We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our go to spot on the island, never disappointed!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant

Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant
1 Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
360-378-2922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 55 Restaurants in Friday Harbor
Cuisines: American, English, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located just off the waterfront in Friday Harbor, Cask & Schooner Public House & Restaurant is Friday Harbor's premiere maritime themed english pub offering distinctive rustic fare and well crafted libations.
Olympia Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Our go to spot on the island, never disappointed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Whether you sit at the bar on a romantic date with your mate or at a table with friends this is the place to be. Great creative and fresh food, generous portions and fantastic appetizers. We love the green papaya and calamari. The brodetta on the fresh list is not to be missed. Great service and very upbeat even when it's crowded as it usually is in the summer. Don't miss it-perfect location on the corner across from the harbor so perfect for people watching.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    171
    50
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch in a friendly setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We lunched at Cask and Schooner on the advice of the co-owner of Discovery Sea Kayaks, after we returned from a morning outing. We were not disappointed. The restaurant was very busy but we were seated quickly in one of the odd-shaped rooms, which add to the old-timey charm. The service was friendly and we enjoyed the food very much. There seems to be a focus on locally sourced ingredients. Had a delicious lamb burger (with local lamb) and excellent fish and chips and were able to have wine by the glass from one of the local wineries.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wide variety of great choices in very nice setting near ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local (the owner of the Funk and Junk Antique store), a recommendation which we really appreciated because most of the restaurants in Friday Harbor seemed to be in the sports bar category. The food and service here were great. There were lots of choices--you can come here for a light casual meal or a full meal. We had the hangar steak--it was perfectly prepared. The server was very friendly and helpful. Plus, the price are very reasonable, particularly considering that the restaurant is on an island.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Yummy yummy yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I rarely eat seafood, but I couldn't resist ordering a dish of mussels cooked in a white wine/tomato/garlic sauce when I smelled it being served at the table next to hours. The taste was amazing. I just kept oohing and aahing, to the point that my table mates were a bit embarrassed! Fortunately, they were really happy enjoying their grass-fed beef burgers, so I didn't lose any of my mussels to them :)
I also liked the atmosphere and the decor in this place. Can't wait to go again next time I'm on the island!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good lunch place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Group had sandwiches, burgers, clam chowder (fair to good), and great old fashioned french fries (not reconstituted mush like most chains).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant also viewed

Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cask and Schooner Public House & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.