We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of San Antonio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Palacio del Rio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Palacio del Rio to your Saves list
Hilton Palacio del Rio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Grand Prairie, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“In the heart of San Antonio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

You can not get closer to the River Walk. There are many very nice hotels here and this is one of the better ones. Rooms are nicely updated and the hotel is clean. Walk from your room to the elevator then straight to the River.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    450
    148
    51
    37
See reviews for
213
361
47
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is nestled in downtown San Antonio right along the famous River Walk. This hotel is tastefully updated and has a modern style which almost feels like an upscale, stylist Las Vegas hotel. The rooms are well apportioned and contain all of the modern amenities you would expect--coffee maker, refrigerator, HDTV, and plenty of electricity outlets (including a USB port). The restrooms have automatic lights that light the floor when you enter--making a great, automatic nightlight. My room also had a balcony which overlooked San Antonio, a nice surprise.

The oddest thing about the hotel is hardly a downside--an electronic elevator dispatch system. An extra bit of technology that the hotel could have done without, it may take you a few extra seconds to figure out how to call a car and get to the right floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Frank C - Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to tell us about your experience. We very much appreciate the positive feedback about our rooms and recent $35 Million renovation. I agree the elevators may take some getting used to and it helps communicate to how to best dispatch the cars to the right floors. Ultimately, it speeds up service. Thanks again and we look forward to having you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abita Springs, LA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Hilton Palacio delRio is a first class hotel offering the best in location, guest services, and comfort. The Hilton is located directly on the River Walk close to many restaurants, bars, and shops. It is only a few minutes walk to the Alamo and the River Center Mall.

The rooms are top of the line with extras such as flexible reading lamps by each bedside, a nightlight in the bathroom and a thermostat that is motion detected to kick on when it detects movement in the room. How awesome! And not to mention the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!!!

The Hilton Staff members were very friendly and helpful with directions and guest services. The temperature dropped from 70 to 40 and our heater would not turn on. I called and within 3 minutes, someone was at my door to correct the problem.

This is my third stay at a Hilton Hotel this year, but this particular hotel is above and beyond the rest. It is definitely "top of the class."

I loved the Starbucks store in the lobby, especially when the the temperature dropped to 30 degrees on Saturday and we were stuck in the hotel until checkout time. But what a hotel to be stuck in!!!! We didn't mind at all.

Since the weather turned so cold, we did visit Durty Nelly, the Irish Pub, located in the Hilton. We enjoyed staying warm and listening to some good music while drinking Irish Beer. We enjoyed it so much, we went back the next night!

I also enjoyed the beautiful Christmas decorations in the lobby area with a gorgeous tree and numerous Ponsetti plants.

Kudos to the Hotel Staff and Management. I will recommend your hotel to everyone I talk to and would like to return when the weather warms up just a bit!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors to get a view of both the River Walk and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

If you want to stay right in the heart of the San Antonio Riverwalk with easy access on and off the river, you can't stay at a better hotel. Our Christmas stay was a delight even with the cold weather. Friendly staff and excellent service. We will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location on Riverwalk with multiple restaurant options and updated rooms. The hotel has a cafe which is nice and provides standard offerings, although I thought the prices were high, $5.50 (no tip included) for large Hot Mocha. I found a McDonald's on the next block which I frequented for coffee. Parking rates were high and location is offsite: $27/day self and $39/day valet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My family and I went on a vacation to san Antonio,tx for the thanksgiving holiday and we stayed here, the rooms, the location were excellent, but most of all the service was above and beyond any other. I would especially like to thank Alex E. The bellman for the attention he gave us. and also the vallet attends. I would recommend this hotel to anyone at anytime.


Luisa E.
Houston,TX

Room Tip: it did not have any activity for kids but their were tons in the area at the time,and I did not ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear gorda1975 - Thank you for celebrating Thanksgiving with us and your family! Thank you for the great review and taking the time to recognize Alex. We will definitely share your comments with him and the entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was very excited and happy to be staying on the Riverwalk for the Christmas Parade on the River. The hotel location was excellent. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and patient, even through a very hectic event. The hotel itself was very beautiful, clean and the rooms and beds were very, very comfortable. I truly, truly enjoyed my stay . I look forward to return very soon and expect the same service and comfort

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear CyndiT - Thank you for staying with us during the annual River Lighting parade. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and write a review about your experience! We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Address: 200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Palacio del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.