We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bird Rock Hotel to your Saves list
Bird Rock Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 First Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Friday Harbor
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richwood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“The Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. Great location and in walking distance to everything in Friday Harbor. This hotel is very comfy and we would stay here again. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Jeff and Dee,
Thank you so much for your sweet review. We are so happy you had a lovely time and can't wait for you to come visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    78
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
42
166
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just finished a two night stay with my two children (12 & 14) in the Whidbey Room at the Bird Rock. Great modern decor, friendly staff, nice breakfast and just a great vibe overall. Not sure I understand the reviews about the street noise...it wasn't bad at all. I would highly recommend this neat little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Imack37,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We loved having you and your kids. Please come visit again soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We just returned from our third stay at Bird Rock, and it was just a chic & enjoyable as the first & second! We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary this past weekend and choose to stay in the Lopez Suite. As usual, we were greeted with fresh cookies & refreshing lemonade, and a friendly, helpful staff. What was truly a surprise was the high-end chocolate laid out for us in our room as an anniversary gift from the hotel! What thoughtful gesture! We really couldn't say more positive things about this place. It's one of our most treasured spots. Chic, comfortable, beautiful, with truly wonderful service. I highly recommend you stay at Bird Rock on your next trip to Friday Harbor!

Room Tip: We enjoy the Lopez Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi Kelly,
Your awesome review just incurred a rather elaborate happy dance in our lobby! Thank you so much! You totally made our day! And we'll have your cookies, chocolates and lemonade ready for the anniversaries to come! We can't wait!
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is European. We stayed in the Orca Room. Lovely room with a great bathtub. Breakfast was excellent fresh fruit salad, homemade scones, hard boiled eggs, and cereal. Location is wonderful. Easy to walk to all areas of downtown. Parking on the street is limited to 2-4 hours. After 5:00 p.m. no restriction. No parking lot, but parking is available at the sister hotel located two blocks away. Pool and spa services located at the sister hotel.

Reception staff very nice and helpful. Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi CML,
Thank you so much for writing such a sweet review about us. We loved having you and can't wait to have you come visit again soon. We like being called "European", thank you:)
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

When you come upon the exterior, it looks a bit dated, like an old harbour side hotel. But, once you step into the lobby, eating area, and individual rooms and suites, it feels like a boutique hotel. Modern decor, they supply you with cutlery and wine glasses as you need, cruiser bikes. Great outdoor patio in entry. We stayed in the Sucia room, no private bath, so having to go down the stairs to use a common bath is not for everyone, but we did not mind since it was not full when we were there, but there are rooms with lovely full baths and suites. Each room has a fridge and microwave. The town is noisy in the AM due to delivery vehicles coming thru 1 block away, but they cannot help that, so they give you ear plugs. PM noise was not a problem. Breakfast is basic with a few cereal choices, toast, yogurt, but great coffee and fresh fruits. Would stay again for sure, and recommend if you are aware of the above.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi Joanna,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us. We love to pleasantly surprise our guests. We are so happy you had a great time and can't wait to have you back soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pnjaban
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We are San Francisco visitors who enjoyed this hotel for two nights on a recent vacation. The Lopez Suite had a small sitting area with sink and microwave, and a small bedroom next door. Hotel provided a continental breakfast and all-day coffee. Quiet but responsive staff made the stay perfect for us. Walking distance to everything in Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Pnjaban,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review about us. Calling us "urban" and "chic" makes us feel all fancy. Thank you:) Please come visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Bird Rock visiting from Florida. If you like small quirky hotels with lots of personality, you will love this place. Excellent location, fantastic staff, modern-stylish decoration, great complimentary continental breakfast (loved the scones). The room was small in size but the bed was incredibly comfortable. All in all a great stay. Will stay here again when we return to Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi TampaDogFoodie,
Your wonderful review just incurred a little happy dance in our lobby. Thanks for taking the time to write it. We loved having you and can't wait to have you back.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Address: 35 First Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.