We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, close and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argyle House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Argyle House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Argyle House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
685 Argyle Avenue, PO Box 2685, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lulea, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, close and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We sapent three nights at Argyle House while exploring the surrounding waters. The room was spacious and the bathroom clean and sparkling. Breakfast was adequate, although not spectacular. The walk to downtown and the ferry was a only ten minutes. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay at the Argyle House on San Juan was perfect. Sunshine. Perfect temperature. Great food. Our thoughtfully appointed room with the scent of lavender, fresh flowers from Jennifer and Art's lovely gardens, their warm hospitality and the freshly picked blackberries for breakfast engaged all our senses in the stay. Argyle House is situated just a few blocks from the center of Friday Harbor and made for easy exploring of the town without having to worry about parking and driving. We are only sorry we didn't stay longer and have a chance to use the hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We enjoyed a brief stay in Friday Harbour at the Argyle House. We stayed in the Sunflower Room which is at the back of the house - it was clean and very quiet. Breakfast was terrific and we met some other nice folks around the table. The location is a five minute walk from the 'downtown core' of Friday Harbour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

enjoyed staying here for the 3 nites -- met some wonderful folks also staying here-- very nice innkeepers -- worked with us when we had to make a last minute reservation change due to my wifes illness -------------------dog friendly which is also a good thing -- very good breakfasts- a convenient location to downtown friday harbor -- would stay here again

Room Tip: there are 2 separate accommodations right next to the main house -- just a bit more privacy and onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

We live in the dry southwest, and the San Juan islands are GORGEOUSLY green and lush. Friday Harbor was a BLAST. Great food and lots to do like hiking, kayaking and touring the beautiful island.
Argyle Inn was delightfully close to town, very comfortable and clean, with the nicest inkeepers we've met in many years. Yummy breakfast, games and fun things to do. WE'LL BE BAAAAAACK!
Five stars!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here during our trip to the San Juans. The owners are very friendly. Rooms are very comfortable and the location is great. Very convenient to the ferry. Breakfast was also incredible every morning. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: They only have 3, and they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyleHouseBB, Owner at Argyle House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for your kind review! To clarify your room tip, however, we have 5 rooms available: 3 rooms in the upstairs of our main house, and two cottages in the back. We've updated our TripAdvisor listing to reflect this, and hope it will be more clear for other potential guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Sun Flower room - it was very comfortable, within easy walking distance to all restaurants in Friday Harbor. The bathrooms were stocked with the local Lavender Farm shampoos and soaps - which smelled wonderful. The breakfasts were gourmet with local fruit. It was the perfect place to spend a nice weekend.

Room Tip: The sunflower room was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argyle House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 685 Argyle Avenue, PO Box 2685, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable accommodations, hospitality, charm, and character are what you will find for you and your family at Argyle House Bed and Breakfast. Our original 1910 Craftsman design home on San Juan Island in Washington is situated on beautiful grounds located just two blocks from downtown Friday Harbor and six blocks from the Washington State Ferry landing. We welcome families of all ages, and your dog. Enjoy our wonderful full breakfast each morning of your stay; we are happy to accommodate any dietary modifications. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Argyle House Bed And Breakfast Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argyle House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.