We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping not worth the Money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Save Saved
You added Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes
4313 Roche Harbor Road, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Camping not worth the Money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We rented a Lakeside camp site for $52 a night and was very unsatisfied when we got to the site to see where we would be pitching the tent. This site had no grass and was just half inch thick dust - dry soil type! This was a pain with 2 young kids. We went back to reception to ask if we could move to a different site but was told nothing was available that wasn't in a similar condition.
We also found the previous tenants hadn't bothered to pick up a lots of dog poop that had obviously accumulated over time.
We ended up staying for 2 nights and even that was too much. We couldn't wait to get out of there.
The bathrooms were dirty and inadequate for the number of people who stay there. They charge $2 for 5 minuted and you have to purchase tokens from the general store.
The general store is very expensive with a very limited choice of items for purchase.
The boat rentals are very expensive and the boats are in poor condition.
No Wi-Fi or cell service at the site!!!
Expensive firewood service.
We woke up on the second morning to find they had coated the site roads with a foul smelling substance that sticks to your car when you drive over it. Apparently, the substance is sprayed on the roads to keep the dust down? I went to the general store to enquire what was this stuff they had put on the roads without telling anyone what to expect. The young kid told me "it's only sap, it will wash off easily." When we got home, we found out it doesn't wash off easily. Actually the foul smell is still evident and we had to leave the vehicle outside the garage.
I honestly can't believe this place is so popular!
If you're going to stay here, I would go and check out the place first if that's feasible. It may not be what you're expecting!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Lakes, General Manager at Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Mario PP,

Thank you for staying at Lakedale campground ! We appreciate your comments and will review them with our team as were always making improvements based on guest feedback. The product we use on the roads is absolutely harmless. It is biodegradable, environmentally safe and washes off ANYTHING easily with soap and water. This is one of the amazing improvements we have made to make everyone’s stay dust free ! We hope that you will try us again in the future so we can prove to you that there are many reasons why Lakedale Resort is so popular!
Sincerely,
Karl Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    64
    34
    21
    6
See reviews for
112
80
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pender Island, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

When split between five people, the expensive campsite fee becomes manageable - although a bit crammed with three tents between five cyclists. We didn't mind, but if you're travelling alone or in a smaller group, search for accommodations elsewhere! Watch for costly showers and firewood - but enjoy the complimentary S'mores package, we sure did!

The location is prime - halfway between Friday and Roche Harbours, it was a short bike ride to either of the two marinas, which were worth checking out.

The service was excellent, with firewood delivered to campsite via golf cart. We rented a fishing rod, which ended up with the line snagged in a tree.. We had to break the line to get it out, but not to worry! A very kind employee brought more hooks for us to tie on, and another rod for us to use for the rest of the evening. What a guy! We were definitely impressed.

To put a very sour note on the ending of our trip, the camp road had been tarred the morning of our departure. We didn't realize the damage it had done until we hit the main road, but needless to say wet tar and bicycles, shoes and/or clothing do NOT mix! We encountered another gentleman who had the same problem, and had had his very expensive shoes RUINED by the wet tar. We had a pair of shorts sprayed, a rain jacket, two pairs of shoes, and all of our bikes coated with the stuff. P.S. - it stains, I have yet to get the mark off of my canvas shoes. If you have to tar a high traffic dirt road, why not do it at 12AM, when no one is going to suffer from it? Morning isn't the greatest time...

Friendly family resort, lots of bikers (motor) and drive-in campers. Not ideal, but there were a few pluses as aforementioned. Be careful not to destroy your personal belongings on their terribly timed tarred roads!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Lakes, General Manager at Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Keenan N !

We so appreciate you choosing Lakedale Resort and Thanks for all the kind words about our staff !
All of your comments will be taken into consideration as were always trying to improve our resort. The "tar" that you are referring to is a completely environmentally safe, biodegradable product that washes off ANTHING with soap and water. We hope that you will find that you can remove any related residue easily. Again we thank you for choosing Lakedale Resort and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Karl Bruno
GM Lakedale Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have been taking trips of friends to Lakedale for well over a decade and we always look forward to our stay there. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, the facilities are clean and well maintained, and it's a great location; right between Friday and Roche Harbors.

They also have a lot of stay options. You can camp, stay in a canvas cabin or a log cabin, or stay in their beautiful lodge. I would highly recommend Lakedale if you're looking for a place to stay on San Juan Island. I plan to enjoy it for many years to come!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
457 helpful votes 457 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The website looked lovely and we understood that things would be a little more pricey.... But for $48 plus tax a night we expected a decent campsite.

Check in was ok- bit surprised that had to pay $2 for a 5 minute shower but bought tokens anyway.

Got to site- was ok- paid for a lakeside sight- could see the lake through the vegetation.same as any primitive camp site, no electricity or water at site- just picnic table. We never found the water. You park on grass.

Went to use restrooms and of the 3- one was completely blocked and they were not clean. Showers were not great especially when they charge extra for them. The men's were dirty & disgustung too and we didn't use them. I think the problem is partly that there are insufficient facilities for the large number of people staying.

There's also no wifi anywhere except the shop/ lodge and not at the site.

