We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Get Away - Awesome Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Inn at 123 West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Island Inn at 123 West to your Saves list
The Island Inn at 123 West
123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
GreenLeadersGold level
Edina, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“25th Get Away - Awesome Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have to say this was a wonderful experience and I would absolutely stay here again. We had Penthouse #6 for 2 nights and we could have stayed for weeks. My wife and I were on our 25th and work brought us to the Seattle area and Friday Harbor seemed like a great place to go once work was done. After researching the available accommodations on the island we settled on The INN. As soon as we booked our reservation they were in contact with us. They proactively asked why we were coming to the island and what they could do to make the trip most enjoyable. They had flowers, champagne, and a cheese plate there upon our arrival and per my request. The staff was awesome, very friendly and we wanted for nothing. The roof top deck was great and we drank coffee in the mornings up there and cocktails in the afternoon – great view to watch the happenings in the harbor. This is a very hip place and a one of a kind as far as I am concerned. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Green Features: Very Green! We were impressed with their huge systern rain system - very cool.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Brian B,

We’re glad that you made us part of your 25th wedding anniversary and are even happier to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us! The San Juan Islands are surprisingly convenient to Seattle and we’re happy to do all that we can to make certain we deliver the experience you’re looking for. . . plus a little more.

We sincerely appreciate your visit as well as the time you’ve taken to share your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘stay here’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    20
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
97
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Third stay. Euro rooms if staying only one night best quality value pn Friday Harbor. Tip: Euro 2 or 3 much better than Euro 1 noise and early sunlight wise. Granola,fruit, coffee and juice provided. Try for a parking coupon...seems pricey for what you pay to stay. Nice friendly service. Hope they maintain quality as they age...still newest on Island. Worth a visit. If you can stay longer go for a Penthouse...well worth the money.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
l8Hello LeeAnnPYEATT,

Thanks so much for swinging by with your friends for a quick visit! We’re flattered to remain one of your favorites and agree that our Euros are a great value smack INN the middle of Friday Harbor. We promise to keep getting better and will be sure to also address window treatments in all of Euros while remaining as excited to welcome you next time as we were the day we opened!

We look forward to your return and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us once more!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Favorites’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Talk about attention to detail and need!! Awesome! The penthouses are beautiful!. They are like condos, and then you notice the little things around the room and like it even more. I stayed in the "Euro" room, 3 rooms that share one living and kitchenette area, way less expensive than the penthouses but really nice!! The staff is friendly and most helpful. Hints: On a hill, have steps, but top penthouse is a climb for those who may not be able to climb. No restaurant on site, but penthouses have kitchens and there is a great little Italian restaurant on the top level next to the Inn. Ohter nice restaurants in walking area (downtown). If you have a car, let them know so they can reserve a spot for you in their garage. Right by the ferry, if you are coming off the ferry, stay right, go around the small circle, the garage and office are on the bottom street level. "Best hotel room I ever been in."-that's what the 10 year old said, and us, too.

Room Tip: Just ask on the phone what they have, it's verry personal, not like a chain, and tell them what...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had signs about towels, etc. Seemed green to me.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello JeffBransford,

Wow – thanks so much for your high marks!

We’re humbled by your kind review, and appreciate your stay as well as the time you’ve taken to share your experience. Your hints are spot on and your room tips are great as well. We particularly like that you found us to be ‘not like a chain’ but, instead, ‘unique and impressive!’ That’s precisely the experience we strive to deliver!

We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Awesome!’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We rented penthouse 3 for three nights in mid July. Yes, there were stairs--but think of it as the Stairway to Heaven! My husband and I stayed with my favorite cousin and her husband. We came from Tucson to bike the islands. We weren't expecting the yummy uber mod decor or the steam shower or the beautiful fruit and granola. I mean how often do you take photos of your hotel room because it's so nifty? The deck and views from each room were exceptional. The hotel provided bike racks and even a pump in the garage. The location was convenient to shops, restaurants, grocery stores. We were able to walk up just a couple steps to First St. and right into the heart of town. We even were lucky enough to meet the owner and her cool little Australian Labradoodle. I did knock the back cushion off the couch (add Velcro?) and my cousin spotted a damaged lampshade and the prices were pretty high, but the fabulous memories were worth every penny!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a penthouse.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bin provided. Choice of reusing towels etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello PAM W,

We really appreciate your stay, your review and you great ‘half full’ outlook! As you’ve noted, every spot we’ve got has lots of stairs but we like to think that they’re totally worth the climb, too.

We’re so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us as well as our style, location and little touches. Rest assured that we immediately replaced the lampshade and are thrilled that you made us part of your fabulous memories. We look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘nifty’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I organized a family outing for a business group. We rented 6 different units (several penthouses and a couple suites). The property has gorgeous views. The rooms are airy, clean and very nice. Penthouse #2 is fabulous - we hosted a dinner in the penthouse with appetizers on the roof deck. The staff was extremely helpful. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello Jennifer H,

We certainly enjoyed hosting you and all of your family/colleagues and sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience with us!

We look forward to welcoming all of you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘highly recommend’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We rented two suites and one penthouse for our wedding last month and had a wonderful experience. All of the rooms were very nice. One suite had a great view, the other had a private patio. The penthouse was exceptional and having a bath and a half came in handy as we got ready for the wedding. We also gathered there for breakfast and at the end of the day.

The staff was great. They went above and beyond to acquaint us with the rooms and their features.

We also enjoyed the location and being able to walk to restaurants and stores.

Highly recommend the paid parking.

We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Penthouse 7 is very large and has an extra half bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello Jane D,

Thanks so much for making us part of your special day and for sharing your experience with us! We’re so happy that you enjoyed our location, Sweet 3, Sweet 5 and Penthouse 7 and that you also made good use of the extra elbow room in the Penthouse!

We can’t wait to welcome you back and promise to serve up the same great service for your next visit!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Great Experience’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed the night of July 10, 2014 in penthouse 6. Super place with all the most modern desires.
One caution: be careful of the steep steps to the rooftop deck, so not advised to share a bottle of wine up there. Great staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello meese2000,

We appreciate your stay and the time you’ve taken to share your experience with us! Good call on the steps to the rooftop decks – they’re more like ship ladders just right for morning coffee and sunrises!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Super place’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island Inn at 123 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn at 123 West

Address: 123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready, set, slow ™Our boutique hotel is the closest to the Ferry and harbor, yet so far away from ordinary.The right pace at the right time; The Island Inn at 123 West is brand spanking new and as green as it gets. Dress us up or dress us down. You'll dig our contemporary style that nods to maritime gone by. Penthouses are fun for families, groups and splurges; Euros are best if you roll with less and Sweets are just like they sound. Make a splash in a floatplane, slip in on the ferry or chart your own course. Get here and go with the slow. Kick things up and paddle a sea kayak with our resident orcas, tool around the island on bicycle, stroll through quaint seaside shops and restaurants or just re_combobulate. For your family: Relatives rejoice; hosting a family reunion at the Island Inn at 123 West is uber easy – we’re goldilocks approved.For your wedding: We vow to: bend over backwards for you and your guests; do our top secret rain dance on your special day; promise not to cry only if you don’t.For your meeting: Ditch distraction and export your executives to the world’s best spot to plan tomorrow’s future.For your piggy bank: We’re a partner of Stash Hotel rewards. That means you’ll earn and redeem points at swanky places like the Island Inn and over 150 locations across the country. Reap while you sleep.Go with a different kind of Friday Harbor Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Island Inn at 123 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Inn At 123 West Hotel Friday Harbor
The Island Inn At 123 West Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Inn at 123 West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.