We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great host experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

Save Saved
You added Snug Harbor Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
1997 Mitchell Bay Rd., San Juan Island, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Rooms
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Friday Harbor
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great host experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in one of the new 2 bedroom Panabode cabins. The cabin was beautiful inside. We loved the gas stove in the living room. The view was lovely, and we appreciated the peace and quiet. The manager was very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope you enjoyed your trip to the San Juan Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    23
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
45
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silverdale, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our family stayed in one of the beautiful new Panabode cabins with a wonderful view of Mitchell Bay. We could look out the window and see eagles, otters, seals, and migratory birds. The manager was very friendly and helpful and let us know that there were canoes and kayaks for us to use as long as we stayed in the protected waters of the bay. The resort also arranged a guided kayak tour for us with Crystal Seas Kayaking which took us out for a spectacular 3 hour paddle that was a highlight of our trip. Snug Harbor is very close to both English Camp and Lime Kiln State Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Eric, I think you get the reward for the furthest distance travelled. Thank you for staying with us and describing for others the amazing beauty of the San Juans. We hope you can make it back someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My parents, boyfriend and I rented a 2 bedroom cabin at Snug Harbor Resort at the end of the winter season The staff was very friendly, sent information via email and gave a courtesy phone call when the room was ready and where to find the cabin. The cabin had an excellent view of the water, quiet and peaceful, and had everything we needed. There were 3 fire pits available for use as well as canoes and kayaks (free of charge) for guests to use. I would definitely recommend Snug Harbor Resort to anyone looking for a place to stay while in Friday Harbor. It looks like it would be awesome for family reunions.New cabins are being built at this time and look great.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a great view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Kim, Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so glad you had a great time with us. Its not to far to travel from Tacoma for a return visit so we hope to see you soon. Winter of 2013-2014 we will be rebuilding our office/store structure and will have a large room to host groups for events. Then we will really be a great place to have family reunions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in one of their cabins along the water. The area is beautiful and all cabins have views of the water which is really nice. The pros are that it sleeps four people comfortably and is good for families. The staff was very nice and helpful and it is in a beautiful setting. The cons are that the kitchen in the cabin was very poorly stocked. For example not a single pan for the oven, so no way to use it. The second is it sleeps four people but there are only three chairs at the table (both inside and outside). Second the heating doesn't work so they use space heaters. They take a while to work and not great for kids (but they did get the place plenty warm).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry for the shortcomings you experienced. There are supposed to be four chairs in the units for the dinning table. We keep three positioned at the table and a fourth in the hall or living room area. The pans for the oven are kept in the drawer below the oven. We will be make sure these items are replaced and appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention. I apologize we did not resolve these issues for you at the time of your stay. We hope you will come back to visit us in the future and experience our new cabins waterfront cabins which will be constructed fall of 2013. Thank you again for helping us make Snug Harbor Resort the best possible experience for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

When you are reluctant to leave when it is time to check out, you know that your stay was perfect!

Snug Harbor resort is located about 30 minutes from the Friday Harbor ferry dock on the west side of San Juan Island in Mitchell Bay. There are a dozen or so cabins situated right on Mitchell Bay. The resort was fairly easy with the signage on the road.

After parking and admiring the nice view of the bay, we headed to the office to check in. We were greeted by the manager Ken who spent time explaining the area to us and about his time on the island. We felt at home already. He gave us the keys and provided us with some general information and his contact information in case we needed anything. Talk about above and beyond!

My husband and I stayed in the *new* two-bedroom panabode cabin (we would have gone for the one bedroom if we weren't so last minute in our planning). The newer panabode cabins are located slightly above the harbor and offer expansive views of the bay. The grounds of the resort and all around are cabin were very clean. There is a deck off of the two bedroom cabins that is covered with seating and a grill. The main living area of the cabin offers a seating area with a gas fireplace, tv and ipod stereo, a dining area and a stocked kitchen (cooked several meals without having to compromise cooking tools/vessels). The cabin was super clean, no dust or grime anywhere. My clean-freak husband checked. The bedrooms are split on each side of the cabin with a bathroom in the hallway to separate them. One of the bedrooms has a queen bed and the other has two twins. The bedding and mattresses were comfortable and there was more than enough room to store our belongings. The bathroom was nice with glass enclosed walk in shower. The bedrooms and living area have separate heating sources which I thought was nice touch. The view outside from the living area was beautiful and can be controlled by shades if you are seeking a little privacy.

