We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst looking hotel but sleep ok in San. Antonio” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge San Antonio Alamo

Save Saved
You added Travelodge San Antonio Alamo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   405 Broadway, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #265 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worst looking hotel but sleep ok in San. Antonio”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We decided to visit San Antonio for the weekend and booked the ONLY available hotel in the downtown area close to the Alamo and this was it!

We knew not to expect much out of a 2 star hotel but the building was run down, the bed covers and sheets were torn and stained...

The rooms did not smell, the bed was comfortable and we slept fairly well after a whole bottle of wine... The bathroom was clean enough with no shampoo or conditioner.

If you are stuck, at least stay away from the rooms near Broadway street - they are very noisy

The
breakfast was ok - it was basic, hot and cold, but did the job. I had a waffle and apple juice.

Now - we paid $152 for one night (July 4) - I know - very absurd..

Room Tip: Say away from the rooms facing Broadway street - ask for the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    51
    48
    57
    84
See reviews for
72
61
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was a great location from the riverwalk. It was a good hotel for the price. The staff was very friendly and willing to get us anything we needed. The breakfast was awesome. Very good selection and it all tasted great. The only thing I didn't like was that the wifi has a password lock so I wasn't able to use it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Horrible! We also saw 2 roaches! If I had a choice to stay there, I wouldn't! When you walk in the room it stank so bad! We got 2 rooms & both stank! Also in one room the ac worked great but in the other it didn't work at all! Other than that, great location! Worth a lot more if they remodeled it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gautamshah, General Manager at Travelodge San Antonio Alamo, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking out time & rating us , i do sincerly appologize for the room smell , if you contact me directly on gautam@salodging.com to let me know the room # & dates of your stay , i will be gald to look furthur in to it , i need to fund out was it a smoking room , since typically our somkig room does smell like smoke , but in our property we have only 5 % of the rooms which are smoking , all rest are non smoking which should not have any kind smell . i would also like you to inform we do use one of best compnaies cleaning chemicals including air freshner . please contact me , so i can resolve at the earliest . again i do thank you for taking out time & lettting us know where we need improvement , also be rest assure your concern will be taken to right department & it will be resolved .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosharon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It's an older hotel but served its purpose and gave us 4 people 2 queen size beds to sleep. We don't like double beds so anytime I find hotels with queen size beds, I take it. The room did have a bad odor.
They also have a good breakfast. You can make your own Belgium waffle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge San Antonio Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Antonio Alamo

Address: 405 Broadway, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#265 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#265 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Antonio Alamo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our San Antonio, TX, hotel near The Alamo is a great value so you get the most out of your trip. In the morning, wake up to free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Each room in our hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access,Iron & board,Coffee maker and non-smoking rooms are available.We do offer free parking for our guests,After a busy day, relax with a swim in our outdoor pool. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult.Our hotel in San Antonio is within walking distance of The Alamo,Famous Riverwalk &Convention Center. There is a trolley stop across the street from our hotel which covers all Downtown attractions.Catch a live show, musical performance or sporting event at Alamodome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge San Antonio Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo Hotel San Antonio
Travelodge San Antonio Alamo Riverwalk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge San Antonio Alamo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.