We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and warmth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Save Saved
You added The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfort and warmth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The entrance is not imposing, but immediately makes you feel welcomed. Some hotels with large aria feel quite business-like and busy. The Westin had christmas decorations up, and tasteful music playing. There were soft couches around the christmas tree, and free wi-fi in the foyer.

My room, overlooking the river and the riverwalk, was stylishly, and timelessly furnished and decorated. The blinds were good, not outstanding, but I was there for a conference, so sadly did not get to sleep in, despite the supremely comfortable bed.

A bathtub that drained too slowly was promptly fixed. The gym was on the small side, but there was enough variety to keep me going. I liked the system where you get a $5 credit for every day you refuse housekeeping. It is really unnecessary to have your room cleaned and fresh linen every day.

I ate at the restaurant for breakfast, which was ok. The scrambled eggs were a little crumbly, the coffee service a little patchy. I almost had a heart attack looking at the breakfast bread pudding, with creme anglaise to go on top, but it was tasty. I also had lunch there once, I was on my way to the airport and was dining alone, so did not want to hang around, but the service was painfully slow. Made me want to withold a tip, but in the States, that would be considered extremely rude, so I deliberately gave it to the girl who was most helpful. The food was reasonable, and it was very pleasant out on the riverwalk with a cold corona on a warm winters day.

Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,369
    481
    130
    64
    38
See reviews for
387
583
58
682
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past year and have not been disappointed once. The rooms are well appointed and the staff is very friendly. This hotel is on a great location on the Riverwalk. The food in their Italian Restaurant is delicious and is actually a local favorite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempner, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My son made our reservations so we were surprised at how elaborate the suite was. He must have let them know it was for our anniversary because they had a card wishing us a happy anniversary along with chilled champaign and chocolate covered strawberries. Our suite had a huge balcony overlooking the river walk and the weather was pleasant so we could enjoy it even though it was January. One for the memory books

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were on a trip celebrating our grandson's birthday. From the minute we made the reservations to the the minute we drove away, the entire stay was perfect. The reservation agent took time to find us a wonderful room with a balcony and fantastic view. We received a call from the manager, Mr. Petrella, a few days before we arrived. We mentioned the reason for our trip. Our grandson was thrilled to find a gift, some cookies, along with a birthday card signed by members of the Westin staff, waiting for him in the room when we checked in. Everyone from the attendants outside the door, to the cleaning staff were friendly, helpful and wonderful at their jobs. The staff as Zocca was also friendly and the food delicious. The room was immaculate and very comfortable, with a wonderful Riverwalk location. Thank you Mr. Petrella and staff for helping us to make our grandson's trip wonderful!

Room Tip: Call in your reservation and inform the agent of your requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Check-out time is noon; check-in time is supposed to be 3:00 p.m. We arrived at 3:30 after a long car trip and then getting stuck in San Antonio traffic behind an accident. Long story short, our room was not ready. After teasing us with an estimated hour wait, then another 45 minutes, etc., etc., finally, at 5:20, it was STILL not ready, so they gave us an "upgrade" to a quite nice suite room, but the view, rather than the Riverwalk view we'd been promised, was of a parking garage! We only had 20 minutes to unpack, change, and dress for our dinner reservation. Since we were only staying one night, I was very disappointed that we spent so much time waiting, rather than enjoying what little time we had to visit the city. Plus, I was bitterly disappointed about the view, the TV didn't work and we had to call and wait to get it fixed, and the hair dryer was nasty dirty. Other than that, the room was nice and the microfiber robe was heavenly, as was the shower. The breakfast buffet was good, but expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a Riverwalk view. (Then again, you may not get it, even if promised.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roomsdirector1167, Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Our front office and housekeeping teams are working to improve their processes to ensure that we are better able to accommodate our arriving guests.

Im addition, your concern about the hair dryer has been addressed with the housekeeping team.

I apologize if these experiences in any way dampened your enjoyment of San Antonio. I hope that when your travels bring you back to San Antonio that you give us the chance to demonstrate that we are able to deliver the quality of service you have every right to expect from a Westin hotel.

Best regards,

Danita Harth, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a great time. Concierge was helpful and AGM Jaime was nice. Zocca has AMAZING food. Sunday brunch chef William was very nice. Only critique was hotel's claim to being green. Left towels hung to reuse and linens without change request, yet they still changed all daily. Otherwise, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

David was our concierge at the Westin River walk Hotel. He was extremly helpful and was there when we needed him. He was kind, courteous and had a great sense on humor. What a great representative for the Westin Hotel. We will book again at w Westin because of professionals like David!

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the Riverwalk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executiveoffice1167, Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Jwilks71,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience from your stay at the Westin Riverwalk. It is our goal to consistently provide reliable assistance and courtesy to our guests. David will be so happy to know that he represented our commitment to creating a pleasant stay during your recent visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to San Antonio.

Warmest regards,

Bill Petrella, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.