We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friday Harbor House

Save Saved
You added Friday Harbor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
130 West Street, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Friday Harbor
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Went with my girlfriend of 4 years to this vacation spot and it was amazing! Great view with nearby restaurants and bars that were very entertaining with GOOD food!! The staff were very nice, the only thing that was lacking was the breakfast, but was still pretty good. I highly recommend this place for a romantic getaway. It will impressive your significant other for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    76
    17
    18
    2
See reviews for
26
199
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed there Saturday night on a return trip to the island- again very friendly staff , beautiful room overlooking the harbor, love the tub in the center of the room so you can enjoy the view while relaxing with a glass of wine, very comfortable bed as well. This is the 2nd time I have stayed and it is the only place I will stay, the complimentary breakfast in the morning with homeade breads is the icing on the cake

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We used to do a lot of boating in Friday Harbor but now we're land locked. We stayed the evening of Valentines day and the management and staff took really good care of us going the extra mile accommodating our needs. We'll be back until we start boating again!

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are worth the money and try to stay on the top floor to minimize overhead noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We love happy customers!! Thank you for the rave review of Friday Harbor House. Valentine's Day is always a full house here and The Bluff Restaurant offered an amazing six course dinner for two. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Friday Harbor House is Fabulous! Perched just above the Harbor, it is the ideal location! You can watch the Ferries arrive and depart! The rooms have a fireplace and a beautifully designed jacuzzi tub which allows you to view the harbor while relaxing in the tub!!! At check in, Victoria will be sure to take care that everything is up to the highest standards for you, the guest!!! She too is fabulous! The breakfast is delightful, again, with a stunning view of the harbor!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with the Harbor View!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It was a pleasure having you as our guest at Friday Harbor House and thank you for the wonderful review. It's great to see our front desk agent Victoria mentioned! All our staff strive to make each guest's experience a special one. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Checked in and was told we were being given a special discounted price! Sounded great!
Then we figured out why. Two flights of stairs up to the room with our luggage and stairway was
through back kitchen entrance with smelly garbage sitting around.. not so great.
Room and bath were ok but because there is no A/C for the inn, we needed to leave the windows open. There was lots of loud talking outside our room at night from people coming and going from a small public park across from the hotel and kitchen noise etc. I was asked how we enjoyed the stay when checking out and I mentioned the not so great things about the room and was advised we should book a better room next time..yeah right.. I received an email from manager later offering to discount our room if we come back for another stay but no compensation for this experience..

Room Tip: Don't get the room above the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your stay with us was over 4 months ago and we have since renovated this room to meet all the standards of our guests. Our current surveys on this room are very positive due to the changes. I sent you a message back in September apologizing for your experience with your room and offering to have you back completely complementary as well as an upgrade. Often when guests book at the last minute, our options are limited. Of course, we cannot control the outside noise except to say that you had a very rare experience at Friday Harbor House. If you contact me by telephone at the property, I would be happy to discuss other options of compensation for you. Our first priority is always to assure our guests a first class experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a partial view room that was very generous w its view. The only negative, the room was very cold when we checked in. Once we figured out the heater, no problems. Room was large w nice corner patio windows/doors which gave a nice view of the nearby marina. The mattress could have been better - minor point. The breakfasts were adequate w friendly staff. Dinner at The Bluff restaurant was very good w good service and nice food presentation made for a nice meal. Parking was not a problem (Oct). Good proximity to everything in downtown Friday Harbor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to visit TripAvdisor and review Friday Harbor House. I wanted to mention that we are making changes to our continental breakfast and adding some additional items to enhance the experience. We can't wait for you to return and let us know how we did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband booked this property with a "spa package" for my birthday weekend. When we arrived, we were a little concerned about the separate buildings for rooms, reception and dining, but we carried on. The gentleman that checked us in was very nice, and gave us our massage voucher for an external massage service. We had asked for the 10:30 am appointment, but our voucher said 11:30 am. We thought that perhaps we had been mistaken, so we just accepted the change. When we got to our room, it smelled of stale smoke as if someone had smoked in it recently. We tried to open the patio slider, but the handle was broken off and the floor lock was next to impossible to disengage. We finally got it open to get air in the room. We noticed that the only heat adjustment involved crawling behind a chair to an electric wall heater that had the controls six inches from the floor. Inconvenient, but doable. Then we started looking around and saw the wear and tear in this room including broken drywall on the corners, buckling/folds in the thin carpeting, over painting, and incomplete caulking. The decor was "minimalist" with one medium painting over a counter area and a tiny framed picture in the corner. It seemed a little like a forgotten roadside motel, than a high priced harborside resort. The next day we got up and got ready for breakfast. We went down to be greeted by stale english muffins, rubbery bagels, cereal, yogurt, and bread pudding. It was not as we read in other reviews. We walked to the spa for our massage to find the proprietor calling the hotel looking for us as we were an hour late. Our appointment WAS at 10:30 but the voucher provided by the hotel was listed for 11:30. We were embarrassed as the staff was all standing around seemingly waiting on us with no other clients. Luckily, they were willing to take us anyway. When we went back to our room afterward for our "wellness plate" it was not there. It arrived several hours later when we were out and was a whole fruit and a few dried fruits with nuts. Strange and hardly worth the package price. Overall, after this long rant, this property is not worth it. Although the people were polite, the attention to detail was apparently lacking in both paperwork and property upkeep. There are many other spa/resort properties on the island that will get our business long before we come here again.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay here anyway, ask for harbor view. Try to get the third floor, because we were aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday1946, General Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
It was good speaking to you about your experience at Friday Harbor House. I'm so glad we connected and went over the details of your stay. We strive to accommodate our all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered. We are currently taking steps to remedy the in-room issues you mentioned. I am pleased you’ve decided to return and experience the level of service which we pride ourselves in. Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Address: 130 West Street, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House rests on a bluff overlooking Friday Harbor. Each of the 23 guestrooms feature a queen bed, cozy fireplace, and oversized jetted tub and offer varying views of the marina, ferry landing, dramatic San Juan Channel and Mount Constitution on Orcas Island. In the spirit of a contemporary villa, care has been taken to blend exposure to the waterfront character of Friday Harbor and the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friday Harbor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.