We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Save Saved
You added Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
4313 Roche Harbor Road, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Friday Harbor
Camas, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We just returned from a week stay at Lakedale. We stayed in the lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was very quiet and relaxing. The breakfasts were wonderful. The kitchen staff couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating. It almost seemed like we were the only ones there, but all the rooms were full! We will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    60
    33
    21
    6
See reviews for
108
77
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The lovely rustic lodge is in an extraordinary setting, but the second and third day, we were not given fresh towels, crumbs were on the coffee table, and the hamper was not emptied. When we arrived there was clothing from the prior guest in a cupboard. From other guests in the lodge we heard that they too did not have fresh towels. Also eard two people complaining at breakfast that tv's were older and did not work with DVD's. We didn't try ours.

There was no armoire or dresser so had to live out of a suitcase for five days.

This is potentially a GREAT place to stay, so I hope they get these issues resolved.

The breakfast was a class act- scrambled eggs with spinach and mushroom, delicious granola, interesting breads, and nice fresh fruit salad. Robust coffee finished it off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Lakes, General Manager at Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello Kathrynofvancover,

Thank you for your comments ! We checked our records and they show that you had your do not disturb sign out during your stay. We left a note at your door asking you to call the front desk when you needed to have the room refreshed. We’re sorry we were not able to complete these tasks and will make sure on your next visit that we find out exactly when / how you would like us to clean your room. New TV's are scheduled for arrival in 2014 ! Its yet another example of the continuous improvements that Lakedale is making based on guest feedback ! We hope to see you again soon and appreciate your comments and suggestions.

Sincerely, Karl Bruno, GM , Lakedale Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Lakedale. We stayed in one of the cabins and felt the space was perfect for a group of 4. The fireplace and proximity to the lake were great! There are many activities available on and around the property -- we went for a run and also did a little trout fishing. We also really appreciated the excellent customer service. We definitely recommend Lakedale and will back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon for two nights. We really enjoyed it. We got to the island with our car on the ferry. It was a very nice drive out to Lakedale. It was very quiet and there weren't a lot of people staying at the lodge, probably because it was the middle of winter. We stayed in the lodge and it was a wonderful room. Our one disappointment was the "jetted tub". This was mostly our fault because we assumed that meant a hot tub/jacuzzi and should have asked before booking.

Our room overlooked the lake as did the breakfast area. The breakfast was delicious, I have never had such good Greek yogurt before. We booked a package that included chocolates and champagne which was really nice, although the box of chocolates was tiny and I was expecting a little more.

All in all, a very pleasant stay. We would love to come back sometime, perhaps in the fall after tourist season but while it's still summer.

Room Tip: We had a top floor with a deck overlooking the lake. It was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Lakedale 2 nights and were very impressed! We opted to take our own tents and equipment - and we were rewarded with a beautiful, spacious campsite nestled among the trees lakeside with our very own dock. It was beautiful, and being so spacious we didn't feel like we were living cheek to jowl with our neighbouring campers. Lakedale is clean and well appointed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Firewood can be ordered at the general store, and it is delivered to the campsite by a cheery staff member in a golf cart. We especially liked Christian - one of the employees who was very friendly and especially diplomatic when he had to come to our site one night and ever so tactfully ask us to keep our chatter and laughter down! We were not the least offended or upset by his manner, and we commend Lakedale for employing him! Campers can opt for the "glamping" option - a choice of an Airstream, cabin-tents or a room in the lodge, there's something for everyone at Lakedale.

Room Tip: Think about what you want - trees, seclusion, water views, open fields, low cost, close to shower bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time to the San Juan's. We wanted to try "Glamping" out for the first time as well. The pictures online of the canvas tents on the freshwater lake looked inviting. Lakedale didn't disappoint. They had everything we needed ready to go for us when we arrived, including a stack of fire wood, matches, s'more makings (for a fee), a battry lantern, flashlight, battery operated candles (for mood lighting), and to top it off they dropped off hot water bottles to put in the bed to make it cozy for all. My wife and I enjoyed the queen size bed and our daughter slept great on futon. The regular campsites looked VERY inviting back in the woods. The lodge was clean and there wasnpleanty of activities for all. We appreciated being more central on the island as we had easier access to both sides. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is one of the best lodging values on the island. The Campsites are well maintained, and offer a good range of site types from wooded semi-private (depending on your choice), to wide open grassy field sites right on the lakeshore!

The friendly island staff make Lakedale a real special place - mostyl college students they are eager to provide a wide range of fun and exciting acitivities. They are always smiling even when busy, and maintenance staff are always smiling and waving when they pass by your campsite.

We did a couple of activities, from making tie dye t-shirts, to renting a boat and fishing in the "trout" lake. The lakes are well stocked, and anglers have their choice of either bass or trout fishing in well stocked lakes. The license is only $5 per person which is valid for the whole time you are there... so dont sweat if you dont have your annual freshwater license...

The games were an added bonus, from giant chess pieces, to ping-pong to beach vollyball. The beach is a little small, but the water is warm and clean.. great for floating around in an air mattress..

The campsites are also a great launching point for cycling or driving to other parts of the island. In all, I was plesantly surprised.. we took advantage of the mid-week offer, which allowed us one free acitvity, and a free bundle of firewood..

I highly recommend that if you go to San Juan Island, this is the place to camp... make sure you allow at least one-day to stay "at the campsite" just to take in all the fun stuff that Lakedale has to offer.

Room Tip: The shady campsites can be a little chilly, but offer great privacy and are great for tenting. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Address: 4313 Roche Harbor Road, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 82-acres, with three spring water lakes, Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes is an ideal San Juan Island getaway. Easily accessible by ferry or floatplane from Seattle, Lakedale Resort is nestled between Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor on San Juan Island, Washington. It’s a one-of-a-kind experience and a breath of fresh air – literally.Lakedale Resort features a variety of accommodation options, including a 10-room lodge, real log cabins, canvas cabins for a fabulous glamping experience, and camping. Lakedale Resort near Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor is also a great destination for teambuilding, meetings, and retreats, providing you with an inspirational setting to achieve your goals. Your group will enjoy the many activities that Lakedale has to offer including swimming, fishing, and canoeing on one of our three lakes. Or imagine taking over the lodge for your wedding and having your ceremony overlooking Fish Hook Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Hotel Friday Harbor
Lakedale Resort At 3 Lakes
Lakedale Hotel San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.