We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel in very hot city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Palacio del Rio

Save Saved
You added Hilton Palacio del Rio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #25 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Babylon, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cool hotel in very hot city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Being in the city over Labor Day weekend for a convention, I chose this hotel (over the ‘official’ convention choices) because of other glowing reviews, and it lived up to – and actually exceeded – my expectations. From the registration desk through the main floor hallway to the ‘Rincon Alegre Lobby Bar’, the décor was a perfect blend of Spanish and the southwest, with brightly colored artwork on the walls reflecting that theme. Check-in was quick and efficient. My room was on the 18th floor, one of those designated for ‘Honors’ guests, on the side of the building overlooking the convention center, facing the Tower of the Americas, two Marriotts and the Rivercenter Mall; upgrading to the other side with a view of the city and (to an extent) the Riverwalk itself was prohibitively expensive.
My next pleasant surprise was the elevator call touch-pad (ok, I like tech stuff). No up or down button, but an iPad style touch screen which lit up when it detected motion near it, and displayed the floor numbers. After touching the desired floor, the screen then displayed the elevator cab ID (A through D), along with both visual (arrow) and verbal cues to the cab. Inside the cab, there were no floor buttons – ignore the touch screen and get in the wrong elevator, and you went where it, not you, intended. In my six nights, even with a fairly large number of guests on Saturday, this computerized system only twice had as many as two stops between the lobby and my floor – amazingly efficient! As for other unexpected tech, the guest computers tucked away in the corner of the lobby were Macs.
Aside from the positive reviews, one of the things which had attracted me to the hotel was that every room had its own private balcony, and though each was comfortably sized and provided with a table and chairs, I spent brief minutes on mine, for a photo op only, because the daytime temperature each day was within a degree or two of 100F, with humidity. San Antonio in August is not outdoor weather except perhaps for inhabitants of the sunny side of Mercury! I should note that the hotel does have a pool – outdoors – though I had trouble imagining its use when the sun was on it!
My room was reasonably sized, especially for a downtown city hotel, and its décor was as pleasing as the lobby and main floor areas. The room had a flat-screen TV, and a mini-fridge, which – given the unused lock on its door - appeared to have once been a mini-bar. I was able to fit 5 quarts of Gatorade and another 20 oz beverage in it, but I’d been warned that it was not cold enough for medicinal (or, uh, ice cream, sigh) storage. I also appreciated the high-intensity reading lamp for each of the room’s two beds, the motion-activated light in the closet which provided an automatic soft illumination upon entry or late-night bathroom visits, and the mini safe in the closet (big enough for a small camera and accessories, for instance)
I had breakfast each morning at the hotel’s River’s Edge Café, the only hotel restaurant I visited (with the convention, I was out of the hotel from breakfast till late night). The Café is directly on the Riverwalk, and at 8AM each morning, I was able to sit window-side (inside!) to that scenic waterway (there were tables outside directly beside the water, but even at my early hour, the outside climate was sweat-inducing). There’s both a menu and a buffet, neither inexpensive; the latter was my daily choice for the enormous variety of food. I love pancakes for breakfast, and though they are on the menu, they only once appeared at the buffet – but amazingly, I was able to ask for them directly, and I got personal freshly made pancakes each morning as part of my buffet. I should note that without exception, the wait staff was friendly, efficient and attentive, even offering me a ‘to go’ coffee each day when I’d finished eating.
The hotel, as I’ve indicated, is on the Riverwalk, and one could leave the Café and directly start a leisurely stroll along the waterway – though even at 9AM after breakfast, it was sweat inducing (note my ‘not in summer’ theme?). The hotel is directly across from the convention center, and a fairly short walk SE to HemisFair Park and the Tower of the Americas, and NE to the Rivercenter Mall, where one can find numerous restaurants and retail shops, a multiplex movie theater and IMAX; the Alamo is just beyond the mall. Of course, the entire length of the Riverwalk is lined with restaurants, and (summer note especially) both a Haagen-Dazs and Ben&Jerry’s.
My friends were staying in other major hotels in the immediate area, and though their lobbies were ‘grander’, this Hilton looked and felt warmer and more intimate. I was thoroughly pleased. (Apologies - 'added' photos in review sequence but TA apparently likes to rearrange things)

Room Tip: One side overlooks convention center and faces Tower of the Americas, the other side faces the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    387
    133
    48
    35
See reviews for
183
307
43
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zákynthos, Zakinthos, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I came to the hilton for pleasure and celebrate my birthday with my daughter. our stay was wounderful starting at check in with the bellman I had Prisilla and Philip from front desk that was very helpful when i had problems loging in on the internet. I want to mention the great service that i had also from room service with Hortencia, Martin, Pilar and Yolanda they where very happy nice and very attentive very above and beyon with the service i had with all the staff in this hotel thanks also to Michelle and Pat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Can't say enough nice things about the hotel and staff, especially Ashley in group sales. There were thirty-two in our party, and no complaints. It was obvious that the hotel and restaurant staff worked very hard to make our stay a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My daughter recently got married in downtown San Antonio and we held the wedding reception at Hilton Palacio del Rio. The ballroom on the 22nd floor overlooked downtown and was the perfect setting for this very special event. The attention and detail given to the reception was amazing and both my daughter and her husband were overwhelmed. The room was beautiful and set exactly as we had planned. It was the perfect size for 170 people. The food was excellent and was served at the perfect time since the the preset timeline we submitted got pushed back. CW Jones, Roberto Cruz the banquet staff adjusted to our needs and made it all work without a hitch. We had many guests tell us this was the most elegant wedding they had ever attended, which was exactly what my daughter wanted. It was a fairy-tale evening - thanks to Nikki and April for making this such a memorable evening for our family. And, our guests staying at the hotel said there rooms were beautiful. It is obvious the hotel has spent alot of time and attention to detail on the renovation they just completed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

First impression upon arrival, met Juan Carlos Luna, parking attendant, who was kind, courteous and informative regarding questions for the surrounding area. Stay was related to a National Conference, entire Staff, rooms, location to the fantastic Riverwalk, everything was Top Shelf. I will return and recommend to Family and Friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay along the river walk, in downtown San Antonio. The room was very clean. I enjoyed sitting out on my balcony. If/when I return to San Antonio, I will assuredly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great rooms. Nice view if the river. The breakfast buffet has all the things you want and then some. Attentive but not "hovering" service. Sheila in Tex's Sports bar is top notch. She was friendly and remembers her guests from day to day. Pilar in room service was professional and helpful. Quick service and really made us feel like valued guests. What a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Address: 200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#24 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Palacio del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.