We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time at Roche Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roche Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roche Harbor Resort
248 Reuben Memorial Drive, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kauneonga Lake, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Had a great time at Roche Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Our party of five adults and two children (ages 2 & 4) stayed for a long weekend the last weekend in March. We stayed in the Company Cottages #22. The location was great and staying in the cottages was perfect with small children. They had room to run outside, play on the playground, and take walks by the water and down the road by the cottages. The accomdations were perfect for us, I would only note that the bathroom could use some work, it is charming but the floor by the sink had a little mold. Otherwise the cottage was great. It was well stocked with dishes, pots and pans and untensils. Roche Harbor is beautiful, the ladies at the front desk very nice. We had a perfect weekend! I highly recommend the Company Cottages.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    29
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
38
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
the great pacific northwest
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Just got back from a quick getaway to the San Juan Islands. Stayed in a newer building (as opposed to the historic building) at Roche Harbor - the Quarryman. It was really nice. The room was great – spacious, beds had a pillowtop mattress and were quite comfy, fireplace, flat screen tv and a small balcony with chairs to sit and watch the harbor. Roomy tiled bathroom was clean, had radiant heat in the floor. The place reminded me a hotels in Europe. Best of all, off season rates - $99 a night a night seemed like a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed at the Roche Harbor Resort as part of a winter trip to the San Juans. Because it was the "quiet season," we got a great deal on a suite in Quarryman Hall (one of the newer buildings). The suite was very spacious, modern and comfortable, with a large bed, couch, armchair, flat screen TV, porch, lots of windows, a great view of the harbor (all lit up at night), mini-fridge, microwave, desk, high speed internet and a HUGE bathroom with a tub, heated tile floors and a massive shower. While I imagine the resort is very busy in the summer, in the winter it was peaceful and relaxing.

Customer service was excellent and the resort staff very responsive and helpful.

The resort, which is about 15-20 minutes from Friday Harbor, is self-contained, with a general store and even a post office. We didn't eat the restaurant (I think it was closed during our visit), but we had lunch once at the Lime Kiln Cafe, which was casual and pretty good (I recommend the Island Lamb burger). The resort does feel a little isolated, but the island is so small that you are never far from anything.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Our Sunset Suite at Hotel de Haro was authentic to the 1890s -- just as advertised. It has its own bathroom and is a substantially large room. For a comfortable 4-post bed, period furniture decor, and historical vacation site, this was the perfect location. For others, there are modern rooms in the newly built (2 years ago) hotel. I prefer history.

I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. The Afterglow Spa was reasonably priced and convenient (about 10 steps from the Hotel de Haro). We were able to drink our wine and eat our dinner on the balcony of our suite. I loved the "changing of the colors" (flags) ceremony each night. I give it a 5 out of 5 -- given that I didn't want modern amenities such as a tv and granite-topped bathrooom. This was a step back in time, and a very relaxing enjoyable one.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Felt like a remote and relaxing location but is only 15 miles from Friday Harbor and the ferry. The grocery store, three restaurants, and other stores allow you to remain within the resort if you choose. The boats and their owners (both resident and visiting) are an interesting plus.

We stayed in one of the condos which are a 5 minute walk from the resort's restaurants and it was fine. Nothing fancy but it had a large deck overlooking the rest of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed in a one br condo with sofabed in living room and I wasn't sure quite what to expect when I booked this given the variety of reviews on this site. We were very happy in the condo. No, it's not the most updated place and there is a certain lack of attention to detail (a light out in bathroom, missing remote control for bedroom, very smelly pillow on sofa). But the view of the harbor was incredible, it is a short walk to the the resort center and I loved waking up and having breakfast without having to get dressed. We absolutely LOVED Roche Harbor. It was like being in a postcard. I was very glad we chose to stay here rather than Friday Harbor. We spent 2 nights (not quite 48 hours) and we could have stayed 2 more. We were a little rushed what with a fabulous kayak tour and seeing Lime Kiln State Park ( no whales that day), the Lavender Farm, and an incredible, though short hike, from the American Camp where we could overlook the island. There is a nice sculpture park adjacent to the resort, a small grocery store and three dining out options. The staff at the desk (which is at the Haro Hotel) was extremely friendly and helpful. I don't know if there is a better place to stay for a family of four in Roche Harbor but I think if you know what you're getting you can be plenty happy here. It is an incredible destination.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

-Grounds are BEAUTIFUL--especially the English Garden near the marina
-Location is serene, scenic and quiet.
-We booked a 1 bedroom condo (Speiden building) that had two decks--one facing the marina. Condition of building was nice & room was in good shape despite being outdated (late 80's). Rooms are refreshed every other day & you have to call for more towels or anything else on off days. There was only one remote for two tvs although it worked on both. Overall, a nice experience.
-NOTE: Roche Harbor is a small insulated resort (without much to do after a few hours or so) and is a 20 minute drive from ALL of the "action" on San Juan Island. So, if you don't plan on having a car I would definitely recommend staying in Friday Harbor!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roche Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roche Harbor Resort

Address: 248 Reuben Memorial Drive, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty lodging in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan Island historic resort nestled along the shoreline. Guest amenities include marina, three restaurants, kayaking, whale watching, spa, pool, playground, bocce and nature trails. Resort center has complimentary wireless internet for all resort guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roche Harbor Hotel Roche Harbor Village
Roche Harbor Village Hotel
Roche Harbor Village Resort
Roche Harbor Resort Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roche Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Roche Harbor Resort to your Saves list