We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio to your Saves list
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Chelsea, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This Hotel is located right on the River Walk. Our room had a balcony with a view on the River Walk and the pool. We stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed the fact that you walked right on the River Walk path. It is central to everything. My husband attended the ISTE conference, which is 5 minutes walk. The property was very clean and the service very good. I also enjoyed the pool on a very hot day. The only thing I would say about that is the fact that hotel does not have much umbrellas to protect you from the sun and that the pool is not that big of the size of this hotel. So, I did go to the pool only once. As well, I noticed that some balcony's had chairs but not ours. So, we could not really enjoy our beer outside of our room, except of course, if you wanted to have a drink at the hotel restaurant. The place is quiet, away from most of the River Walk shops and restaurant, which we appreciated. I would recommend this hotel for those willing to pay the extra money to get something a bit more classy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors but not at the complete top so that you can enjoy a nice view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Manon, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out various positive aspects of our hotel from our property location to our award winning Italian restaurant Zocca Cuisine d'Italia. We are cross checking all balconies currently and we will correct the loss of chairs. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    542
    149
    67
    40
See reviews for
432
652
59
772
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Springs, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice upscale hotel. I have to say I was annoyed by the fact you have to pay for internet. 220 a night and you still have to pay. I stayed in room with street facing room and you only see tons of concrete roofs. So if you want scenery pay the extra for riverwalk view. Strange elevators, you need to press the floor number on touch pad before you step onto the elevator. Other hotels around just as good. Parking is 27 bucks per day. Be careful and check what conventions are in town. Tons of christian teens in town this week running around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
"Thank you Courtluvs2travel, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. First thank you for pointing out a positive aspect of the hotel as being upscale.

There is Free WiFi located in our lobby area and at our in-house restaurant, Zocca Cuisine d'Italia. On the issue of the elevator we are looking into this.

I apologize you did not have the most enjoyable time while staying with us. We hope the next time you visit it will be better. Thank you for staying with us. "

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our company, a global technology leader, held a seminar at the Westin for 40 our of customers. Being a local company, I am familiar with the draw of the Westin and the Riverwalk. The facilities are great and the location is superb. What I did not expect was the excellent service from GM Bill Petrella and his staff. Our event was blanketed with a team of folks that are service/customer oriented who constantly asked what they could do to assist. I would highly recommend staying at the Westin Riverwalk both personally and professionally.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you CBlairTx, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on how you companys seminar went at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for also pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the location to the excellent service our amazing associated were able to provide. Thank you for choosing us for your conference and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a quick 2-night getaway. The location was great (there is an elevator from the hotel right down to the Riverwalk), the hotel was clean, the rooms were comfy, and the service was great. When we arrived our TV (a huge flat screen) wouldn't turn on, but after we placed a call to the front desk, someone arrived within 5 minutes, replaced a cord, and solved the problem. The room service breakfast was also very good. Overnight parking at the hotel was a ridiculous $35, but there was a $12 parking garage right across the street. My only complaint was the noise from the street below. We were on the 7th floor and by 9 am each morning the noise from the traffic was definitely noticeable. Not enough to wake you from a sound sleep, but if you were teetering on the edge of sleep (as I was) and longing for a few more minutes of slumber, the noise would cause you to forgo it and just go ahead and wake up. If you had a room on the side that faces the Riverwalk, this wouldn't be a problem. Overall, I was very pleased and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Riverwalk. Those on the side facing the street have noise from traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you BlakGirlGlobal, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out some positive aspects of the hotel from the rooms to the great service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
618 reviews 618 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our two small dogs for three nights. As we were traveling with our dogs, we called ahead from the road to make sure our room was ready. Assured that it was, we arrived to find it was not, and had to cool our jets in the lobby for 30 minutes. Other than that, and the design of our suite (see below) we were pleased with this hotel, its amenities, service and location. We were particularly impressed with the valets and bellman - who were very friendly, efficient, and professional.

The hotel is relatively modern, with a large lobby with plenty of seating and a great enclosed lounge overlooking the Riverwalk. Another feature I liked was that it is not located on the busy, noisy portion of the Riverwalk. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and a decent restaurant (with Riverwalk outdoor seating.)

My only complaint is that we reserved a king bed suite, mistakenly assuming that there would be a door between the bed area and the seating area. There is not, so if you plan on having someone sleep on the pull-out couch, there will be no privacy for anyone.

The staff were universally professional and friendly and my wife and I had a good experience here.

Room Tip: View from the Riverwalk isn't that great and I'm not sure it is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you Mohsman, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the hotel location to the professionalism of our staff. I apologize for the delay in getting your room prepared. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's the little things that matter, great service is hard to come by. We had to make a last minute change in our travel plans, talked to Selena Romero with Westin Riverwalk and what great service and attitude. Very accomodating and courteous, have earned a loyal customer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you Bill, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel such as the impeccable service. I am also delighted that Selena Romero was able to make your stay all the more special. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here in the late-June 2013 heatwave that broke records - was 108 degrees outside, but the room stayed as cool as we wanted. So the AC gets 5 stars - - and so does the service, from the bell caption to the front desk to all other staff. They were all top shelf to be sure.

Restaurant, though highly rated, was "just average" for us. But the 5p happy hour (free) munchies in the lobby made up for that. :-) Although the hotel is on the Riverwalk, it's not in the heart of the restaurant section - but that's just a two-block, five-minute walk. No biggie.

Room: very clean, bed was great, plenty of water pressure, etc. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you BistroBaron, for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the location to the amazing AC unit. I am happy you took advantage of our 5pm Happy Hour "La Merienda". Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.