Felt disgusted by the dirty facilities so reported back to reception. Spoke to someone the supervisor who claimed to be called Nicole- that might be a fake name. Just laughed at our complaint and said she was sorry we felt like that but had to cancel 48 hours in advance. So we could leave but no refund.She didn't seem to think it was an issue.She was very rude and also claimed we couldn't have a manager's phone number as they don't have phones. She had no idea when the manager would be in and there was no one higher in the entire resort above her. She did at least refund the shower tokens as I would have felt cleaner before taking a shower!

So we went to the lodge reception and spoke to a polite male supervisor who tried to resolve by moving us- but they were full- then gave us a refund. He was a good representative of the company unlike 'Nicole' and the most positive aspect of our stay.

We were glad to leave and can not recommend. So far its the first campsite in 7 weeks we have had to leave. It is exceptionally bad value to tent camp- maybe the cabins are nicer- but our experience at Lakedale spoilt our time on San Juan.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3Lakes, General Manager at Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Pippag,

Thank you for attempting to stay at Lakedale. We appreciate your comments and have reviewed them with our team. Our frequent repeat guests have told us that they do not want to see Wi-FI and cell service on the property rather they want Lakedale to be a place where they connect with each other ! Perhaps you might try our awesome Lodge where you can still enjoy Lakedale and be connected ? We do hope that you will give us an opportunity in the future so that we can prove to you that Lakedale Resort is a great place to enjoy !

Sincerely
Karl Bruno
GM Lakedale Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

While we typically use a tent when we camp, my wife prefers a few more comforts and conveniences. I owed her one after "roughing it" our past few times out. We knew we wanted to stay on San Juan Island because of everything it offers - great beaches where the kids often see a fox or two, whale watching, wine tasting, some history at American and British camps, a bit of shopping in Friday or Roche Harbors, etc. In our search, we came across Lakedale Resort on Tripadvisor. We saw the canvas cabin option on Lakedale's website. Based on reviews and the pictures provided, we gave it a try.

Not only were we not disappointed, we were very pleasantly surprised at what a great experience it was. It was really clean, really comfortable, and really relaxing. There was our own fire pit outside and our own picnic table. My wife loved the "toasty toes" service. Each night the staff brought us hot water bottles for our feet. It's not that it was freezing outside. It was just a really nice way to drift off to sleep after a day of play. There were also showers and bathrooms just a short walk away. You get tokens for a 5 minute shower which was nice. We loved the Mess Tent which served breakfast to the canvas campers each morning. There were pancakes, oatmeal, coffee, hardboiled eggs, cold cereal, muffins, juice . . . It was a really nice selection for those that didn't want to mess with cooking breakfast.

We also enjoyed renting paddle boats, row bows and canoes on the lakes. The fishing was great. The lakes are stocked with some nice trout.

Last but not least, the staff was awesome. Everyone we came across were genuinely friendly. They were so polite and very helpful. It was clear that it was important to them that our stay was as good as it could be.

I would highly recommend "glamping" in one of Lakedale's canvas cabins. It was a wonderful experience that my family is already planning for next summer.

Room Tip: We chose a lakeside canvas cabin. It provided a peekaboo view of the lake and nice access for fishi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went to San Juan Island primarily to relax. The Lakedale Resort Lodge did not disappoint. We stayed in the Lodge which is for adults only. The age 16 and over rule was helpful for those of us seeking quiet time. The lake was just outside the back deck of the Lodge so our room double doors opened up to a beautiful lake scene. Very romantic and peaceful. The staff were friendly and accommodating eager to give travel advice, make a dinner reservation etc. We took full advantage of the breakfast provided which was excellent. We will make this Lodge our first choice for accommodations on San Juan Island which we loved as well. We especially loved the zip line tours, sea kayaking out of Roche harbor and Lime Kiln State Park.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and four girls (12, 11, 8, and almost a year) stayed at Lakedale at the end of July. We rented a canvas cabin and I have to say nothing beats sleeping in a real bed every night while camping. And with three small children, having breakfast provided was so convenient. No having to wake up and make a fire or start the stove to brew some coffee. We just walked a short distance for some fresh fruit, oatmeal, and fresh coffee. The staff were so nice and helpful. My daughters loved swimming, tie-dying t-shirts, boating, and doing the crafts set up for the kids. Not having water at our campsite was a little inconvenient but we adapted. And with only one bathroom, there were times it was really busy so we just took showers during off-times. We really enjoyed our relaxing three nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes

Address: 4313 Roche Harbor Road, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 82-acres, with three spring water lakes, Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes is an ideal San Juan Island getaway. Easily accessible by ferry or floatplane from Seattle, Lakedale Resort is nestled between Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor on San Juan Island, Washington. It’s a one-of-a-kind experience and a breath of fresh air – literally.Lakedale Resort features a variety of accommodation options, including a 10-room lodge, real log cabins, canvas cabins for a fabulous glamping experience, and camping. Lakedale Resort near Roche Harbor and Friday Harbor is also a great destination for teambuilding, meetings, and retreats, providing you with an inspirational setting to achieve your goals. Your group will enjoy the many activities that Lakedale has to offer including swimming, fishing, and canoeing on one of our three lakes. Or imagine taking over the lodge for your wedding and having your ceremony overlooking Fish Hook Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakedale Resort At 3 Lakes
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Hotel Friday Harbor
Lakedale Hotel San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort San Juan Island
Lakedale Resort At Three Lakes Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.