We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio to your Saves list
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
340 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in San Antonio for the Formula 1 Race in Austin. We stayed from Thursday to Monday. We were upgraded to a jr suite because of SPG status. Our room was clean and quiet. We never heard people in the hall. We did not have a view of the river walk, but that is available. Everyone working there was helpful. It is a short ride to the airport. We rented a car one day and drove to the Missions. They offer cocktails and cheese/fruit plate in the lobby during the evening. My advice would be to skp and have a glass of wine somewhere else than buying one here and just sitting there.

The hotel was convenient to most places and easy to find. Def would stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I enjoyed my short trip here. The hotel staff were very friendly. The overall appearance of the hotel was nice. While I did't have time to sightsee, it appeared the hotel was within walking distance of just about everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarieF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel had a great staff..... very very nice... but check in is at 3:00 and we arrived at 2:45 to be told that our room would be ready at 4:00. We booked a very expensive room overlooking the Riverwalk - but there were so many trees we would not see the River only the stree corner. Also we did have a balcony but there were no chairs to sit on the balcony. There was a standing floor lamp - but someone removed the light bulb, we called the desk and they did replace it very quickly and were very nice. The bathroom had approx 4 lights and 2 of those bulbs were burnt out...
We had to pay an extra $30 for parking - really don't mind the cost but it took almost 1/2 hour for them to bring our vehicle and it was only park directly across the stree in a parking garage.
For almost $300 a night I felt like the facilities could have been nicer than they are..... I guess I was expecting something "Nice". It's an OK hotel - I would stay at LaQuinta, or a moderate price hotel next time - you are not gaining anything with the price.
Thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, NM
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place is pricey, but, we knew that and were not disappointed with it. Good service and clean rooms with excellent beds and nice bathroom. Good view of the riverwalk. Can walk to Alamo and all of Riverwalk and many shops and historic places. Good restaurant and and also a good snack bar for coffe and breakfast rolls, etc. Has Starbucks in the rooms too. We were on 11th floor and it was quiet and very nice. When we started to leave the valet went to get our car and found that it had a dead battery. We suspected that THEY had used interior lights and left them on. However, they got our car started and brought it to us and put a charger on it for a while until it would start on it's own. They handled it very well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend since his conference was located in the hotel. We got an amazing conference rate of $142 per night and that was a real bargain for this riverfront property.

The standard city view king room was a nice size with all the amenities of an upscaled Riverwalk hotel. It included complimentary Starbucks coffee and bottled water, upscaled bathroom products, free internet, and a very comfortable bed. My only complaint about our room choice is that even on the 11th floor the bus noise from the street below was a nuisance. While the noise made it difficult to fall asleep, it was lesser on Saturday night.

I visited the workout area both mornings and it was very nice. My treadmill was in excellent working order and the view of the pool was relaxing. Complimentary earbuds for watching the treadmill mounted tv were very appreciated and made my workout very enjoyable.

The Starbucks in the lobby was my breakfast spot both mornings and the server was very accommodating. My bagel was perfectly toasted and my coffee was just as ordered. Also, she was very kind to retrieve my butter from the restaurant.

The valet at this property is pricey, so we opted for parking in the garage across the street. It was $15 per day and was very convenient and secure.

This Westin is a couple of blocks for the Rivercenter Mall, but one block from the river access where all the great restaurants are located. We walked to an excellent steak restaurant and a wonderful Mexican one. (I personally liked being away from the mall traffic.)

There is a very nice Italian restaurant in the hotel at river level, but we did not go. We did enjoy drinks in the lobby where they featured a nice jazz duo Saturday night.

We had a nice stay and I recommend this property for your next stay on the river especially if you get a bargain price like we did!

Room Tip: If you are bothered my bus and street noise, you may want to pay extra for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lermis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I attended a conference late last week at The Westin Riverwalk and was a bit overwhelmed with activities going on back at the office and at the conference. The staff was very helpful and accommodating in my requests for assistance. Irma was especially instrumental in allaying my concerns about getting some documents ready and saw to it that she'd make herself available to assist while on her shift! Other staff members were helpful and accommodating, including housekeeping. Unfortunately, I was not able to get everyone else's name. Your staff must be commended! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am a platinum member on SPG as well as a Diamond member on Gold Passport, at the same time, so I would consider myself well traveled and familiar with hotels and hotel bars. I've been to hotels and their bars in the US, Europe and Asia, and while many have been more fancy and most are more sophisticated, I can honestly say that Zocca, with its waitstaff and comfortable setting, provides one of the most relaxed and comfortable places to relax after a day of work. Sure the Riverwalk provides a nice setting but really because of the waitstaff. Special mention si warranted for Daley and her genuine and easy-going manner that truly welcomes you to relax and forget the past workday--a rare person indeed.

Be careful where you smoke though, especially cigars, because the supervisors will come after you relentlessly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USlawyerInHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#17 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,122 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio

Address: 420 Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Riverwalk in San Antonio, The Westin Riverwalk is in the perfect location to relax and recharge. Expect a warm welcome when you visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Westin Hotel San Antonio
Westin San Antonio
Westin Riverwalk
San Antonio Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing