We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Perfectly located!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argyle House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Argyle House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
685 Argyle Avenue, PO Box 2685, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Nights for 2 in October
Ranked #6 of 18 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfortable and Perfectly located!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This beautifully maintained bed and breakfast is in walking distant to downtown and to the ferry landing. Our breakfasts were truly gourmet and good references were available for restaurants and attractions. The innkeepers were gracious and well informed and soon will be providing omelets from their own flock.

Room Tip: We chose the Sunflower Room in the main house. Cabins are also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay here. Art and Jennifer went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay and had great advice on the ferry system which we sorely needed. Beautiful old home, very nice room, and the breakfast was really delicious. Also, a short walk to all the action in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimanalo Beach, Hawaii, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed with Art & Jennifer for 3 nights. Our first night we had just returned from 5 days of kayak camping. We were a salty mess. Art was so gracious and welcoming. We loved the breakfasts and how accommodating both Jennifer and Art were with us. We needed an early breakfast for a friend who had an early ferry; and we got something special that we all loved. Jennifer made fresh cookies every day. We just loved the family atmosphere. A big mahalo to Art for getting up early with us on our last morning and taking us to the airport. We really felt well taken care of. The room was lovely and comfortable. The bed and bedding was perfect. We loved the robes which we used when we went to the hot tub. The Argyle House is close to downtown, an easy walk along a nice street.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunflower room and found it perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just returned from staying the weekend at the Argyle House Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Marilee cottage for two nights. The accommodations were warm and inviting and the innkeepers were very pleasant. We loved the privacy of our room and especially enjoyed the use of the outdoor hot tub (particularly after a full day of kayaking). We had breakfast in the main house both mornings and it was wonderful. The spinach quiche was particularly good as well the carrot-cake served on the second day of our stay. I highly recommend the Argyle House for anyone looking for a comfortable get away. It was cozy, cute, friendly, and just what we needed for our relaxing weekend away. On a side-note, the proprietors also were very helpful in coordinating the delivery of a surprise birthday cake to our room for my boyfriend’s 30th birthday. They also gave us driving directions for returning home to assist us in navigating around a recent bridge closure. Excellent customer service!!

Room Tip: The Marilee Cottage was cozy, private, and right next to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Upon arriving on the front porch we were greeted with open arms and welcomed into Jennifer and Art's home. They were incredibly friendly and accommodating to us, our almost two your old daughter, and our golden retriever. We stayed in the Marliee cottage which was not attached to the main house. It was clean and bright and had a wonderful outdoor space to sit and read. The B&B is located within a short walk from "downtown" Friday Harbor and also located close to a park which was great for our daughter's excess energy. Everything was fantastic, even the homemade breakfast!

Room Tip: Marilee cottage great if you need a little more space for kids and/or dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We sapent three nights at Argyle House while exploring the surrounding waters. The room was spacious and the bathroom clean and sparkling. Breakfast was adequate, although not spectacular. The walk to downtown and the ferry was a only ten minutes. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay at the Argyle House on San Juan was perfect. Sunshine. Perfect temperature. Great food. Our thoughtfully appointed room with the scent of lavender, fresh flowers from Jennifer and Art's lovely gardens, their warm hospitality and the freshly picked blackberries for breakfast engaged all our senses in the stay. Argyle House is situated just a few blocks from the center of Friday Harbor and made for easy exploring of the town without having to worry about parking and driving. We are only sorry we didn't stay longer and have a chance to use the hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Argyle House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 685 Argyle Avenue, PO Box 2685, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable accommodations, hospitality, charm, and character are what you will find for you and your family at Argyle House Bed and Breakfast. Our original 1910 Craftsman design home on San Juan Island in Washington is situated on beautiful grounds located just two blocks from downtown Friday Harbor and six blocks from the Washington State Ferry landing. We welcome families of all ages, and your dog. Enjoy our wonderful full breakfast each morning of your stay; we are happy to accommodate any dietary modifications. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Argyle House Bed And Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argyle House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.