We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Inn at 123 West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Island Inn at 123 West to your Saves list
The Island Inn at 123 West
123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
GreenLeadersGold level
MPLS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed for three nights. Super great friendly staff! Clean rooms. Stayed in the Euro rooms which was a bit strange at first but loved eating breakfast at the table with a view of the harbor. Bed was heavenly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello pbownik,

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us! Our Euros, like most of our hotel, are a little different, but we’re thrilled that you enjoyed going with the slow! We’re particularly flattered that you found our team and bedding to be top notch and look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Super great friendly’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    20
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
96
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The room was awesome, well appointed and spectacular views. Bed was so ridiculously comfortable that it was hard to get out of bed in the morning. Softest sheets I've ever slept on. Great products in the bathroom, nice shower, cool towels. My only criticism is that I wish the toilet had been in a separate water closet. Beyond that, it was an exceptional stay, staff was wonderfully accommodating, and I'd recommend it and would 100% stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello nicobean1,

Thanks so much for your stay and for taking the time to share such a kind review of your experience with us INN Sweet 1! Getting out of bed when you’re on Island time is optional and we’re simply thrilled that your stay with us was exceptional. We look forward to your next visit!

The Island Inn ‘awesome’ Ambassadors

P.S. Nice photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We booked this hotel for one night as we were leaving on a kayaking/ camping trip from Friday Harbor early the next morning. The location is really convenient - a short walk from both the ferry terminal and the meeting point for the many San Juan tour trips that start at Friday Harbor. We stayed in Penthouse 2, which sleeps up to 7 people, and the apartment was beautiful! Fabulous lounge and kitchen area, lovely bedrooms with views of the harbor and awesome bathrooms (the master bath even had a steam shower) stocked with Malin and Goetz products. The apartment also had a private roof terrace - perfect for cocktails at sunset. I am now busy trying to think of excuses to come back here!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello NjyD,

We wish you could have stayed longer, too!

We’re thrilled that you found us to be a good launchpad for your kayaking and camping adventure and that you particularly enjoyed the roof deck, steam shower, elbow room and great views that Penthouse 2 offers! We look forward to welcoming you back and are happy to help you create some great excuses to return!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘excuses to come back’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have traveled many times to San Juan Island, and this is our favorite place to stay. My husband and I and another couple rented Penthouse 3, which is extremely comfortable and suitable in size, decor, convenience to the town of Friday Harbor, etc. It feels like a condo (I believe that they were originally built as that); bedrooms and bathrooms are on a lower level and are soundproof. Living quarters are upstairs, along with a powder room. Decor is contemporary and minimalistic; very refreshing. Great view from our deck of the harbor, the marina, and the ferries, coming and going.

Everything at the Inn seems to be well cared for. Staff are friendly and helpful. For an additional fee, we were able to park our car in an underground parking garage. Loved that fruit, coffee and granola were provided for breakfast, especially since we were headed out early in the morning to bicycle. We look forward to returning to this great place in the not-too-distant future.

Green Features: Island Inn is Green Leaders Gold Level; they are very conscientious and it is obvious.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello irmark,

Thanks so much for your visit and for your kind words – we’re flattered to be your favorite spot on San Juan Island! Our building was originally designed and built as a condo project, so all of our Penthouses are indeed outfitted and finished just like residential condominiums with the added value of our friendly and helpful team!

We’re glad that you enjoyed our style and complimentary fruit, milk, OJ and granola. Most important - we’re eager to welcome you back INN the not-too-distant future!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘favorite place to stay’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have to say this was a wonderful experience and I would absolutely stay here again. We had Penthouse #6 for 2 nights and we could have stayed for weeks. My wife and I were on our 25th and work brought us to the Seattle area and Friday Harbor seemed like a great place to go once work was done. After researching the available accommodations on the island we settled on The INN. As soon as we booked our reservation they were in contact with us. They proactively asked why we were coming to the island and what they could do to make the trip most enjoyable. They had flowers, champagne, and a cheese plate there upon our arrival and per my request. The staff was awesome, very friendly and we wanted for nothing. The roof top deck was great and we drank coffee in the mornings up there and cocktails in the afternoon – great view to watch the happenings in the harbor. This is a very hip place and a one of a kind as far as I am concerned. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Green Features: Very Green! We were impressed with their huge systern rain system - very cool.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Brian B,

We’re glad that you made us part of your 25th wedding anniversary and are even happier to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us! The San Juan Islands are surprisingly convenient to Seattle and we’re happy to do all that we can to make certain we deliver the experience you’re looking for. . . plus a little more.

