We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, even better people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
595 Park St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, even better people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Roxy and Doug are fantastic! Right from the beginning they made us feel welcome. The house is gorgeous and kept very clean. The breakfasts were delicious, and they even prepared us "to-go" breakfasts when we had an early departure. The house is located very close to downtown Friday Harbor, so everything is convenient. The bed was super comfortable and had a ton of pillows--just the way I like it! I would definitely stay there again and definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Wow - thanks for such a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast and your days here gave you respite from the mosquito bites. Another great thing about San Juan Island - very few biting insects. I'm also very glad you liked the pillows - more points for the pillows - I am keeping track! Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
268
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Doug and Roxy know how to take care of their guests. The Kirk House is convenient to all activities in Friday Harbor. Morning breakfasts were delicious and the perfect start to walking, biking, and kayaking on the island. Their friendly hospitality made us want to linger and get to know them better. Rooms were bright, nicely equipped with comfortable linens and all rooms have an outside seating area. There is convenient off street parking, however, the house is located within walking distance from the ferry if you don't want to bring a car. We had a wonderful stay and will return if the opportunity arises.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Friends traveling together - nothing better!! We enjoyed your stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast so much. You all were seasoned travelers so to receive such a great review from you -we feel very honored. We loved the stories, the comraderie, and the care you shared. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is actually my first time writing a review online, but I felt compelled to share what a great job Roxy and Doug are doing. My husband and I recently stayed at the Kirk House for our wedding anniversary. It was our first time staying in a B&B and it exceeded our expectations. They are very accommodating and gracious. We loved the afternoon treats! Roxy, you're a great baker :)
I am somewhat of a neat-freak and was very impressed by the cleanliness and comfort of our room! Oh and the breakfasts were awesome. Thanks Doug & Roxy, keep up the good work :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We loved having you spend your anniversary with us. So glad that you found the room comfortable and that it passed your white glove test. Doug & I work very hard to keep the rooms spotless, smelling like lavender, with shiny surfaces and floors. To get a review as great as yours, we breathe a sigh of relief. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay at Kirk House. It is centrally located on the island and a short walk to Friday Harbor restaurants. The afternoon treats are delicious and the breakfasts were wonderful. Bed very comfortable and it is very quiet. Hosts really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We looked at all 4 of the rooms late one morning. Each are slightly different and well described on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
So glad your stay with us was enjoyable. We take great pride in how the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast looks and feels so we love when guests leave us being so very positive. Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Kirk House is situated a comfortable walk (or short drive) from downtown and restaurants and shopping and ferries and all the busyness of Friday Harbor. It is located in a part of town that makes you feel like you are more in a neighborhood, than in a bustling ferry port.
The food was terrific, the company wonderful, the room gorgeous!
Just what I was hoping for!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are so glad your stay was good - we do try very hard to make sure everyone leaves us feeling happy about their days with us. You pointed out one of the perks we try to mention always - within an easy walk to the ferry or downtown. We love that we're close but just far enough away to be out of the summer craziness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I and our dear friends visited the Kirk House and San Juan Island to celebrate milestone anniversaries. We could not have picked a more perfect place to mark our special occasion. Roxy and Doug have mastered the art of running a warm, cozy, magical, delicious and fun B&B! The house is charming to say the least and the rooms were comfortable and sparkling clean. The breakfasts (three of them!) were gourmet and delicious. I still dream about the granola yogurt parfaits. The inn is just outside of town so perfect for nice walks to and from the ferry or shopping in Friday Harbor. Every afternoon when we returned from our sightseeing Roxy had a homemade treat and fresh ice tea waiting for us. (I have made the Butterscotch Bars 3 times since we have been home!) Doug couldn't have been more helpful with tips and history of the area. When it was time to leave there were hugs all around and they felt like old friends. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We felt very privileged to have you celebrate your anniversary with us. Nothng makes us happier than to have the Parlor used to sit and visit with others which you guys did. So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast - and the Butterscotch Bars! We, too, felt like you were friends and hated to see you go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Gracious, welcoming hosts, the lovely room, and all the special little extras made this a memorable visit to the Kirk House and Friday Harbor. A stay with Doug and Roxie is like coming home! The veranda room, with access to the covered porch, was wonderful. I wouldn't miss the wicker rocking chair on the porch for anything. Thanks for the special delivery of early morning java!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We absolutely love it when guests use the veranda - whether for that first cup of coffee (special blend from a local roaster), afternoon wine to unwind after a day of adventures, or to relax in the rockers during the evening. The veranda (wrap-around porch) is absolutely the best place to be. Thank you for writing such a heartfelt review! We loved having you stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 595 Park St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.