We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Palacio del Rio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Palacio del Rio to your Saves list
Hilton Palacio del Rio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Edwardsville, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is our second visit over the last 2 years. Never any complaints or issues. Staff is exceptional. Rooms are always fresh and clean. Spend the extra money for a Riverwalk view. You will be glad you did. Location, location, location. When it comes to a vacation or even a business trip, this is really important. You are a short walk to everything. We left our car parked the entire trip and got to everywhere with ease. Talk about relaxing. That is what it is all about when you want a getaway. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    452
    149
    51
    37
See reviews for
214
362
47
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stayed at this property a few times over the years. We were pleasantly surprised on this latest visit with how lovely all of the renovations were. They didn't just put in new duvets and hang new pictures. The bathrooms have a new modern spa feel. The amenities were top notch as well. The beds felt lovely and actually had enough pillows for everyone!

While we didn't eat on property we did partake in Durty Nelly's, the Irish Pub and it was a lot of fun.
I would recommend this hotel property to anyone wanting to stay on the River Walk and enjoy the sights and flavor of San Antonio.

Room Tip: The river walk is currently being renovated within the sightlines of the river view rooms. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to provide positive feedback about our recent renovations. I am glad you enjoyed Durty Nelly's too! We look forward to welcoming you back again and if you want even more pillows, just let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in late April/May at this wonderful hotel. Logan could not have been more helpful with our rooms as well as getting us everything we needed. The location is perfect on the river walk as well as close to the convention center which is where we needed to be each day! The breakfast was good,but a bit high in price for what you get. My room was comfortable and above my expectation. The staff at the concierge desk was also very helpful and courteous.
I'd stay again next time I come to your wonderful city! Thanks for the warm welcome and stay.

Room Tip: request river walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent conference! We appreciate the positive feedback and taking the time to recognize Logan. We will definitely share your comments with the team. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at this property for business and was very impressed. Hilton tends to be repetative but this property stands out in ambiance, location, and most impressive..room quality. Located directly on the Riverwalk this location is a win. The rooms were modern, well equipt, clean and comfortable. While I travel frequently for business, I would not hesitate to bring my family here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent business trip! I am glad you enjoyed our recent renovations and noted that we stayed true to the local culture in our design. We look forward to welcoming you and your family the next time travels bring you to the Alamo City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teacherme
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Traveled to San Antonio in June for a conference. The hotel was great. The location was excellent just a 5 minute walk to the Convention Center. Easy walking to all the sights we wanted to see. The breakfast was excellent just a little pricey. The pool was not very big however we had a great afternoon relaxing by the pool after in a workshop all day long. Our room was cleaned and restocked everyday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Space is definitely a little cramped right now at the front desk but was always greeted promptly. Check in was not until 3:00 but there was a room available at 10:45. The elevator is a touch screen from the outside so it states which car to get on (only open, close and emergency on the inside). It took some getting used to but seemed to move quickly. The rooms were cool. I really enjoyed the bathroom/closet slide door that also has frosted glass panes. The closet also has a motion timer which works well when getting up in the middle of the night. The wood floor/furniture contrast well with the modern fixtures. I even enjoyed the daylight curtain! The gym had good equipment (free-weights, benches, mats, balls and cardio) and even provided fruit snacks for a post-workout boost. It is right across the street from the convention center and next door to La Villita. The coffee brand in the room was even upgraded the last day (I did not care much for the coffee available the other three mornings). Luggage can be held at checkout. The drawbacks would be the pool size for the number of rooms and no airport shuttle ($30 each way before tip), and the door to the patio does not seal the best (you can hear the people on the River Walk and in the restaurants below if you do not have the tv on in the evening).

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor as it is the location of the fitness center, pool, and an outdoor event area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and brought our grandkids for a mid-week stay as a treat. The hotel is right on the Riverwalk which is great fun for young children to explore. The hotel is warm and inviting, reflective of San Antonio. It's also very convenient to the Alamo which is a short walk away.

Pros: Great location for the Alamo, the Riverwalk, or business downtown. The rooms are fresh, comfortable, and attractive. We had adjoining rooms with a common door with my grandkids, which is great if you travel with little ones but still want privacy at the end of the day. The pool was good - just large enough for the to work off excess energy.

Cons: $40.00 for valet parking?! Really?!! The pampering is supposed to go for me, not my car.

Room Tip: Select a room on the river. Street noise comes through the balcony windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for treating your grandchildren at the Hilton! We are delighted you had a great time and enjoyed our location and amenities! We also appreciate your feedback concerning our valet parking charges. We will share these comments with the team as we evaluate future pricing options. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Address: 200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Palacio del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.