We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday stay for 52nd Anniversary Celeb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Palacio del Rio

Save Saved
You added Hilton Palacio del Rio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #23 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Holiday stay for 52nd Anniversary Celeb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband when making the 2 day reservation, mentioned it was our 52nd anniversary. So when we registered, "Logan" noted the occasion, congratulating us both warmly. He quickly assigned the same room for both days which were paid for differently - one w/points, the other full price. (this was VERY convenient!). We also were handed 2 mornings complimentary breakfasts.
Shortly after entering our room, Justin called & asked if we would like our complimentary champagne before dinner or afterwards asking what time were we planning to go to dinner.
We were immediately put in a celebratory mood!

Throughout our stay, hospitality in all the customer service situations, was excellent! We live in San Antonio and will definitely stay at the Hilton on future occasions. I might say too, we will recommend it to our friends and family.

Thank you, Yolanda & Logan! Bless you!

Carol & Don Roberts
San Antonio, Texas

Room Tip: Request 15th & above, with river view (even numbers). We were impressed w/the Hilton's &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    532
    399
    140
    48
    36
See reviews for
198
320
45
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Last Christmas, we visited the restaurant "Ibiza Patio Restaurant and Bar" at the Hilton Palacio del Río for breakfast and our server Antonio Quintero gave us an outstanding service. He has been our server for many times already and has always made an effort to accommodate all our requests, making us feel at home when we visit the restaurant. We come from Mexico City and my father doesn't speak English very well. Since Antonio Quintero is fluent in both English and Spanish, he has helped my father by speaking to him in Spanish and helping him with the menu. We have been to this restaurant several times before and we have enjoyed our meals and the service a lot. We also love the fact that the restaurant is located on the Riverwalk itself. We always look forward to coming back again when we visit San Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Bienvenidos! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recognize Antonio for a job well done! Antonio has been providing great service for us for many years and we love sharing comments like these with the entire restaurant staff and management. We look forward to having you back the next time travels bring you to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in an 11th floor room with a river view balcony. The hotel is beautiful, and staff is very friendly. For the holidays, the hotel even has a large gingerbread house on display (about 10 ft tall?). This was a nice touch for the kids. There is easy access to the Riverwalk just by taking the elevator from your room floor all the way down to the river level, and the hotel is conveniently located next to La Villita and many restaurants. The hotel has nice modern touches, including a touch elevator panel that pre-programs where the elevator will go.

The room looks very clean and modern. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, and there was even a small refrigerator. The view of the Riverwalk was beautiful with all of the holiday lights, but there is a huge water tank that detracts from the view, at least from our room. I was only able to see the Riverwalk if I looked straight down from the balcony, as the rest is blocked by the water tank. Given all of the "awesome view" reviews, I had higher expectations of the view.

Two minor issues during our stay: 1) While the shower faucet system looks very modern, the shower head continued to leak water from the top even when we tried to run a bath. This was only mildly irritating to my toddlers, so I did not try to get the hotel to fix it. 2) On our second day, the TV stopped working, but maintenance was able to replace the TV within 30 mins. Great staff!

Overall, great stay in a comfortable room with great service. Parking is expensive at $39 a day (we valeted), but we expected it given the location. Also, we were forewarned at check-in to call ahead for our car 30 minutes before we wanted to leave so we never had to wait in the lobby for our car.

Room Tip: If staying in a riverview room, I would ask if the rooms at the end of the hotel have a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We attended the 2012 Alamo Bowl in San Antonio and stayed at the Hilton del Palacio. We were impressed by the hospitality shown by the entire staff, the beatiful decor of the hotel, the very comfortable beds and pillows and most of all the helpfulness of the staff. In particular, the Lobby Bar server, Susan Carrillo, was expecially cheerful, exuded a positive and cheerful personality and provided exceptional customer service. We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant place to stay during our trip to San Antonio

Room Tip: Rooms over-looking the River Walk are the best for feeling the vibe of the city. Our room, 824 had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was very unhappy at check in with many, many changes to the accommodations and prices for this year's New Year Eve celebration, with a female clerk. I am a Diamond member and stay at the hotel for NYE every year for many years, and I expect for things to be a certain way. I reserved 3 rooms for this particular stay. I had to go back up to the front desk for additional parking passes and Logan was very accommodating, professional and polite to my being unhappy. I appreciated he was sincere and I walked away with a smile and felt a lot better, due to his attention and eagerness to make me happy. I appreciate him very much and so should Hilton!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal Diamond Member and sharing New Year's Eve with us on multiple occasions. Thank you also for recognizing Logan and, yes, we appreciate him too and will be sure to share your comments with our entire team! It is great hear he was able to accommodate your requests and make you smile. I hope we have the opportunity to celebrate the New Year with you again this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We are Hilton Hornors members. We have stayed at this Hilton twice and both times we have walked away disappointed. The food is average and not worth the money. Better off going to Denny's, Ihop or Jim's. The walls are paperthin so if want to sleep at night dont stay at this hotel. We really hope it would be better the second time around but not so and was very unhappy. Some of the staff are very unpleasant. Needless to say I can't say enough how disappointed we are.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGSanAntonio, Director of Sales at Hilton Palacio del Rio, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry we have been unable to deliver on your expectations. We strive to provide great service and it is apparent we fell short. We will share your comments with our entire staff. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just wanted to getaway with my boyfriend for the weekend. We were on the 6th floor room 616 riverview side friday thru sunday...awesome view of the river....the christmas lights were beautiful from the balcony...we liked the easy access to the hotel from the riverwalk...plenty of food choices on the riverwalk...very romantic...smooth parking...comfortable bed...clean rooms...fast elevators

Room Tip: riverview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Address: 200 South Alamo Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Palacio del Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.