We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with great ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bird Rock Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
35 First Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Your Summer Glow On!
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Friday Harbor
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great little hotel with great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hotel is great with a very helpful staff. Breakfast is 7-10 and is all freshly made. Very clean and modern with well appointed rooms. Right in the heart of town so easy access to everything. Do be prepared for some noise from the bar across the street. The onlly night this happened was Saturday night when they had a live band and it was quiet by 2 am. The hotel does warn you about the noise though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    72
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
152
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Wonderful surprises in this vintage but modern hotel right in the heart of Friday Harbor. We loved our room, the Matia, with a large and comfortable bed. Our room use shared bathrooms, which were very clean and convenient. The breakfast bar included many very yummy and healthy choices. This hotel had everything you might need, and the staff are super friendly and relaxed. This is a perfect hotel for a couple looking for a great hotel with easy walking access, and a range of prices for shared bathroom rooms to large suites with BIG bathrooms! Check it out, there are many perks for guests at this hotel and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My partner and I absolutely loved this quaint, updated vintage, eco-conscious hotel. The rooms transport you to a peaceful escape. The organic bedding is absolutely marvelous. I instantly feel asleep. We stayed in the Matia one night. The shared bathroom was the nicest I have ever had in a hotel. I love how the hotel uses large bottles of shampoo, body wash and conditioners in the shower instead of using those wasteful small bottles which tend to end up in the garbage. On the second night, we stayed in the Whidbey. It had a small kitchen area which could easily be used to prepare lunch or dinner.

The breakfast was delicious. I love that they use local produce. The fresh berries were marvelous and the scones were delicious. There was also a nice selection of organic teas. Each afternoon, the staff served up some scrumptious cookies!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very nice BB/hotel. Friendly staff.

Wish they had more of a variety for breakfast. Also the WIFI was weak or did not work

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights in the Marrowstone Suite. I'll start with the positives. The bed was rather comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and has 2 shower heads. The continental breakfast is solid, cookies and lemonade are available at all hours, and one of the staff (1 of 2) is courteous and professional.

Now for the negatives..

#1. Around 2:30am on our first night, we were awoken to the piercing sound of our bedroom window (located 2 feet from the head of our bed) being shattered, presumably the handiwork of one of the distinguished patrons of the nearby bars. When we approached the Bird Rock staff the following day to inform them of what had happened, a kind young lady replied, "Oh. I probably know the guys who did it."

We took comfort in knowing that the person who smashed in our window in the middle of the night was in fact an acquaintance of the staff.

#2. After our reassuring encounter with the staff, we set out for the day and had a great time exploring San Juan Island. We returned late that afternoon to our suite and found the front door completely unlocked. Mind you, this is the only suite that can be accessed without actually entering the hotel lobby. Now, you may scoff and say, "Friday Harbor is a quaint, historic town! There's no need to lock your doors!" But keep in mind that we had been in town less than 24 hours, and I'd already experienced a more direct threat on my safety than I had in the previous 10 years---when I lived in St. Louis. So, suffice it to say that I was not pleased by housekeeping's cavalier attitude towards the security of my personal belongings.

The remaining complaints are relatively trivial. The hot tub was too hot and couldn't be adjusted. The fireplace didn't really work. The 2nd night brought no more broken glass but the street noise is as loud as advertised and will require the use of earplugs.

The hotel offered no compensation for our unsolicited 2:30am wake up call. In fact, they didn't even offer a proper apology.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Gjpalaga,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
I'm so sorry and quite embarrassed about how our staff treated your concerns and safety. You are absolutely right, that it is of very little comfort to you to know that one of us may know who smashed the window. Please believe me that this is not how we usually react to complaints. This is not the customer service experience we thrive to give. I'm also very disappointed you found the door wide open. This too is totally unacceptable, small town or not. Just so you know, and I'm not trying to make lame excuses, the broken window has been a first. It was Friday. We have but one glass repair person on the island. We were trying to get him to look at it before the weekend and in the heat of the moment somebody must have left the door open (probably not our housekeepers; they are wonderful)
The fire place and hot tub could have been easy fixes, but I don't blame you for not bringing them to our attention.
Please accept our sincere apologies for our unprofessional behavior. Will you promise to contact me and give us a chance to make it up to you? I'll be back in the office on Saturday.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
steffi@earthboxinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

The Bird Rock hotel is has a great location in town. We had plenty of room in our 2 bedroom suite which was very clean and comfortable. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wdsm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We arrived in Friday harbor with our bikes only and bags. I was nervous as the Bird Rock only had a room available with a shared bathroom for our 1st night. Our room was great and the shared bathroom was not at all a problem. We then had booked this great room w/private hot tub on ground level. Wonderful and they even had earplugs bedside due to the bar party across the street (street party/4th of July celebrating) I can not say enough wonderful things about our stay! Tory was fantastic for customer service! :) The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. We had bike parking on site too. I would recommend this intimate, local spot to our best of friends and we will be back! We left feeling we made friends. Our 10 year anniversary was wonderful! Thanks to all of you !!! :) Darin and Jill Bartachek

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Address: 35 First Street, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bird Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.