We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Steak in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio to your Saves list
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Steak in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I ate in the restaurant two nights in a row. The first night I had one of the top 3 steaks I have ever had anywhere, anytime. The Tuscan filet was butter soft, had a great flavor and was cooked to perfection. I almost had it again the second night but had the lamb chops instead and they were wonderful. We bragged on the food to our waiter an he had the executive chef George Paramithas come to the table so we could express our sentiments. I travel on business a good bit and I have had many steaks in my life but I would, without any reservation, recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area. The food and service is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you Jim H, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your experience at Zocca. I am elated you enjoyed your meal from Zocca. The Executive Chef Jeff Foresman and Chef de Cuisine George Paramithas do an exceptional job in creating delicious meals. Thank you for dining with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,900
    635
    166
    76
    44
See reviews for
536
790
69
928
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived later than anticipated and found the staff very accommodating. We were disappointed our room didn't have the view of the Riverwalk as we expected, but it was a nice spacious room with the most fabulous bed ever! The food was very pricey so we chose to eat elsewhere. I'd definitely recommend staying at the Westin if you need a place in San Antonio!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you TexasSaucey, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of the hotel such as the spacious rooms and our famous heavenly bed. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This definitely the best hotel on the river walk in my opinion. This hotel is decorated extremely nice. The only problem I had at this hotel was that I had a food like substance on the sheets of my bed. I asked the made to change the sheet and there was no problem after that. The staff was extremely nice. The valet was amazing. They remembered us everyday and congratulated us on our gold medal we won at a basketball tournament. I like that this is the "quiet portion" of the river so you can rest without all of the hustle and bustle of other portions of the river walk. When you feel like going to the busy section of the river its only a few steps away!

Room Tip: Get a river view!!!! Its worth the extra money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you IM515, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects our our hotel from the location to the service you received. I m also elated our housekeeping staff stepped up to correct your issue. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
210 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and the service was very accommodating. The only place for free wifi is in the lobby, they said it was at the pool but it is not. You have to pay for it in your room. There are no chairs on the balcony to sit on. It is on the quieter part of the river walk but can walk a couple of blocks to where all the restaurants are.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you debikc4, for giving us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. I appreciate that you pointed out some positive aspects of the hotel such as our cleanliness and service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Its on the Riverwalk, but on the quiet portion of the river. We enjoyed our room with balcony and view of Riverwalk. The service was very good and the location is an easy walk to everything of interest downtown. Our room rate did not include breakfast so I can't comment on that.

Room Tip: A riverview with balcony is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you Cooperlynx, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out many positive aspects of the hotel from the service to the location. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The quality of the hotel is very nice and might make for a great business hotel. However, there were a number of things that didn't add up for me from a personal vacation perspective. First this hotel isn't on the touristy part of the Riverwalk, despite the name of the hotel. Our room was advertised as having a riverwalk view, which was technically true, but the view is really of the parking lot 40 ft across outside your window. If you are on your small balcony looking straight down you see the river but note that to get to the great restaurants on the Riverwalk you need to walk 2-3 blocks. Second, note that parking is $35/day extra. Third, at least on the weekends, they seemed overwhelmed. Our safe battery ran out and it took 2 calls to get it fixed. When we called to get 2 wine glasses for our room it took an hour for them to be delivered. Small things like there was only 1 individual coffee for the morning rather than 2. (The 3rd day they corrected this). Again, it is a very good quality hotel but if you appreciate service and the overall experience, I would give this hotel 2 stars).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you Travelelmundo, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk.

Thank you for pointing out a few positives such as the quality of our hotel. An apology, at this point, would not make up for the numerous lapses in service you experienced while staying at our hotel. It is never our goal to inhibit the stay of our guests.

Our operational teams were astounded to read that you experienced so many mishaps during your stay at our property. I can assure you that your experience, albeit discouraging, was not indicative of the quality of service we typically provide.

Thank you for your feedback and we welcome the opportunity to demonstrate that we are able to provide the quality of service you have every right to expect from the Westin Riverwalk.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardson
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived and got our beautiful rooms - we didn't have a view....just a parking garage across the street, but it was a convenient location. The concierge told us that even though we could take the elevator down to the riverwalk, we couldn't walk towards the main shopping/restaurant area of the rverwalk, because we had to climb up and walk around La Villita? At any rate, we only had to walk one and a half blocks to Casa Rio, and Schilo's and only 2.5 blocks to the Mall, Alamo, and the IMAX and AMC Theaters. The beds are indeed heavenly.....I didn't even feel anything when my sister-in-law rolled over.....good thing! :)

Room Tip: I think you have to pay extra for a balcony overlooking the river - but they didn't look out ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you Cindy M, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of the hotel from the heavenly bed to the location of our property. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see all the ladies again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#4 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,893 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#18 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#14 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,882 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.