We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menger Hotel

Save Saved
You added Menger Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Menger Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   204 Alamo Plaza, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
155th Anniversary Package
Ranked #142 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
WA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Historic hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a meeting here at the Menger Hotel and it worked out to be a good location for a few reasons. The hotel is historic (meaning old) but in good repair. The amenities are dated (like the bathroom) but that is what historic means. The building and property are in great condition and the food in our meetings was also good.
I've not found the southern hospitality to be the same here in San Antonio as it is in such places as Charleston or other southern locations. Not rude - but not overly friendly either.

Room Tip: Right next door to the Alamo, the mall and the River walk, but don't think there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are always pleased when a guest takes the time to share their experience with Trip Advisor.

We strive to have all our guests greeted and made to feel welcome and regret that we did not meet your expectations. I have addressed your comments regarding our lack of "Southern Hospitality" with the ladies and gentlemen of our staff.

We hope when the opportunity arises for you to return to San Antlonio, you will once again choose the historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    252
    150
    94
    95
See reviews for
139
194
37
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Menger hotel for a weekend. It's in a good location, however most of the hotels are close to the riverwalk. This hotel has paper thin walls, you can hear every word in the rooms next to yours and we were in the "new" part of the hotel. The mattress was terrible, lumpy and old. The hotel does have a nice dining room, bar and lots of history in the first floor hall. I would recommend staying at the Marriot, they have a starbucks and it next to the shopping center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It is truly appreciated when a guest takes the time to share their experience with Trip Advisor.

We regret that we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns during your visit and apologize that your guest room did not meet your expectations.It is our goal to have all our guests leave with fond memories.

We hope in the future when you return to San Antonio, you will once again select the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regsards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karnes City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Whenever we go into San Antonio we have to make a stop at the Historical Menger Hotel.
On Sunday we celebrated my husband's 50th Birthday of course he chose the Menger Hotel brunch. Like always the Menger's staff does not disappoint. We were surprised with a guitarist this time, the ambiance of the hotel along with the entertaining music made for a relaxing brunch, conversation, mamosas, excellent food were everything to make one husband happy.
The Sherry Shrimp Chowder is a must if you decide to go in for brunch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
It is always a pleasure when a frequent guest takes the time to share their experiences and we are pleased that the Colonial Dining Room was your choice for a monumental life celebration and our staff's efforts were recognized..

We look forward to your return!

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time in S.A. with our friends. Our meals were out of this world at the Colonial Room Restaurant. We didn't get the Sunday Brunch but it looked amazing - next time. Fernando Santafe, the Classical Spanish Guitarist, that played & sang while we had dinner was so very good. He sat at our table when we were finished and played and sang for us - LOVE THAT SPANISH GUITAR MUSIC! He was such a gentleman. We really enjoyed our stay at the Menger.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Sharing your comments with Trip Advisor is truly appreciated.

We have received many compliments regarding Fernando and his talent. We will share your compliments with Fernando and the ladies and gentlemen of our staff as our reinforcement of our committment to excellance and guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to the Historic Menger Hotel.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel was everything I expected it to be. THe rooms are slightly small but is the standard in every historic hotel I have ever stayed in. The deco is exquisite, the atmosphere was inviting and the food was great. Of course ell the other people staying in other area hotels wanted to go on a ghost hunt but I felt that was best left alone. The bed was comfortable, not like a sleep number at a Hilton but was comfortable for my week long business stay. Close to everything and 1 block from all public transportation.

Room Tip: You must love the atmosphere of historic hotels to enjoy this. If your a history buff like me you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your concerns with Trip Advisor.

It is our goal to have every guest leave with fond memories and we are pleased that we met your expectations.

We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to San Antonio and the Historic Menger Hote.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I'm a local who loves to eat at hotels and restaurants where there is live music. I've lived in San Antonio all my life, so I've pretty much been everywhere. I was told of a new classical guitarist in town who had moved to San Antonio within the last year. Our median adults church singles group leader discovered him and loved his playing so much that she made an event for the group to go hear him play. I attended along with about 25 others. We absolutely love him, and now we follow him around. Fernando is not only the best classical and flamenco guitarist I've heard in my life but he is also very friendly, down to earth, loves to laugh and will go out of his way to make you feel at home and special by playing and dedicating special songs to the clientele. He played a special song for us as a "thank you" for going to hear him play. He warned us ahead of time that we should video tape him with our phones. This piece was about 7 minutes long. He played flawlessly as he made that guitar talk to us through his music. I have never seen or heard anything like it before. Both of his hands were all over that guitar. It was absolutely amazing and the best performance I've ever seen.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your delightful experience with Trip Advisor.

Fernando is truly a world class entertainer and we are pleased that his efforts are recognized.

We will share your comments with our Colonial Dining Room staff and Fernando as it reinforces our committment to exemplary guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your return when the opportunity arises for your next visit to the Historic Menger Hotel

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Thats the one thing the Menger has going. Shower experience was horrible. When you feel freezing water get out of the way because it's about to be burning hot. It's a cool old hotel if you like minimal comfort. My room was big, but many of the others are very small. Service was okay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorvenegas, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with Trip Advisor.

Please accept our apologies that your expecations were not met. As a historic hotel, we offer a variety of room sizes and decor.

We hope when the opportunity to return to San Antonio arises, you will once again consider the Historic Menger Hotel as your lodging choice.

Best regards,
Hector R. Venegas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Menger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menger Hotel

Also Known As:
Menger Hotel San Antonio
Address: 204 Alamo Plaza, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#142 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#142 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menger Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1859 hotel next to Alamo, 1 block from Riverwalk. Originally built in 1859, The Menger Hotel is located in central San Antonio, one block from the famed Riverwalk, the Children's Museum, and the Buckhorn Museum. Nearby points of interest also include the Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, and San Antonio Central Library. The hotel's Colonial Room Restaurant serves American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch. The historic Menger Bar, a replica of London's House of Lords Pub, features cherry paneling and booth seating. Room service is also available.The Menger Hotel's tropical courtyard garden looks out onto an outdoor heated pool. On-site recreational amenities also include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness facility with cardiovascular equipment. The full-service Alamo Plaza Spa offers spa treatments including massages, scrubs, facials, and a Finnish sauna. More than 11,618 square feet of flexible function space accommodates up to 750 guests and includes the Plaza Ballroom, 9 meeting and conference rooms, poolside rooms, and a terrace that overlooks the Menger Court. Valet parking is available (surcharge). Complimentary wireless Internet access is offered in all public areas. The Menger Hotel is a smoke-free property.Built in 1859, the five-story Menger Hotel is next to the Alamo and just one block from the Children's Museum and the shops at the Riverwalk; the arts community of La Villita is four blocks away. The hotel features the Colonial Room Restaurant and the historic Menger Bar, a replica of London’s House of Lord’s Pub. Additional amenities include an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and a spa offering European-style treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Menger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.