Friday Harbor is a nice place to visit and I cannot wait to experience this resort in the summer for a longer period of time. Many thanks to Ken and all of the staff that keep the resort running. It is a true gem.

Room Tip: Cabin 10 is one of the newer cabins, and offers a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased we were able to meet your expectations in so many ways and hopefully exceed them in others. Our rejuvenation of the resort is ongoing. There will be three more new cabins available for the summer of 2013 with all of the waterfront cabins being replaced over the winter of 2013-2014. We hope Snug Harbor Resort will become your San Juan Island escape for years to come. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainier, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The property is being renovated but the stay in a small cabin was very relaxing. We did not want to leave the tranquil setting. It is within 30 minutes of Friday Harbor. Manager and other employees were very helpful and friendly. Only complaint was there was no remote control for TV.

Room Tip: You can easily miss the road. Do not follow the curve to left. Go straight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Manager at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your response. We are glad that you had a great and relaxing stay here at the resort.
We try our best to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one. I send my apologies, about the missing remote control in your unit. I have added this to the housekeeping checklist, so it will not be overlooked again.
Thank You, Ken Christensen Manager of Snug Harbor Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you are looking for an Amazing place to stay where the staff is attentive and accommodating, this is it!! The manager's name is Ken and he was a pleasant and full of information. It was our first trip to the island and he told us where the must see places were and informed us of the whales the morning we headed out to find adventure. We not only got to see the whales without getting on a boat but we were fortunate enough to view sea lions from five feet away. A-mazing!!! The cabin we stayed in was perfect!! The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes and cooking utensils, clean and ready to use. Right outside of our cabin window was the harbor and views of beautiful sailboats. To our left was the ocean and again, the view was breath taking. I suggest this resort to any other, as I researched many before leaving the mainland. The rates, the staff and the accommodations are well worth every cent I spent!!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for one to two people staying then pick one of the Panabode cabins. If you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnugHarborOwner, Manager at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Coreen,
Thank you for the kind words and wonderful comments. Our goal here at Snug Harbor Resort is to treat every guest as family and to make sure your stay here is as pleasant as possible. We are glad you had a great time while you were here at the resort. We hope that you will share your experience with your friends and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Ken Christensen, Manager at Snug Harbor Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Snug Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

Address: 1997 Mitchell Bay Rd., San Juan Island, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Resort is entering a new era for 2014. We have completed all 16 of our amazing new cabins. We also have a new lobby, gift shop, coffee shop and an events room with seating for 60 right on the waters edge. We offer deluxe one and two bedroom cabins with full kitchens, sumptuous interiors, fireplaces, flat screen tv's, and private decks. Your hardest decision might be which one to stay in. They are each unique in their own special way and unparalleled on San Juan Island We are located on the West side of San Juan Island on peaceful Mitchell Bay. Our 5 acre property has over 600' of beach and our own private marina. Guests enjoy our beach side fire pits, barbecues and the complimentary use of our two canoes, kayaks, stand up paddle boards or bikes. Whale watching and sea kayaking tours leave daily from our docks, just steps from your front door. When you come to Snug Harbor be ready to detach a little. While we have Wi-Fi and cell phone service throughout the resort, there are no phones in our cabins. Our coffee shop, Mitchell Bay Coffee, operates daily during the summer offering a full array of coffee drinks, fresh waffles, Rain City Granola, Umpqua Oats, soup, pastries and freshly baked cookies. Whether you come by car or boat, your time at Snug Harbor Resort will truly be an exceptional experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Snug Harbor Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel Friday Harbor
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.