We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Birthday Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Save Saved
You added The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the Westin Riverwalk for my daughter's 11th birthday. She invited 12 girls and we stayed in THE MOST MAGNIFICIENT suite right on the river and adjacent to the pool. The accomodations were much better than we imagined and we slept all 13 of us quite comfortably in a double room connecting to a king room via the hospitality suite. We ordered roll-away beds. The kids had a ball in the terrace pool that overlooks the river. All 12 stated that it was the best birthday party they had ever been too!!. This could not have been a better experience. The staff was super curteous to me and my special requests to accomodate a bunch of children. There was so much for us to do that we found ourselves limiting our time at each place so we could be on to the next thing. There cannot possibly be a better hotel in the San Antonio area. This hotel must be experienced!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in a room overlooking the river! It just doesn't get any better than this
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_Petrella, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your experience at The Westin Riverwalk, Denise. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel. We appreciate all the accolades. We wish your daughter a Happy Belated Birthday!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

William Petrella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,378
    484
    130
    65
    38
See reviews for
392
576
58
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is on a quiet river walk spot, close to everything but less party, more class and more style than most places around. Balcony is small with no furniture. Great restaurant downstairs. Live music was delightful but meeting staff was just okay. Very kind helpful people when they are around.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_Petrella, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your experience at The Westin Riverwalk, Llianabug. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the service to our signature Italian restaurant, Zocca Cuisine d'Italia.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

William Petrella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I am a platinum member with Starwood. I spend 200 nights a year in a hotel room, thus the idea of staying at a hotel on the weekend in my own home town was not exciting me, this was until I checked in to the Westin on the riverwalk. Soon after check-in my wife and I went down to Zocca's for dinner and I was impressed with the ambience, staff, service and great food. We were greeted during our dinner by Eugene Schlaff (Sous Chef) to see how our food was and for some great conversation. This set the tone for the rest of the weekend, which was fantastic.

I can tell you that you will not be disappointed with Zocca's. I will be back, whether staying at the hotel or visiting the riverwalk. Those meatballs melt in your mouth!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_Petrella, General Manager at The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your experience at The Westin Riverwalk, Jaquila. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of the hotel from the excellent food to the great service. Sous Chef Eugene is ecstatic that he was able to make your stay extra special.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

William Petrella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If I were an animal lover, I would probably appreciate the fact that this is a pet friendly hotel but I'm not. I dont mind if people bring their pets; I just dont want to listen to barking most of the night. I took my family the Saturday after Thanksgiving; which BTW is an extremely busy weekend. I was checked in fast and was given 2 upgrades with Riverwalk balcony rooms. I thought that was very nice and I really appreciated it. The problem was the doberman next door. Fortunately, I had been up late for the past 4 nights and even though the dog was barking because his owner wasnt in the room and I could hear when "Daddy" came home; I pretty much was passed out that night. If that hadnt been the case, I would have called down and changed rooms. Other than that I thought the room was nice and the location was good as well. The property is very well maintained and is really beautiful. I would probably not stay there again unless I was guaranteed a room that wasnt next to any pets.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room that doesnt have a pet next door to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just completed a 5-day meeting at the Westin Riverwalk San Antonio. The group had comments about how the Westin reflected the city we were in. Many rooms and meeting areas open onto riverwalk balconies, allowing us to profit during breaks and have lunch on the terrasse. It is walking distance to many attractions, events and Convention Centre.
Zocca restaurant is an excellent restaurant - quality, value, etc.
Meeting rooms are well appointed and serviced. Each banquet captain introduced themselves each day, and service was personable and professional. Planning was effortless and easy with sales & catering. Last minute orders were incorporated with minimal delay.
I would specifically like to mention: Brooke Engel in Sales & Catering, who never lost patience once with the on-going changes likely in a 5-day meeting; Horhay (George) the houseman who was always timely, helpful & cheerful; Executive Chef (name?) & Eugene Schlaff - Sous-chef - & his team, who put out excellent, healthy, quality food every day; Michael Dudek and his banquets team - Joshua Cavallo & Angel Gomez, Luis Salazan & Ronald Delgado - who all ensured my event was as successful as they could make it from a service point of view, adding last minute suggestions and assistance.
The Concierge, David Swift, is a wealth of information and resource. If you need reservations anywhere - or a cowboy hat - he's the guy to send you in the right direction.
I haven't mentioned housekeeping, maintentance or security, only because they were invisible! Rooms were all cleaned impecably, replacement of items was done immediately, and when a call was made to refresh a meeting area, they were there quickly.
Negatives were the meals being set out minutes before their delivery time, and refreshing of rooms after a break were sometimes out of sync with our announced break times. "Bangy" meeting room doors disrupted the meetings and need to be re-hinged.

Room Tip: Riverwalk rooms preferable to City-view rooms. Allocation is the same, but the windows can allow a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We're from San Antonio and are always looking for a great place to dine on the River Walk. We read good things about Zocca so decided to give it a tray. The service was excellent, the food outstanding, the atmosphere upscale but relaxed! Our server Daniel was great. From the moment we sat down until dinner was finished, he kept our water glasses full and the food coming when it was ready. My wife had the express lunch while I ordered the wedge Caesar appetizer, first course capellini pasta, second course seared salmon with side of creamed spinach. We finished the meal with tiramisu and coffee. After the meal, Chef Eugene Schlaffn was so kind to come to our table, introduce himself, and thank us for dining at Zocca's; 'Ive never seen a chef do that before. We will be back for for many more meals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was at the Westin Riverwalk for my friends wedding reception. The service was great, the place was very clean, and during dinner, chef Eugene Schlaff came out to our table to introduce himself and make sure that we were all pleased with the food and service. Myself and others really enjoyed meeting the chef and it made the whole experience much more personal and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Starwood, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.