We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value, impressed bu everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
595 Park St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding value, impressed bu everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Went to Friday Harbor for a romantic holiday getaway and found the Kirk House to be perfect on all accounts. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating and also provided a great deal of tourist reading materials for the islands.

Stayed in the arbor room and it was a great deal for people on a budget. Not only do you have your own private seating area, the beds are really comfy and the breakfast is fantastic.

Doug and Roxy make it a point to make you feel really comfortable if you're not totally io the bed and breakfast scene and will provide you breakfast on your patio or in your room if you choose to eat in private.

San Juan Coffee Roasting company made a specialty blend for this b & b which is hand delivered to you in the morning for while you are getting ready.

All in all, you'll feel extremely comfortable here and it would be impossible not to enjoy your stay on the island. We're definitely going back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
We just love being hosts to these young couples and having them enjoy the B & B experience - might just make them choose a B & B over a hotel the next time. Thanks for the "excellent" review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
268
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I recently stayed for two nights at The Kirk House and the new owners, Doug and Roxy, were absolutely incredible hosts. They have such an attention to detail and really made my stay feel like home. The beds are covered with tons of soft pillows and soooo comfortable! They have cookies and tea always available and cook such delicious breakfasts and mid-afternoon snacks (we had blueberry coffee cake which was still warm --YUM!!). They are able to cater to any dietary restrictions (we had vegetarian and gluten-free needs). The property is within walking distance to everything in Friday Harbor and a great jumping point for any length of bike ride you would want to take around the island. Outside there are tables, chairs and a hammock for sunny afternoon reading or napping and the whole experience just made me fall in love with The Kirk House. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: All the rooms are so lovely - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Wow - you make the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast sound like paradise! Thank you for the absolutely wonderful review. It was so fun hosting the Dinner 4 Life group and look forward to you returning for another weekend. You guys are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My sister and I stayed at The Kirk House recently for 2 nights.
The whole expereince was first class. From gourmet breakfasts,
fresh baking and wonderful coffee to warm hospitality and beautifully decorated
rooms. Thank you so much!!! We hope to return soon

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
It was so fun having you guys stay with us! You had great suggestions, and we are implementing a lot of them. Thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

A few weeks ago my wife and I had the opportunity to stay at The Kirk House in Friday Harbor for three nights. Roxy & Doug had recently purchased the property and could not have done more to provide a memorable experience for us two B & B veterans. First of all, the whole place was spotless and attractive. We joked with them about the over abundance of fresh cookies and their multi-course breakfasts of delicious food that just kept on coming. Our only regret was that we made the decision to walk, with our rolling suitcases, up from the harbor. We would suggest you consider a taxi. Without suitcases, it is an easy walk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We so appreciate your great review - even more meaningful as we know you have stayed in B & B's all over the world! Your visit to the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast was very enjoyable for us, and we would consider it a privilege to host you again. Thank you for your insights and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

It was our first time visiting San Juan Island - we had been to Orcas many times - and I have to say we would go back in a heartbeat. Our only bed and breakfast experience had been years ago and we felt like we were staying in a strangers home. THIS WAS SO DIFFERENT - I was like staying at a STYLISH BOUTIQUE HOTEL with wonderful friendly service and a terrific breakfast! We explored the beautiful Island all day and came back to fresh baked cookies and lemonade….it felt like home. Doug and Roxy are the best! We highly recommend Kirk house!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
As our very first guests, we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. It was wonderful to have you spend the time with us at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. Our hope is that you will return to Friday Harbor often! Thank you for such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My first trip to Friday Harbor and San Juan Island in about 15 years was a real treat -- highlighted by my stay at the beautiful and historic Kirk House! It is an island treasure, offering friendly first-class service and accommodations in a quiet setting, only a 5 block walk to the quaint shops and restaurants of Friday Harbor. There's an important story behind the inn's name, so be sure to ask about it. The hosts know how to make you feel welcomed and appreciated. My next trip will be with my bike -- they have secure bike storage and quick access to some great bike routes. Oh, did I say the breakfasts are superb? Their coffee was terrific and they keep the refills coming!

Libby

Room Tip: Each of the rooms is beautiful and the bed was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We loved having you come for a visit - can you make it every weekend? The privilege was ours to host such great and fun friends! We hope to see you soon with your bike - no better way to see all the island has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Our stay at the KirkHouse made our visit to Friday Harbor so enjoyable. Located only a short 5-10 min walk from all the restaurants and activities, the B&B was such a relaxing place to stay. The rooms were nicely decorated and each had their own bathroom. I cannot say enough nice things about the owners, Roxy and Doug. One afternoon, after returning from town, we were greeted with refreshing drinks and spent a good hour sharing travel stories. Also, they really go above and beyond for their guests at breakfast. The yogurt granola (which is only the warm-up) was the best! I highly recommended staying at the Kirk House if you're visiting Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy K, Owner at The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
What a great review! It was so wonderful having you guys stay at the Kirk House Bed & Breakfast. We have had some of the best guests - which definitely includes you two. We hope to see you again someday - give us a heads up so we have warm carrot cake waiting!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 595 Park St., Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirk House is a gracious historic home built in 1907 by noted industrialist Peter Kirk. It is located minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry and provides guests with an opportunity to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of a bygone era. Each of the four rooms has a private bath and entrance from outdoors. Full breakfast includes award winning granola, locally grown produce and our signature coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kirk House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.