We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day business trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
North Star Mall Package
Ranked #135 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Campbell, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two day business trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I spent two days at the hotel and were very satisfied. We had a Junior Suite which had plenty of space and comfort. Room service was speedy and the food was delicious. We particularly enjoyed the restaurant breakfast buffet.

We recommend the hotel with five stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    169
    154
    75
    40
See reviews for
161
77
46
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kempner, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a nice hotel that feels very welcoming and relaxing. Staff is very friendly, welcoming, and happy. You get complimentary hot chocolate chip cookied, yummmm! Rooms were a little bit small but ok for us. The pool area is pretty and really cool. I like the area, it made it seem like you are not in the middle of a big city but in a nice little retreat. There were a lot of kids running around unsupervised but that is not the hotels fault. Two parties were going on in the ballrooms and we stayed outside by the pool and listened to the music. It was a lot of fun. The hot tub is a little small but nice. The only problem we had was breakfast. We went to have the buffet around 9:30. There were only a few staff working, someone didn't show up. There was one waiter that was sooo helpful and apoligetic. He was very nice about everything. There were not any clean dishes. We had to wait. Also no juice or oatmeal or a few other things. They were not prepared for that rush. I felt sorry for that poor guy. We went to the front desk and told them about it and they gave us coupons for the breakfasts, which was great because the food that was there was not worth the $10 or $11 that was charged. We had a really late checkout- 2:00 and there were no problems about this. I liked this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A nice hotel, great location and staff very helpful but not worth paying extra cost for in comparison to other chain hotels in the same road. Downside is only wifi in public areas unless you are a Hilton honor member and nowhere near enough sun loungers by the pool. We stayed here and at a hotel across the street during the same trip and for the cost I would say the wifi is essential and breakfast should be included in the room rate. I would sty here agin though as it was very quiet and the beds very comfortable.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel rooms were nice and clean, and the breakfast buffet was good. The eggs were not as warm as they could have been, but there was an option for custom omelettes instead. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is very much in the Spanish style, with courtyards inside the hotel and outdoor walkways. A very cool environment and relaxing too!!
The rooms may be a little dated, but they are very comfortable with plenty of room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a week during and were a bit disappointed for a Hilton family hotel. We actually even booked 2 adjoining rooms. During the whole week, our TV connection went in and out. The HBO did not work in either of the rooms (though it did in the exercise rooms and public areas). The shower did not work in one room, so we were forced to just shower in one room (even though we were paying for 2). Finally, while showering, the water went completely cold and there was no hot water for a night and morning. Hotel could also use some updates.
However, the staff was very kind and helpful. Just expected more from a Hilton family hotel...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOLEY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed for a week on business training. It was a nice hotel, pretty to look at from the outside and from the inside - lovely courtyard. I was disappointed that a free breakfast wasn't included in the room price, but it turned out my meeting included continental breakfast everyday, so that was fine after all. The room was nice enough, comfortable, well-appointed. The bathroom was very small but nicely done (LOVED the wrought iron towel hangers - looked hand forged) and the tub was awesome - an oval soaking tub. The location is great for business meetings - close to lots of restaurants and some shopping. However, it's not in the heart of it all . It's right next to the airport, so it's a long way to the Riverwalk from this hotel - keep it in mind if location is important to you.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard surely have the nicest view, but they are likely to be more noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport

Address: 37 NE Loop 410 (at McCullough), at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport. Located just minutes from San Antonio International Airport (SAT) on Interstate 410, across from the upscale North Star Shopping Mall. Our centrally located hotel offers close proximity to the downtown Riverwalk area and many major attractions such as SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas. Discover many things to do in San Antonio with our 24-hour shuttle service to the airport and nearby businesses. Enjoy spacious accommodations equipped with a range of thoughtful amenities including High Def LCD televisions to signature bedding. The guestrooms were designed with your comfort in mind. The DoubleTree by Hilton features fantastic facility amenities including a picturesque courtyard with a pool and hot tub, Cascabel Restaurant & Bar and Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Antonio
San Antonio Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Hotel San Antonio Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.