We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Bar & Grill

Blue Water Bar & Grill
7 Spring St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7199
360-378-2245
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 55 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We ate lunch here on their patio/lawn area and the views were amazing! My husband ordered the burger and I ordered the crab cake - I wish I ordered the burger because it was super good! I thought my plate should have came with another crab cake because one isnt enough (on the small side) but it was good. The decor was very nice as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    59
    49
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Standard waterfront food and prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Good but not great food but a good selection of beer on tap and nice view of the waterfront. (Rodeo burger had a whole lot of bacon on it.)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ok meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went for lunch. It was pricy but good. I ordered the blackend salmon salad and it was excellent. My husband and daughter were less pleased with their meals. The staff was friendly but slow.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My mom and I just went up to the San Juan Islands to kayak. We only had about an hour to eat before our trip started and decided to give Blue Water Bar and Grill a try. We were glad we did. We were seated within a few minutes at a table by the window with great views of the harbour and ferry dock. There was outside seating, which would we could have opted for, but the atmosphere and decor inside had us amused.

My first impression of the menu was actually not so enthused, with 3 salad selections, 1 soup, 4 sandwiches, 5 'basket' items and all the rest burgers, I had a little bit of a hard time deciding on something that wouldn't sit so heavy in my tummy. I must say though, even though I wasn't in the mood for burgers at that time, what they offered was really tempting. Next time I go there I will have to try one of their burgers. I went with what I figured would be a typical small plate of Fish Tacos for a very reasonable price compared to their other seafood dishes. My mom went with the basket of Fish & Chips (2 piece).

Wowza, were we surprised to see the portions! We both had huge pieces of cod on our plates, and it was excellent. We were both really impressed with the boisturous flavors, presentation and overall quality of each component on our plates. Our waitress was great too. She was kind, quick, and came around just at the right times. When my drink was empty, without hesitation she filled it before I even realized it was all the way gone. I noticed she just floated around the whole restaurant, inside and out, like this assisting all her guests with the same attentiveness.

We were able to sit down, enjoy ourselves, the view, the food and the service and still have a few minutes to meander around town before our guide came to take us to our kayaking spot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The restaurant had a nice view and decent food, but I had hoped that it would be a little more upscale with the prices that they charge.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Bar & Grill also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Blue Water Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.