We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern luxury in the heart of Friday Harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Inn at 123 West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Island Inn at 123 West to your Saves list
The Island Inn at 123 West
123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Modern luxury in the heart of Friday Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were wed in the park just 50 feet from the front door of the Island Inn. The staff was very sweet and tried really hard to make our stay special. And it was. One of the nicest suites I've ever state in (Penthouse 5) was romantic and surprisingly quiet. We loved it. Loved the staff. And had a romantic wedding that we will never forget. The experience far out weighed the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello ChuckandSara,

Congratulations - we’re so happy for you and thrilled that you enjoyed such a memorable experience with us! We sure appreciated being part of your special escape and can’t wait to welcome you back. Anniversaries and Wednesdays are ideal times for a re_turn visit!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Wedding’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    20
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
96
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camano Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Sweet 1 on May 31 2013. The room was convenient to the ferry and all downtown shops and restaurants. The view was great. The room was very stylish. It had a refrigerator, micro wave, coffee, tea hot chocolate, fruit, granola, milk, coffee creamer, and juice. Well stocked. The bed was very comfortable. The couch was low to the ground and my husband with bad knees had a hard time getting up. There was a lot of foot traffic past the windows and door with the room being on the corner. The windows only opened at the very top where you could not get a breeze. The room did have air conditioning though. There is a $15 parking fee. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello sls58,

Thanks very much for visiting us – we’re glad that you enjoyed our style, amenities, and team all INN the heart of Friday Harbor! We look forward to welcoming you back and will be happy to guide you to a more tucked away spot if you’d prefer that for your next experience with us.

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Convenient’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in one of the three "Euro" rooms sharing a sitting area before and after a round-the-island bike ride. We were a little concerned about the lack of an outside window when we booked the room. However, the room was very pleasant with a translucent glass door and transom, so we did not feel "enclosed" at all. The shared area was really nice, with views over the harbor, tables for eating, and sofas and a fire-place for relaxing. The granola and fresh fruit provided were delicious, and the coffee was very good. The inn is decorated with interesting art-work and furniture. The owner and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal - near the ferry terminal and lots of restaurants. I would definitely stay there again if I came back to San Juan Island.

Room Tip: The "Euro" rooms are the best value if you don't mind sharing the sitting and eating a...
See more room tips
Green Features: The inn is definitely trying hard to be as environmentally friendly as possible.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello Ann H,

We’re very happy to hear that our Euros were just right for your bike riding adventure! We appreciate your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Ideal’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcell, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

location, location, location was great, very convenient to the hub of Friday Harbor, we spent our Memorial Day there, and the local parade and ceremony at the park was great, very moving and honored our fallen military in a very special way. a couple of negatives - the living room furnishings were very uncomfortable!!!!! could not enjoy setting and talking with a cup of coffee on the couches, the cushions will fall off and you will tumble backwards with them, no chairs, etc. I know that is a small thing, and you are there to enjoy the outdoors, but again very uncomfortable, there is no place to place your heavy luggage in the bedrooms except on the floor, the stairs can be very very challenging, good cardio workout, but not for anyone that struggles with walking or climbing stairs, the roof top deck is a highlight, but again the stairs to the deck are very steep, we enjoyed our stay there, very quiet, well equiped kitchen, the fruit and drinks were a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello nanax6604,

We really enjoyed hosting your group and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the local Memorial Day parade and ceremony. We’re very sorry for any challenges with our furnishings and are fast at work to make sure that everything is just right for all of our guests.

Most important, we’re glad that you enjoyed your visit, the equipped kitchen and our welcome amenities and look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Location’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I decided last minute to stay here when we decided to ride the ferry to San Juan Island. Since it is just across from the ferry port, it was simple to find. the Staff was very helpful from putting our name on our parking spot to immediately taking our luggage to our rooms. The very unusual amenities were a delight. It is difficult to find a hotel with decent hair supplies and the shower was very interesting.

Having our breakfast right in our room with the provided granola oat mix was very nice. I would only suggest a microwave or a variety of tea in K-cups. There is a Keurig machine in the room with a selection of coffees but for tea, they only had tea bags but no way to heat the water for tea.

The bed was very comfortable and I loved all the pillows. The view from 2 Sweet was wonderful; being able to see the harbor and people watch was fun.

Room Tip: 2 Sweet has a great view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello TinaAdvani,

We sincerely appreciate your visit and are delighted that you enjoyed our team, service, views, amenities, granola and bedding! We’re pleased to announce that we’ve equipped all of our Sweets and Penthouses with electric tea kettles and offer the same to Euro guests INN their view share space.

Clarification: While we don’t feature Keurig machines or K-cups, we proudly serve up our special coffee blend roasted by the San Juan Coffee Roasting Company and offer a variety of Harney and Sons teas.

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Character’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

From the moment Tom called us before we got there until the last cup of coffee the next morning it was a fantastic stay. The view from the window where we could sit and watch the harbor's activity was very relaxing. You thought of everything we might need.

Room Tip: The room we had was great but a person needs to be able to do stairs
See more room tips
Green Features: loved it. The towels were especially interesting. The toiletries was outstanding...The bathroom rain shower and then tub was great after a long day of hiking
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello corinnemurphyhines,

Thanks for dropping INN and for having some fun with our tagline! We can’t wait to welcome you back for another spin off the coast of ordinary!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Ready ∙ Set ∙ Great’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed at 2 other properties on San Juan Island and after staying here, I'm not sure if I could try another. The service is fantastic, the location is perfect and they not only welcomed me by name, but have also continued to remember me. You've got to get the parking because it's worth it and make sure to try all of the lotions and soaps. Oh, the "half full" glasses are quite the conversation piece and worth investing in.

Green Features: The organic shampoo and body wash will revitalize your senses!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Innkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Island Inn at 123 West, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello Jess A,

We’re so glad you found us and are thrilled that you’ve shared your experience! We look forward to each of your visits and will do all that we can to keep you coming back for more!

All the best,

The Island Inn ‘Half Full’ Ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island Inn at 123 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn at 123 West

Address: 123 West St, Check INN on Front Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready, set, slow ™Our boutique hotel is the closest to the Ferry and harbor, yet so far away from ordinary.The right pace at the right time; The Island Inn at 123 West is brand spanking new and as green as it gets. Dress us up or dress us down. You'll dig our contemporary style that nods to maritime gone by. Penthouses are fun for families, groups and splurges; Euros are best if you roll with less and Sweets are just like they sound. Make a splash in a floatplane, slip in on the ferry or chart your own course. Get here and go with the slow. Kick things up and paddle a sea kayak with our resident orcas, tool around the island on bicycle, stroll through quaint seaside shops and restaurants or just re_combobulate. For your family: Relatives rejoice; hosting a family reunion at the Island Inn at 123 West is uber easy – we’re goldilocks approved.For your wedding: We vow to: bend over backwards for you and your guests; do our top secret rain dance on your special day; promise not to cry only if you don’t.For your meeting: Ditch distraction and export your executives to the world’s best spot to plan tomorrow’s future.For your piggy bank: We’re a partner of Stash Hotel rewards. That means you’ll earn and redeem points at swanky places like the Island Inn and over 150 locations across the country. Reap while you sleep.Go with a different kind of Friday Harbor Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Island Inn at 123 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Inn At 123 West Hotel Friday Harbor
The Island Inn At 123 West Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Inn at 123 West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.