We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canvas Cabins are a treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes to your Saves list
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
4313 Roche Harbor Road, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Canvas Cabins are a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I brought a group to kayak around San Juan Island. The Canvas Cabins were a great way to get in the mood for our adventure. The cabins are clean and comfortable with a fire ring and patio-type chairs outside the entryway; and a plush bed, couch and dining table set inside. We purchased firewood at the camp store to make smores. We sipped wine by the fire as the moon rose above the lake. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was better than most hotel continental breakfasts. The resort was quiet. We used the resort for our night before our kayak-camping trip, and for our first night back from our adventure. The Canvas Cabins made for a great transition into real camping and back into "civilization". I'll be bringing another group back in the future. The guests, including pre-teens, loved this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    66
    33
    21
    6
See reviews for
114
82
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We camped on one of the sites by the lake which was awesome. They had boat rentals for a decent price. Toilets were not super neat but much better than what you'd find in a state park. The coin-operated showers were good enough for a warm bath.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupont, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Lakedale exceeded all of my expectations and provided us with an amazing family vacation. I chose Lakedale because my huband enjoys more of a rustic setting with camping, fishing, canoeing, etc. I am more of a Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton girl myself, but he just returned from Iraq, so I picked a place more to his liking. Lakedale provided us both with what we were looking for. We stayed in a cabin - more than enough space for us with our 3 year old. It was very peaceful and comfortable. The muffin, scone and pancake mix provided was a nice touch. We really enjoyed the fire pit behind the cabin. Although there are no TV channels, there is a TV with DVD player - this was a big help for our daughter! The activities tent had tie-dying one day - I thought I was in summer camp. We looked at a Lodge room while we were there - very comfortable rooms with a beautiful view. We also looked at a canvas tent - "glamping". If we go back, I will definitely include a night or 2 in a canvas tent. These tents were amazing! Basically a lodge room in a tent. There was a mess tent where breakfast was provided and clean showers a short walk away. Overall, Lakedale has something for everyone. I was so glad we decided to stay here as opposed to Friday Harbor or Roche Harbor. Both FH and RH were only a short drive away, but Lakedale give you the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I had the privilege of enjoying Lakedale's resort with a treasured friend. Everything was first class, from the the tent cabin with a bed, to the amazing staff. The setting is breath taking! Next time I visit, I am going to visit longer with Pam in the General Store and eat more of the complimentary breakfast so I can talk to Stacie longer. Thanks so much for everything!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I return to Lakedale nearly every year just to soak up the leisurely and lush Northwest atmosphere. Staff are friendly and accomodating always! I've stayed in the Lodge, the Lakehouse and the two bedroom cabin. Each one is impeccable in cleanliness, cozy and luxurious ambiance with a very 'nature' friendly feel! I have taken family and friends and they all love Lakedale!! It's also a very romantic place for two!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We spent Friday and Saturday in one of the Airstreams at Lakedale. It was my dream vacation. It was supposed to be a memorable event, and it will be for me, but not in a good way. I had never been in an Airstream before, but wanted to mark this occasion as memorable. We didn't have hot water and the bathroom floor/carpet was wet and smelled the two days we were there. We determined that flushing the toilet made it more wet so we used the honey buckets (some distance away) after the first day. This was not exactly what I was expecting for over $200/day. My partner didin't complain and we've been through a lot in 25 years, but this was a disappointing experience that cost quite a bit of money. I would not stay here again. Not at the current price for this service.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Lakes, Guest Relations Manager at Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, responded to this review, June 6, 2010
We sincerely apologize for an experience that did not exceed your expectations.

Partnering with Silver Cottages to add two great Vintage Airstreams to our accommodations mix has been plenty of fun for us and our guests. Considering the unique and unconventional nature of this lodging option, we are happy to provide a complete orientation to guests upon their arrival as well as personal support anytime throughout their stay.

We have also compiled a neat “in room” guide which prepares guests for a vintage travel trailer adventure and identifies feats you probably shouldn’t attempt in an RV! Finally, and perhaps most important, we are happy to provide full use of and complimentary shower tokens for our heated and remodeled bath house to all Airstreamers should they require a bit more elbow (and head) room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband, mom, and brother rented Cabin # 4 which had a master downstairs and twin beds upstairs. My mother called it 'second to heaven' and didn't want to leave! The area is away from Friday harbor about 4 miles; it's quiet, comfortable, and gorgeous! We rented a car and i would recommend it if you come to the islands and stay away from Friday Harbor. I also recommend Island Bicylcles in town. My husband and I cycled 20 miles (10 out and back) from Friday Harbor to Lime Kiln State Park. Amazing scenery with tough hills for us Florida folks! Overall, great trip and I'm already looking to get a group together to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Address: 4313 Roche Harbor Road, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 82-acres, with three spring water lakes, Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes is an ideal San Juan Island getaway. Easily accessible by ferry or floatplane from Seattle, Lakedale Resort is nestled between Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor on San Juan Island, Washington. It’s a one-of-a-kind experience and a breath of fresh air – literally.Lakedale Resort features a variety of accommodation options, including a 10-room lodge, real log cabins, canvas cabins for a fabulous glamping experience, and camping. Lakedale Resort near Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor is also a great destination for teambuilding, meetings, and retreats, providing you with an inspirational setting to achieve your goals. Your group will enjoy the many activities that Lakedale has to offer including swimming, fishing, and canoeing on one of our three lakes. Or imagine taking over the lodge for your wedding and having your ceremony overlooking Fish Hook Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Hotel Friday Harbor
Lakedale Resort At 3 Lakes
Lakedale Hotel San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.