We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the town cottages” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Roche Harbor Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roche Harbor Resort
248 Reuben Memorial Drive, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid the town cottages”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Arriving by our own small boat, our family of three stayed in a front row Town Cottage for four nights during the 2012 Labor Day week. Having toured one of the cottages six months earlier, we knew there was no TV or radio. But no wifi, even though we had been told it "might be available!"
Immediately we were alarmed to realize that the single bathroom in this cottage was accessible only through one of the two bedrooms. Can't imagine this arrangement with two couples! "Hey, you guys awake? I need to use the bathroom!"
If even with some windows painted shut, no working blinds/screens, or windows that wouldn't stay open, you'd think $450 per night would, at least, provide a clean kitchen floor.

Room Tip: Confirm the details of your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    29
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was dismayed at my recent stay with Roche Harbor Resort. The room was filthy with spiders, cob webs with insects in them, trash under the bed, trash under the cushions of the couch and chairs and behind the furniture. Improper lighting, as in several of the lights didn't work including the light outside of our door. Black mold growing in the shower. Maid service needs to be revamped especially when we have to call and ask for the place to be cleaned and for toilet paper. Mind you they never did vacuum or make the bed our second day there. We were told that they were short-handed. Is that a good excuse for poor customer service?

Room Tip: Not very handicapped accessible. Noise from other rooms easily heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just spent a week moored in our boat at Roche Harbor, and enjoyed it greatly. Did not stay in hotel as such, but spent fair amount of time in the lobby using computer as the wireless internet service did not quite make it in a stable manner to our boat. (BBX might work better but I was lazy and could use lobby computer for what I had to do.) I heard the desk clerk say that some guests in past had "complained" that the hotel is a "museum". The architecture has been maintained and there are old photos about the history of the men and families who have lived there. I found it charming. Service was friendly and attentive. We enjoyed lunch on the outdoor terraces (there are 3 restaurants, two with terraces), the outdoor market (ice cream, European candies, handmade art work, etc.), walking through the well-tended gardens. Roche had some of the most beautiful plants in the outdoor planters that I've ever seen - cascades of red and orange begonias and pelargonium - unusual varieties. Plenty of places to walk, two large fenced dog parks and other places to walk Fido or give him/her a swim in the ocean. The new construction is architecturally consistent and well done. Moorage for our 30' LOA power boat was $51 a night. Our engine switch solenoid was defective and we found the alternator was going bad - ordered the parts and enjoyed waiting 2 days for them - first-rate mechanic on site fixed us up. a very pleasant experience...We don't even mind the mechanic's bill. The service and skill are appreciated.

Room Tip: Read the other reviews about the limitations of the old historic de Haro Hotel. It was built to acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have never stayed at Roche Harbor Resort, but have flown in to spend the day enjoying the gorgeous views and "turn of the century" vistas.

The resort has shuttles that can get you down to the harborside from the small unattended airport, and you can also rent a moped to get around the island.

Breakfast or lunch at the Lime Kiln Cafe is an adventure. Try having one of your party hold down a vacant table while the rest put in the order, and then, when it's ready, a young woman dressed in khaki shorts & white polo will deliver it to your table.

The food is very good! Try the huckleberry pancakes. They're loaded with blue and strawberries but you can find huckleberries nestled in there as well.

If the weather is nice, try to get one of the umbrella-covered outdoor tables. Views in all directions are fabulous, plus it's fun to people watch. The restrooms provide showers for people who boat in and need one after a few days at sea, and while they're rudimetary, they work fine.

In addition to air or sea access, San Juan Island can be reached by ferry boats.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Last year I would have rated this a five star. Great service, great scenery, and great fun. I have been going here for years but something changed this year and I can't quite put my finger on it. The staff seems stricker and dry. most notably is the lack of a band on Friday and Saturday nights. The band lit up the harbor and brought everyone off their boats for dancing and fun. Now nights in the harbor are dull.

If you are looking for night life, skip Roche and head to Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in a "historic" cabin by the pool. The concept was terrific...a rustic cabin that could sleep 6 with eat in full kitchen, 1 bathroom located by the master bedroom. There is a great outdoor fireplace directly behind the cabin with fast-lighting wood provided by the hotel. Great for watching stars at night and making s'mores. The staff are something special..really sweet and accommodating.
Be aware that "historic" means run down. At these prices the accommodation was a disappointment. Well maintained and clean...yet beat up and old. Be forewarned...no television or internet (not a terrible thing...watch real stars instead of t.v. Stars). My 15 year old daughter loved it here...she's not as picky as me!

Room Tip: Rustic is the operative word...and overpriced. But...what vacation place isnt
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The newer townhomes/condos are the best rental units. The rooms in the actual hotel are a little "tired", but the experience and friendly staff make up for any negatives.
The surrounding views over the marina are spectacular and the festive spirit of all the staff is contagious. There is enough activities for anyone of any age.

Room Tip: If you are not on a boat, be sure to reserve a trip in advance - the boat rentals go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roche Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roche Harbor Resort

Address: 248 Reuben Memorial Drive, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty lodging in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan Island historic resort nestled along the shoreline. Guest amenities include marina, three restaurants, kayaking, whale watching, spa, pool, playground, bocce and nature trails. Resort center has complimentary wireless internet for all resort guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roche Harbor Hotel Roche Harbor Village
Roche Harbor Village Hotel
Roche Harbor Village Resort
Roche Harbor Resort Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roche Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Roche Harbor Resort to your Saves list