We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No a quiet little Bird!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bird Rock Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
35 First Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Friday Harbor
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester Hills, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No a quiet little Bird!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Okay, we were really ready to enjoy our trip to the Bird Rock. Our check in lady was lovely. She even helped us lug our suitcases up to the third floor Cypress Room. We picked it for top level..vaulted ceilings...it was clean with a chic update. But it was HOT!!! Mind you this is mid September. We opened up the window...located behind the bed...only 2" peered above the headboard...it kept sliding down...undaunted we turned on the ceiling fan...and headed out site seeing.
We came back at 6PM...our room thermostat read 85...it was TOASTY! The fan....no help...we politely went down to the front desk and explained our dilemma. I am sure it is 85 the desk clerk stated...oh too quickly...hmmm I do NOT think we are the first with this problem. She explained she could work on getting the window fixed (we are assuming that meant putting a stick in it) but, with the headboard covering all but, 2" of the opening...we explained we did not think that would work for us...( we have NOT even gotten to Fact #2).
After not backing down...explaining we would take any room with a bed and bath...they tried to up charge us for a 2nd floor room with two small windows. With no other options to give us they finally moved us down...it was NOT a better room...two windows but, no separate bath just a Euro bath, sink in room across from the bed.
OKAY, on to Fact #2...on the night stand in each room is a set of earplugs with a note..."Sorry for our noisy neighbors...these really do work!" Oh oh...The bar across the street woke us both up BOTH nights of our stay...midweek.
I felt for the staff they were doing their best! But, owners...come on...no insulation, windows that stayed up, no air...YOu cannot expect to command the prices you are charging without addressing the heat and noise issue you have! I CANNOT imagine what it is like there in the summer in the upper levels!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Beth,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm so sorry we didn't live up to your expectations.
We apologize for the broken window. We fixed it as soon as we could. It is sometimes difficult to get repairs done right away on an island, because we just don't have the part available. So sorry it was so hot in your room. We will have the thermostat checked. It should not be 85 degrees in that room. Our little hotel is a historic building and in many ways our hands are tied. For example we can't install air conditioning units on the outside of the building.
I'm so sorry you didn't like the room we upgraded you to. It's a deluxe room, with an aerated tub, private bath and a tiny bit of a harbor view. I'm not sure what you mean by Euro bath. I trust our amazing staff that they upgraded you to the best available room (we only have 15, and are often sold out even in September).
Yes, our neighbors are sometimes too loud for our taste. Believe me, we begged and negotiated and screamed. And we will do it all again, because the comfort of our guests is worth it all.
Thanks again for your input. We can only improve through constructive feedback like yours.
The next time you come up, consider our sister hotel, the Earthbox Inn & Spa. Our rooms there are not facing the streets and are a little more quiet. We would love to have a chance to spoil you how we intended.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    72
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
153
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed there two nights - one before and one after our 4 day kayaking trip. The front desk was friendly, the hotel very clean and comfortable and the linens were so nice! They had cookies for you when you arrive and a nice selection of teas and hot chocolate.

The morning spread was good as well with excellent scones, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice and teas.

They stored our bag for us while we off traveling which made it easy and nice to bring "town" clothes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shaw room which had it's own bathroom. It was very comfortable except that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our room was very private but a lot of issues (see below). I wanted to check out the other suites but didn't have a chance. The staff was great. However we did ask about some non working ceiling fans that never got fixed and the fireplace was extremely complicated to turn on and off instead of just a wall switch. There was absolutely no place in the bath room to put anything it all had to be put in the living area

Room Tip: We stayed in the marrow stone suite. The furniture was all too big for the spaces. We both cracked...
See more room tips
Green Features: Good green practices. Bottled shampoo and soap as opposed to little individual packets. Recycling reuse of towels etc
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place! The staff was awesome! The place adorable, perfect location, and a yummy continental breakfast!

Our room was the San Juan on the top floor (steps only). A deck with a couple lounge chairs and view of the harbor. A full kitchen, huge bathroom with dbl shower heads and jacuzzi tub. One big oversized chair and a comfy big bed. A side note on the room - since there was a kitchen, there was no table and no second chair. So, if you were going to cook, you would have to go to the lobby for seating, or one would sit on the bed and one on the chair without a table.

Fabulous bulk lavender bath products provided - and...... This hotel actually leaves your towel if you don't put it on the floor... I know wright? Most places still take the towel even though they tell you they want to conserve.

It was awesome having a full size coffee pot in the room, the coffee great. Breakfast is served from 8 to 10 and the scones tasty.

Free wifi - bikes - and flowers everywhere... Inside and out.

PS - I loved the music they played in the lobby - a little techno, classic, lots of variety. One morning at breakfast, many were complaining. The sound was so faint, I could barely hear it over their talking, and constant talking on their cell phones. Which note to property - maybe you ban cell phone lobby talking during breakfast... :-)
An all around great place to stay.... not to disappoint! Thank you!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the minute we walked in, we loved this place! The receptionist was very friendly while checking us in and told us not to hesitate to ask her any questions about the area. My husband and I were celebrating our first anniversary and there was a card and chocolate waiting in the room for us! The bed was very comfortable as well as the robes that were provided. The breakfast was just enough, with fresh scones, fruit, cereal...We will definitely be back to this hotel when we come back to Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved this little hotel within walking distance of the ferry terminal. We were able to park easily in the middle of Friday Harbor and walk to many restaurants and shops. The room was cozy and well appointed. The breakfast offered a fine choice of options; afternoon snack included cookies and lemonade. From the hotel one can easily drive to all the San Juan Island sights. Don't miss Roche Harbor and Lime Kiln Point.

Room Tip: Most rooms on the north side are quieter. Each room has a spot to sit on the outside balcony. S
See more room tips
Green Features: Their practices are extremely environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The warm welcome and hospitality of the staff plus the great location is what really makes this hotel. We stayed in the Orcas room which has a lovely king size bed and good bathroom facilities. The only drawback of the hotel is that because it is close to the harbor and the local market it does get very noisy. We are early risers - awake by 5am- but if not be prepared for an early awakening. However you get a good breakfast and every where is close - we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Address: 35 First Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.