We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location, and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Palacio del Rio

Save Saved
You added Hilton Palacio del Rio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #25 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Laredo, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, great location, and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. It's located on the Riverwalk. I found all of the staff to be super helpful --even willing to share where I could find cheaper parking then the hotel's self-park. We ordered room service both nights --very prompt and gracious staff. Pilar (last name?) brought us room service on Friday night, she was very nice and gave us some good restaurant/bar recommendations!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear LeticiaR543 - Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to tell us about your visit! Thank you also for recognizing Pilar for providing genuine and gracious service. We will definitely share your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    387
    133
    48
    35
See reviews for
184
307
43
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas CIty, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Would recommend this hotel to anyone, the staff was amazing always very helpful, the hotel is just so beautiful and with every room having a balcony makes it awesome. The rooms were always very clean and beds were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Amanda L - Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write a review! I am glad you enjoyed the balcony views! We appreciate your positive comments about our housekeeping department and will share your comments with the rest of the team! Thanks again and we look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It was one of those Anime Convention in San Antonio, came with my daughter and her friend. Upon check in, we're not too happy with how front desk deal with guests ... finally finding out parking is a few minutes drive from the building itself. Their parking fee was $28/day and mind you it's not within the hotel building. You have to drive a few minutes to reach parking then walk a few minutes to get back to hotel. This is not our expectations from Hilton Family of Hotels. They need to tell you that at the website. Such a reap off. We will never consider this hotel again in the future, there are other hotels around the area with cheaper prices in comparison and with more people oriented receptionists.

We requested microwave for medical reasons, but we were told there was only one for whole hotel, so we did not get any despite fact that we requested that ahead during booking. Very disappointed, we regret to recommend to our family and friends. Like other guests said in their reviews, the elevator is unbelievably noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during the San Japan Convention in August and taking the time to write a review. We will share your comments about the parking arrangements with the management team as evaluate future offerings. I also want to apologize for not having a microwave available and are in the process of purchasing additional units. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust the next time you visit San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located right on the Riverwalk. Do not bother paying extra for a Riverwalk view as it is a teeny, tiny strip of green water below you with water tanks being the most visible thing out your window. I had to request a room change as the first room I was given was right next to the elevator, even though I had specifically asked the man who checked me in if the room was away from the elevator, as I request this every time. he assured me it was nowhere near the elevator, but it was right next to it! Thankfully, the second man who took care of us moved us to a room in the middle of the hallway. The room itself was rather shabbily furnished...very old carpet and chair and curtains. The bed was very comfortable, and the workout area had 4 treadmills which is great as my husband and I like to workout together. We liked having a refrigerator in th room. Overall, this was a nice hotel but it could use some updating.

Room Tip: The ice/vending machines are in the middle of the hall, so if you like quiet, be sure to ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Babschambers - Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to San Antonio! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your positive comments about our central location and fitness facilities and I am sorry you did not value our recently renovated guest rooms. We will share your comments with the management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is at the center of activity of the riverfront. Park and walk to everything. Very nice rooms, best quality finishes and all have balcony. I didnt like to pay for internet access or parking but expect that in a city hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantonment FL, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've stayed here multiple times for business. Staff, service, and accomodations are always top notch. The location is convenient within easy walking distance to restaurants, nightlife, shopping, entertainment, and the Alamo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is right next to La Villita on the San Antonio River. It is a great location with the price tag of being right on the Riverwalk, but very little view of it. The room is comfortable and the staff accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Address: 200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#24 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Palacio del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.