We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historical hotel in a perfect San Antonio location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menger Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Menger Hotel to your Saves list
Menger Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Alamo Plaza, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely historical hotel in a perfect San Antonio location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A walk through the Menger Hotel provides an education in American history, culture, architecture, and decorative arts from the mid 1800's onward. The service was very good, the food was excellent, and the room was quite pleasant. We appreciated the convenient location......next door to the Alamo and a very short distance to the Riverwalk. The interior garden area was a perfect place to relax after dinner! We will definitely return for another visit.

Room Tip: Several rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    330
    196
    115
    108
See reviews for
196
294
47
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Vista, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had so much fun at the Ben E. Keith cocktail party and then later at the bar. Service was great and the hotel was really stunning. We will definately visit the bar and hotel again. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Rooms are nice enough, yes there are the typical smells, missing outlets, tiny television expected in an older hotel that doesn't cost a small fortune but I can get over that. What bothered me was returning to my room after housekeeping had been there to find that they had gone through all the drawers and any other space which might have contained my personal belongings. When I complained to the front desk I was told that this standard procedure by housekeeping. They neither apologized, or even seemed to be surprised by this. In fact they basically defended the housekeeping staff and that they should go through all the drawers in order to "clean" them. I understand cleaning the inside of the furniture between guests, but I guess I just thought that there was some measure of privacy accorded guests personal items. I also think it fosters more trust if I know they aren't encouraged to rifle through my belongings.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is not your standard chain hotel, it has history, charm and character. High ceilings with ceiling fans and antique furniture and decor with an interesting bar (a copy of the House of Lords bar in England). My room was fantastic (I got upgraded to the Lily Langtree suite). The hotel has everything you need really and the food is good too. Nice pool but the gym is a journey back in time, really old machines and only 4 of them and no weights at all.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This historic hotel has a beautiful side lobby (which you see in the pictures) and the restaurant and bar are both great, but the main lobby and majority of the hotel is a bit musty and dated in a less charming way. The grounds are pretty, and the location is fantastic. We had mixed customer service; there really was no hint of concierge service; help with restaurants, events and even transport were non-existent (asked the valet to call a cab for the airport ride the night before; the next morning, no valet to be found and no cab). However, the manager helped print off our boarding passes himself (super helpful, thanks!) and the room service was impeccable, prompt and courteous. Our room literally looked over the Alamo -- how cool is that?! But the beds were hard, the bathroom small, and the water pressure was so high that it was difficult to shower.

Room Tip: If you could get a room in the historic portion, or a renovated room, that would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The history of this place is just awesome. You are surrounded by it. Literally next door to the Alamo and a few steps from the mall. 50 yards and you are on the Riverwalk . The restaurant is beautiful, but I wish they could take the ceiling back to the early photos .

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Menger in April for 1 week. We had 2 adjoining rooms on the 4th floor. Both had a horrible musty smell and the carpets felt sticky the entire time we were there. When we called to have someone address the smell, the person came up with a small spray bottle of some disinfectant. That was most certainly NOT going to solve the pervasive problem. The lighting in the rooms was terrible, and the lack of ventilation in the bathrooms was oppressive. The rooms were very outdated. I realize this is an old, historic hotel, the issues with the rooms, the smell, the poor working ac an ventilation went beyond quaint, old hotel. There was mold on the bathtub tiles, the tub drain did not work, the shower head was super low, and the rooms showed their age. The view was positively atrocious, it was the AMC theater. The one night we went to dinner at the hotel restaurant, we were the ONLY ones there. It was a bit creepy. The food was great, though. The phone in our room was static-y, each time we called for our car. We could not get the wifi to work properly, it kept dropping the connection. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here or at least don't stay on the back wing, 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Address: 204 Alamo Plaza, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.