We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Use of Local Produce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant

Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant
1 Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
360-378-2922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 55 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Cuisines: American, English, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located just off the waterfront in Friday Harbor, Cask & Schooner Public House & Restaurant is Friday Harbor's premiere maritime themed english pub offering distinctive rustic fare and well crafted libations.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Use of Local Produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had lunch there on a Sunday afternoon after a whale watching tour. We had the kale and chickpea appetizer. The portion provided was large. We both had salads that were full of fresh local produce. It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    171
    50
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, service was disappointing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great location with beautiful view of the harbor. Small inside, but decorated nice. Food was very good. I had the pasta and clam chowder. Both I felt could use a bit more seasoning. Scallops were done very well. Service was a bit disappointing, did not find our server overly friendly and after the food was served never came back to check on us or refill drinks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice pub atmosphere right across from the ferry landing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a leisurely lunch with a picturesque view of the harbor. The steak and fries, fish & chips and clam chowder were all very good. The waitress joked with my kids and set the tone for a pleasant meal. This is not fast food. Everything was made to order, fresh and island paced. They do get quite busy so we arrived early and didn't have a problem getting a seat right away. 2 hour parking is on the street so we had to walk about a block. It's a great street to explore. I would recommend it for a very nice meal and a great memory.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We went here twice. Once before our three day kayaking trip and afterwards. We had the steak, and it was delicious although a little expensive. Then we had the burger which was great. It was local beef quite tasty, and the fries were homemade and perfectly cooked. We also had the cauliflower as snap appetizer. It was well worth it. Delicious. I recommend this place highly. It is crowded so either eat early or prepare for a wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We wanted to celebrate a birthday and a new beginning while in Friday Harbor. Cask and Schooner was highly recommended to us by the owners of the B&B we stayed at. While the environment is casual, the atmosphere was cozy and classy. The food was outstanding, and the service was prompt and courteous. The Sticky Toffee Pudding desert is a must!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.