We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome hotel honest staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio to your Saves list
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charleston SC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“awesome hotel honest staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Had the misfortune of leaving my credit card at the restaurant in this hotel. The next day when I realized it, I called the restaurant and was directed to security for the Westin. The credit card was held securely by a responsible person which reflected well upon the hotel and the honesty of the staff there. I will try to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,714
    593
    161
    74
    43
See reviews for
481
722
62
852
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I planned a corporate meeting at the hotel. I had never been there before but will definitely go back again! Elizabeth in Catering was awesome to work with and she took care of all of our needs. All of the staff, from the front desk to the housekeeper to the A/V people to the catering people were ALL so friendly and helpful. The food was very good and the meeting space was nice. A great location right on the Riverwalk. A nice area to walk around either the streets or on the river level. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Riverfront room had a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you laurie2668, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at The Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of our hotel such as the great location, our staff and the food!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was my first time to ever stay at the Westin. I was visiting for a girls weekend get together, and from the moment we arrived the customer service was exceptional!! Then we arrived to the room and we were overwhelmed with all the stuff set out for us! The work put into every detail just left me speechless ... I was on the verge of tears!! Executive Chef Jeff Foresman out did himself !! We had snacks and fruit set out for us. The cheese slices were cut out into hearts , and the strawberries were sliced to look like roses!! We had brunch one morning at the restaurant there in the Westin ...I believe it's called Zocca. Like I said earlier customer service was exceptional and it followed through at this restaurant. Amazing food!! I could go on and on ... I recommend staying at this hotel and you should visit Zocca ... Best service hands down!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great hotel and location. Away from all the hustle and bustle of the city, but close enough to everything! The staff was SUPER professional, courteous and accommodating! Highly recommended for families with small kids! The restaurant were great and the view to the River - AMAZING!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello AlexLoves2Travel,
Thank you for the very kind words!
We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was told I had a river view room. 824 was on market street which meant traffic noise all night.
The traffic noise was bad enough but the room had a communicating door which was not sound proof.
I spent until 12.30am listening to 2 women discussing their purchases.
Not what you expect from an up market and expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Market Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello bribarbSwindonUk,
Thank you leaving us your comments about your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. I'm sorry you were told you had a river view room and weren't given one. Please notify us next time there's an issue like this so that we can rectify it.
We appreciate you staying with us and sincerely hope to see you again soon.
Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed at this property on business for one night. The hotel was clean and everyone was very helpful. Arrived late and was initially pleased with room quality and cleanliness. It became obvious that the a/c was working improperly. Being that it was very late it didn't make sense to bother anyone as I also had a early meeting. Then it sounded as though there was a toilet running overhead all night...the sound of running water through pipes. And early in the morning at 6 am there was no hot water. I assume all 3 things would have been dealt with had I called someone. But I would have hoped for the price that I would have not had to deal with one of the problems, let alone all 3.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBNCM, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you Bill D for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Our operational teams were astounded to read that you experienced so many mishaps during your stay at our property. I can assure you that your experience, albeit discouraging, is not indicative of the quality of service we typically provide.

Thank you again for your comment and we welcome the opportunity to demonstrate that we are able to provide the quality of service you have every right to expect from the Westin Riverwalk.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We decided to stay local for our honeymoon, and there is still very few places as romantic as the riverwalk. We really appreciate Oscar for paying special attention the fact that we were celebrating and making special accommodations for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.