We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coho Restaurant

Coho Restaurant
120 Nichols St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-9548
360-378-6330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coho Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 53 restaurants in Friday Harbor
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Spring
Description: Coho Restaurant serves Island grown Pacific cuisine with a Mediterranean flair. Coho’s Chef creates exciting menus developed around the seasonality of fresh ingredients from the surrounding Islands. Each night, this “Best of the San Juans” restaurant menu showcases simple and artful fare that allows the flavors of the individual ingredients to resonate on the palate. Coho’s wine cellar has been recognized five years in a row by Wine Spectator with an Award of Excellence. Coho is set in a historic Craftsman House – three blocks from the ferry landing in walkable downtown Friday Harbor. Coho’s intimate setting provides the perfect atmosphere for a fine dining special celebration or a relaxed night out with friends. Consider making a night of it at one of our nearby Inns.We invite you to dine with us and Savor the San Juan Islands! Buon Appetito!
NJ, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We got a recommendation from one of the locals, so we went. No reservation, but they took they 4 of us even though they were going to be busy. Food was very good and service was excellent, albeit pricey. They had overcooked my salmon, but when I frowned after the first few bites, they took it away and came back with the way I wanted it (medium-rare). They took care of my kids with a nice (small) pasta dish since they don't have a kids menu. (This is really not a restaurant to take kids to but we were on vacation.) Overall, good food and excellent service in a comfortable setting.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Coho Restaurant is family-friendly. We don’t have an official children’s menu as we want to offer our younger diners the same locally sourced ingredients that we use on our regular menu. We understand that children have a range of palates – some will eat everything on our standard menu while others prefer a simple buttered house made pasta. By allowing families to customize dinners for their children using the proteins, starches and vegetables on our menus, we can always offer children a quality dinner option that will satisfy their individual tastes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    85
    36
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, service, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011 via mobile

We just dined at the wonderful Coho restaurant in Friday Harbor. It's a delicious and delightful dining experience in the harbor. After reading the TA reviews, we attempted to make a reservation at The Duck Soup Inn. After leaving two messages with no return call and realizing how far out town it is and we had no car, we decided to eat at the closer of the two...Coho. The food was outstanding, the service impeccable, there $70 per couple special with 3 course meal (soup,salad, bread, entree, desert AND bottle of wine) is an exceptional deal and absolutely worth it!!! If you're tired of fish and chips at the bar and want a lovely dining experience...eat here. You won't be disappointed!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Oregon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good food, cozy atmosphere, attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Coho is a tiny little restaurant tucked in an out-of-the-way place. The setting was elegant and the service was great. The menu, while not extensive, contained may local ingredients combined in innovative ways. I had (very large) scallops with a sweet pea risotto. While good, it wasn't quite as tasty as I expected. My husband's fresh chinook salmon was fresh and tasty, although he wasn't fond of the accompanying dill sauce. The wine list was extensive. This was a wonderful dining experience, although next time I would make a different choice from the menu.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We decided to dine at Coho because frankly it received good reviews. What we learned soon after arriving is that those reviews were most likely a part of a well executed marketing campaign. This is a small restaurant with about eight tables in a nice house setting. We knew it's location would not afford great views like some of the other upscale restaurants in Friday Harbor such as Harbor House or Duck Soup Restaurants so we were counting on great service along with good food. When we arrived the gentleman up front was on the phone with what sounded like a personal call while we waited unacknowledged for what seemed like 5 minutes but was probably about one minute. It was 7 pm and three tables for two remained open, one located just beyond the entrance, one at the entrance to the kitchen and one just becoming available at a prime front window location. Another table set for about 10 was also available. He motioned us to the table just inside the front door and I asked if we could sit at one more inside the restaurant. He suggested the "chef's " table at the entrance to the kitchen (it was nearly in the kitchen), and I asked about the window table just freed. I asked if the window table would work and he said no as it was going to be combined with the larger table next to it to seat a party of "20". We settled on the table in front of us just inside the door. A nice waitress greeted us and took our drink orders. As we waited for our drinks a busboy cleared and set that just freed window table. To our shock, he left it in place to accomodate a couple. Now we are from SF which has lots of great restaurants and we dine out often so you develop a feel about a place when you have our experience. I guess with just these affronts alone we might of stayed but as we perused the menu and wine list we noticed that dinners and wines were priced rather highly relative to the other two or three fine dining restaurants in town. As I reflected on all these factors I finally said to my wife I think we can do better this evening. So we left $25 on the table to cover the $10 charge of each glass of wine we were poured plus a tip and left. Having checked tripadvisor that evening to see what others have said, we noticed that whenever a bad review occurred, the owners or someone would write a response so I fully expect one now....marketing to the bitter end!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Can't miss with this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

Romantic, cozy, and cool describe this place. The owners also double as the wait staff and pay great attention to their guests. And the food, excellent, incorporating fresh local ingredients into outstanding combinations. Great wine list with focus on regional vineyards, but not lacking other regions as well. Would recommend to anyone wanting an outstanding meal and experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coho Restaurant also viewed

 
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island
 

Been to Coho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coho Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.