We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Save Saved
You added The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding recently and the hotel was very nice. The location is great, right on the Riverwalk, close to restaurants. I loved the big lobby of the hotel and all the couches. Our room was very nice and spacious. The restaurant with the patio on the Riverwalk was also nice and we had a great Easter brunch. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you, Lauren P, for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Riverwalk.

Thank you for also pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the lobby to our signature Zocca restaurant. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,429
    506
    136
    65
    39
See reviews for
405
601
59
719
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio TX
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed at The Westin a couple of time (I am a local). Yes, the brand itself is synonymous with elegance, refinement, and luxury. Their guest rooms are very comfortable, service superb and location ideal. But that comes with a price. If money is not an issue, The Westin Riverwalk is one of your best options in town. However, for a fraction of the cost you can find many other hotels within the Riverwalk area. Remember, how much time do you really spend in a room? As long as it is clean and quiet, I can do without the feathered pillows and flat-screen TVs. What about you?

Room Tip: Best suites in the Riverwalk area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, the Mexican Market, and anywhere you care to eat. Every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly and will to help. Public parking is right across the street ($15/day), an option vs. valet parking at the hotel. The hotel is right on the riverwalk. We parked for a three night stay and never moved the car.

Room Tip: On 4th floor is the heated pool and workout center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you Gregory for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at The Westin Riverwalk. We appreciate you pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel fro the service to the location.

We hope to see you again. Thank you

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband came to San Antonio for medical treatment and we stayed at the Westin post surgery. What an accommodating group! They helped with an earlier check-in and met our every need. It was a beautiful place to relax and recuperate. They welcomed us with a fruit and cheese basket and made our stay the best we have ever experienced. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at The Westin Riverwalk, Debra. We appreciate that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. We hope for a speedy recovery for your husband.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope we see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

First of all, I'm kind of a hotel snob (so my husbsnd says). That doesn't mean I always stay in expensive hotels, just give me a clean room and good service and its ALL good in my book. The Westin Riverwalk has always been my favorite hotel in San Antonio!! Just the way it smells when you walk in is delightful! I have actually bought on several occasions from their White Tea candle collections. Love it. Pricey tho!
The rooms are great! The beds are wonderful. We always get the river view.
The pool is small, but lovely. I really like the atmosphere. The staff is nice and helpful.
They do help as much as they can if you have little ones in tow. You can rent strollers if you forgot yours at home (we did).
It's just a great place to stay. Everything is within walking distance. Plus your further down the river from all the crazy nightlife activities. We have been to this hotel many times and will keep coming back. It's worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you Angela, for taking the time to share your excellent experience at The Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for ranking us among your favorite hotels in San Antonio. Thank you for also pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the ambiance to the location.

Thank you Angela for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel is convenient to riverwalk, many restaurants , easy parking and access. Totally accessible. Excellent conference location with many attractions for attendees. Attendees can see Alamo with short walk, quaint stores with many food options. Airport shuttle provides easy access .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you Jim for sharing your experience at The Westin Riverwalk with us. We appreciate that you pointed out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the location to our amenities.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed during a weekend conference. Absolutely beautiful hotel. Rooms were spacious, modern, and clean. Hotel amenities were nice, including pool. Location? Unbelievable - right on the Riverwalk in the most beautiful and romantic locales! (I wish my wife had been on this trip with me!). Restaurant downstairs, with outdoor seating right on the river - gorgeous. Locale to other hotels, Alamo, etc all within minutes. Try for Riverwalk view room, not just for the view, but also on other side of building, one can hear the buses late at night down on the avenue. Asking for a high floor would also help.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1667, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you BOTR for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at The Westin Riverwalk. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Bill Petrella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Starwood, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.