We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
595 Park St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Redmond, Washington
1 review
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Kirk House is a great B&B. We stayed there 2 nights in the Trellis room in late September. There are 3 areas I feel makes a great B&B, the house, the proprietor, and the location. The house and guest rooms were far better than your typical B&B. The rooms were larger than normal for an older house and were better appointed. The Trellis room was not my first choice since the picture on the web site makes it look a little feminine but the other rooms were booked. It was not too feminine and was actually quite good. The common area was comfortable and well appointed. If it was my house, I could really have some nice parties in that common area. The breakfasts were excellent and too tempting if you are watching calories. The proprietors, Roxy and Doug, seem to be a natural for this business. They were attentive, organized, creative, and just overall a joy to talk with. It’s hard to believe they have only been proprietors for less than a year. It could be their newness to the business that allows them to still hold on to that spark and joy they bring to their job. The location at Friday Harbor is great. It is close to the downtown area without being in the middle of a noisy area. We walked to the B&B from the ferry and walked to the restaurants every night. Too often B&Bs are located in inconvenient locations. I would definitely recommend the Kirk House to anyone going to Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We so loved having you guys stay with us - besides surprising us after 20+ years of only Christmas cards! Being proprietors of the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast have given us a great opportunity to meet new friends as well as reconnecting with old ones - and to think this is our "job." What a way to spend the years before full retirement! Again - I know I sound redundant - we have the best guests but it is so true! Thank you for writing such a wonderful review - please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
258
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our time at the Kirk House. The room was perfect. The bed was very comfortable. We really loved the lavendar bathroom amenities. Roxy and Doug were wonderful hosts that took good care of us and even accomodated our schedule with an early breakfast to go. Breakfast was great. We were sorry we had to catch the early ferry on our second morning and miss the served one. There was plenty of coffee and tea available. They have games and classic movies available, too. This is a perfect place to explore the island. We ended up seeing it from one end to the other. They also helped with reataurant suggestions and made sure the places we were headed were open that particular day as the various restaurants follow slighty unusual shedules The walk to downtown is very short. We will definitely be back and would definitely recommend the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We so appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review. The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast really does give guests a great place to explore the island from - whether it is a quick walk to the quaint downtown shops & restaurants or a drive all around the island to see the wonderful hiking or whale watching spots. You know when you get back to the B & B you can relax and enjoy afternoon treats or a glass of great local wine. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Kirk House in October and could not have had a better time. It's a great property with a cool history and amazing Arts and Crafts design. it's within easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in Friday Harbor, but still felt quiet and relaxing. The hosts, Doug and Roxy, are wonderful, accommodating people. They made us feel so welcome and treated us like family (you know -- the family you like!). Breakfasts were superb. They also do some special touches -- hot coffee served in a basket right outside your door in the morning, late-night cookies on the sideboard -- that make everything feel more special. This was our first visit to Friday Harbor and we look forward to returning soon, and booking a room at the Kirk House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We love our guests from Colorado so whatever sparks the travel bug to San Juan Island - keep it coming! I know it sounds quirky - but it is so true that we have such great guests that they leave us as friends or family. We felt that way about you guys!! The special touches, such as the coffee baskets and home-made treats, are really fun to do - and our guests love them. So glad your first trip to the island was good, and we look forward to a return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

From the moment we were met at the front door by our hosts until it was time to leave two days later we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kirk House. The house is over 100 years old and has many nice architectural features plus modern amenities such as wi-fi. But what really made our stay great was the attention to detail by our hosts. Doug was quick to lend a hand with our luggage and give us suggestions for a walk around Friday Harbor and for dining later on. Roxy made afternoon treats and made sure we felt at home while at Kirk House. Breakfast was great!

We enjoyed the location, just a short walk from shopping and dining. We also appreciated the free off-street parking as we had a car for touring the rest of the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We so appreciate you taking the time to write a review for the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast.
We learn so much from our guests and their adventures. With you guys it was the walking tours you did on the island - how fun to travel to different places and walk miles around the places. One of these days now that we are in the off-season, we'll have adventures ourselves to share with our guests. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keizer
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kirk House B&B. Roxy and Doug were able to alter their breakfast for food allergies. Thank you! A short walk to downtown harbor area. A little rain but we managed with a little help from the Kirk House umbrellas located by the front door. Stayed in the veranda room, very nice especially the coffee by the door in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. We loved having you stay with us and giving us a heads up on a wonderful antique shop as well as "chalk" painting. Food allergies have been a huge learning curve for us this past year but I think we made the climb successfully! We appreciate being able to make your stay on the island more pleasant - even if there was a lot of rain! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A late Sept. getaway with two nights at the Kirk House was the perfect recipe for a retired couple like us. After some hectic days sightseeing in Seattle we settled in with Doug and Roxy to slow the pace and enjoy the surroundings. The Garden Room was comfortable, the coffee tray at your door in the morning followed by a delicious breakfast, meeting fellow guests, revisiting yesterday's adventures and comparing the day's destinations. The Kirk House location is convenient to Friday Harbor with its restaurants and shops. We are so happy that we chose the Kirk House for so many reasons, not to overlook it's charming hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We are so glad that you were able to relax while visiting the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. Nothing is better than to have guests connect with other guests and enjoy their time while staying with us. We continue to say - we have the best guests ever - and we mean it every time! So thank you for being one of those "best guests" and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent two night at the Kirk House and enjoyed it very much. Breakfasts were delicious, rooms were cozy and it was a reasonable walk to restaurants and shops. The owners are delightful. Great "breakfast to go" if you are going to miss the time. We rented a convertible and hit all the beautiful scenic overlooks...........highly recommend that approach! A little expensive but in line with other places in Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
What a fun way to see the Island - love those convertibles!! So glad you stayed with us at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. We enjoyed seeing you guys having a glass of wine in one of our outdoor seating areas and planning your next adventure. Thank you for the great review. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 595 Park St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.