew in through our french doors.

The thing we weren't expecting was to find the most gracious and wonderful couple, Doug and Roxy. They were kind, considerate, open, genuine, helpful, and everything a host and hostess should be. We enjoyed our relaxed after-breakfast discussions and never feeling like we were rushed. We also enjoyed how they embraced us as a gay couple without blinking an eye or making us feel that we were any different than any of the other hundreds of guests who have stayed here.

Mission accomplished. We are leaving our vacation feeling replenished, rejuvenated, and relaxed thanks to the Kirk House B&B.

Room Tip: We peeked into every room and thought they were equally lovely. We stayed in the Arbor Room which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 595 Park St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.