We sincerely appreciate your visit as well as the time you’ve taken to share your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘stay here’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Third stay. Euro rooms if staying only one night best quality value pn Friday Harbor. Tip: Euro 2 or 3 much better than Euro 1 noise and early sunlight wise. Granola,fruit, coffee and juice provided. Try for a parking coupon...seems pricey for what you pay to stay. Nice friendly service. Hope they maintain quality as they age...still newest on Island. Worth a visit. If you can stay longer go for a Penthouse...well worth the money.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
l8Hello LeeAnnPYEATT,

Thanks so much for swinging by with your friends for a quick visit! We’re flattered to remain one of your favorites and agree that our Euros are a great value smack INN the middle of Friday Harbor. We promise to keep getting better and will be sure to also address window treatments in all of Euros while remaining as excited to welcome you next time as we were the day we opened!

We look forward to your return and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us once more!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Favorites’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Talk about attention to detail and need!! Awesome! The penthouses are beautiful!. They are like condos, and then you notice the little things around the room and like it even more. I stayed in the "Euro" room, 3 rooms that share one living and kitchenette area, way less expensive than the penthouses but really nice!! The staff is friendly and most helpful. Hints: On a hill, have steps, but top penthouse is a climb for those who may not be able to climb. No restaurant on site, but penthouses have kitchens and there is a great little Italian restaurant on the top level next to the Inn. Ohter nice restaurants in walking area (downtown). If you have a car, let them know so they can reserve a spot for you in their garage. Right by the ferry, if you are coming off the ferry, stay right, go around the small circle, the garage and office are on the bottom street level. "Best hotel room I ever been in."-that's what the 10 year old said, and us, too.

Room Tip: Just ask on the phone what they have, it's verry personal, not like a chain, and tell them what...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had signs about towels, etc. Seemed green to me.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello JeffBransford,

Wow – thanks so much for your high marks!

We’re humbled by your kind review, and appreciate your stay as well as the time you’ve taken to share your experience. Your hints are spot on and your room tips are great as well. We particularly like that you found us to be ‘not like a chain’ but, instead, ‘unique and impressive!’ That’s precisely the experience we strive to deliver!

We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Awesome!’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island Inn at 123 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn at 123 West

Address: 123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready, set, slow ™Our boutique hotel is the closest to the Ferry and harbor, yet so far away from ordinary.The right pace at the right time; The Island Inn at 123 West is brand spanking new and as green as it gets. Dress us up or dress us down. You'll dig our contemporary style that nods to maritime gone by. Penthouses are fun for families, groups and splurges; Euros are best if you roll with less and Sweets are just like they sound. Make a splash in a floatplane, slip in on the ferry or chart your own course. Get here and go with the slow. Kick things up and paddle a sea kayak with our resident orcas, tool around the island on bicycle, stroll through quaint seaside shops and restaurants or just re_combobulate. For your family: Relatives rejoice; hosting a family reunion at the Island Inn at 123 West is uber easy – we’re goldilocks approved.For your wedding: We vow to: bend over backwards for you and your guests; do our top secret rain dance on your special day; promise not to cry only if you don’t.For your meeting: Ditch distraction and export your executives to the world’s best spot to plan tomorrow’s future.For your piggy bank: We’re a partner of Stash Hotel rewards. That means you’ll earn and redeem points at swanky places like the Island Inn and over 150 locations across the country. Reap while you sleep.Go with a different kind of Friday Harbor Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Island Inn at 123 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Inn At 123 West Hotel Friday Harbor
The Island Inn At 123 West Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Inn at 123 West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.