We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall with some minor downsides” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #131 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fulton, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good overall with some minor downsides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel is not near sights, but within walking distance to the North Star Mall. Chose this hotel for proximity to business dealings, otherwise would stay somewhere closer to more action.

Rooms are standard, but the one I received had a musty smell, as if the carpet had been wet and not dried out thoroughly. Requested a change, but was told the hotel was booked. Not sure if that was the case or not, since it didn't seem busy, but not a big deal. Staff was pleasant during all encounters.

Shuttle service is hit or miss. Called for a pickup as I disembarked the plane, hoping I would only have to wait 5 minutes or so. Ended up waiting about 15 minutes in the scorching heat. Driver was very friendly, and I got the feeling that he and any other driver are very overworked, in that he also shuttles people to the mall and other locations within a 2 mile distance. Waited about 20 minutes longer than the mall shuttle stated it was scheduled to depart, and another group waited even longer to get to where they were going. In my opinion, they'd be better served with another van and driver.

TGIFriday's is literally across the street, not much else within walking distance, other than the mall. Overall a fine choice for the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavoluna, Manager at DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
Dear Jennalulu,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We value your comments and will share with appropriate staff. Summer is a very busy time for us as our hotel can fill up Mon-Sun. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    148
    143
    64
    36
See reviews for
150
68
42
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

I stayed here for a few nights while traveling on business. I chose this hotel because of its proximity to my work location in northeast San Antonio, and because it's on a list of hotels that my employer requires me to choose from for business travel. Overall it's a nice hotel with typical amenities one would expect at a Doubletree.

Pros:
The hotel has a nice courtyard with lots of trees and a pool. Each room has a recycling basket. (First time I've ever seen that in a hotel.) The restaurant has a good breakfast buffet (not included in the rate) with bacon, sausage, made-to-order eggs, fruit, cereals, etc. Staff at the hotel and restaurant were friendly and provided good service.

Cons:
They offer a limited number (less than 20) of TV channels. My TV didn't work at all one morning. The room clock cannot be adjusted without a screwdriver. I've seen this in other Doubletrees, and it's annoying when the clock is incorrect. The hotel does not offer wireless internet, although high-speed wired internet is available for $10 per day.

I would stay at this hotel again when traveling to northeast San Antonio, mainly because it's the closest full-service hotel (that I can stay at) to my work location. Those wanting to visit downtown San Antonio should look elsewhere, unless convenient access to the airport is desired.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavoluna, Manager at DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, August 10, 2009
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the postive feedback you gave us and we are certainly aware and working on the constructive comments you also gave us. Hopefully we'll be your hotel of choice next time your travels bring you back to the "airport area" of San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Enjoyed this hotel from the moment we walked in! Beautiful lobby, awesome, friendly staff. Our stay was 2 weeks long and we wish we could have stayed longer! Rooms were clean and spacious, nice beds and great views from every room of the beautiful courtyard where the pool is. No fridge in the rooms but you can get one from the front desk. Internet charge in your room of $9.95 per 24 hr period however there is free WIFI in the lobby. GREAT complimentary coffee in the morning in the lobby until 8:45am. There is a coffee maker in the room & a safe.

Location is awesome as there is TONS of shopping and LOTS of retaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Northstar Mall is located directly across the street. Free parking and lots of it at the hotel. Shuttle service to/from the airport 24/7. The pool are is gorgeous...very spanish style and well maintained. There is a business center located in the lobby area that has printers and 3 computers.

Would love to stay here again as it felt like being at home!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I travel to San Antonio frequently and stay at the Riverwalk I was very upset when I found out that my company had booked their event at the Doubletree by the airport
I was very surprise when I arrived and saw the beautiftul hacienda but even more with the friendly and caring staff, the banquet facility was and food was great ALL around GREAT all I can say is WOW and Im NOT going back to the riverwalk wait until you try their beds and have a warm cookie waiting for you

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavoluna, Manager at DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, August 10, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We value our guest feedback and share with staff. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I travel 3-4 days per week and this was my first visit to the Doubletree. I was pleasantly surprised at their wonderful customer service given the reviews I read prior to booking my room. I stayed here because my clients were close by and the free airport shuttle. Funny that the other review spoke unkindly of Natalie because she was the one that checked me in and she was great. Guess she must have been having a bad day the other time. What really blew me away was how beautiful this hotel is for an airport hotel. It looks like a resort in Mexico and I'll be sure to return here on my next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I booked a reservation for my daughter who's in the millitary. She had to stay 1 night in texas before going to Japan. When I booked on line I also called the hotel direct to get information on what was required for me to do since I was paying for her room, but she would be staying there. She said all that was needed was to book the room in her name and that she had to bring $25 dollars for a deposit for incidentals. When my daughter arrived not only would the not let her have the room but they went up on the price. They told her I had to fax a copy of my credit card to them. Which I could have done the day before if it was made known. They told her she did not quailfy for discount even though I checked the information with the attendant tthe day before. I she would not have shown up for her reservation they said they would have charged my card (with out a faxed copy), but they would not give her the room with me on the phone etc. They were not helpful with any suggestionsand the manager who had the power to overide some policies did nothing to offer help. Nice way to send a girl all alone in Texas by herself off to Japan.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavoluna, Manager at DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2009
Dear Guest,

I am sorry for the missunderstanding you endured during your last visit. Many times these types of requests are to protect you, as our guest, from fraudulent charges as well as the hotel. In the future please be sure to contact the GM's office for these types of special situations. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and please thank your daugher for her service to our country.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

There are many positives about the Doubletree San Antonio Airport, the beds, the food is excellent, parking convenient and a great location for my business. Unfortunately, even though the internet service is wired and is billed as an extra charge, it never worked during my stay. After at least 30 minutes troubleshooting on my own, I called tech support on the phone. The phone tech was very helpful, but could not resolve the problem after 30 minutes. An engineer brought a new modem and cable to the room and spent another 30 minutes attempting to resolve the problem to no avail. He told me he was going to check the server and contact me to resolve my problem. I never heard from the engineer again. By this point it was 11 PM and I gave up because I had a business appointment the next morning. In order to get my e-mail the next morning, I had to make a special trip to Barnes and Noble a mile away. Stay here if you get a good room rate and don't mind missing your e-mail or internet connection.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavoluna, Manager at DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel, location and amenities. Unfortunately internet access at times is difficult to reach and sometimes it is cables and wiring problem, sometimes server issues and sometimes firewall set-up. It is hard to tell what it may have been, however, I am sorry we did not point you to our business center which has 3 brand new PC's with great connection. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and hope next time you are in town we can have another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Address: 37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#93 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport. Located just minutes from San Antonio International Airport (SAT) on Interstate 410, across from the upscale North Star Shopping Mall, our hotel offers close proximity to the downtown area and many major attractions and business centers. Discover many things to do in San Antonio with our 24-hour shuttle service to the airport and nearby businesses. Enjoy spacious accommodations equipped with a range of thoughtful amenities. From flat-screen televisions to signature bedding, the guestrooms were designed with your comfort in mind. Beyond the guest accommodations, the DoubleTree features fantastic facility amenities including a picturesque courtyard with a pool and the onsite restaurant, Cascabel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Antonio
San Antonio Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.